We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Reflection of 2013”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hawk Valley Retreat & Cottages
Ranked #4 of 32 Galena B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Union, Illinois
1 review
“Reflection of 2013”
Reviewed 8 January 2014

I so enjoyed my stay at Hawk Valley Retreat New Year's Eve. From the ambiance and décor of my personal little cottage called "The Pines" to the amazing breakfast and dinner, Hal and Wendy made my visit even more special with the chocolate chip cookies found in my room which added a special touch of hospitality. Thank you Hal & Wendy! I'll be sure to stay again!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank w00dsy2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HawkValleyInnkeeper, Owner at Hawk Valley Retreat & Cottages, responded to this review, 25 January 2014
So happy that you braved the questionable weather and came to stay with us here at Hawk Valley Retreat. Enjoyed having you and having the time to visit. Hope that 2014 turns out to be your best year yet. Thanks again and we look forward to your next visit...perhaps a little warmer next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

415 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    391
    21
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
41
316
10
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Davenport, Iowa
2 reviews
Reviewed 26 December 2013

My husband and I spent the weekend after our 19th wedding anniversary at the Hawk Valley Retreat & Cottages in one of the cottages. It was a wonderful relaxing weekend away. The property is gorgeous, the hosts were welcoming and wonderful to chat with over breakfast. They provided us with an outstanding dinner in our cottage and let us alone to just hide away for the weekend. It was an outstanding rejuvenating weekend.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank RikkrP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HawkValleyInnkeeper, Owner at Hawk Valley Retreat & Cottages, responded to this review, 25 January 2014
We are so happy that our retreat provide you with a relaxing and rejuvenating anniversary weekend. Sometimes all it takes to be rejuvenated is a short time away from the daily grind. Thanks for your comments and we look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Libertyville, Illinois
1 review
Reviewed 24 December 2013

You will think you have stepped out of the now-a-day world and crossed over into the quiet, peaceful, fresh and wondrous beauty of a time and place all your own.... If you've ever wondered about or missed the sounds, smells and calm of nature; this piece of heaven will take you there. No excuse for not getting back in touch with a slower pace. It's right here. Waiting. :)

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisabgood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HawkValleyInnkeeper, Owner at Hawk Valley Retreat & Cottages, responded to this review, 25 January 2014
Thanks so much for your kind words. We love it when families travel together...the more the merrier! Looking forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2013

My fiancee and I went here the day we got engaged, he surprised me with a trip to Galena and we stayed at Hawk Valley Retreat. We had the most amazing time; Wendy and Hal couldn't have been nicer. We went out in downtown one night, and left our car (had a bit to drink), the next morning after breakfast Wendy happily drove us to the car and was so fun to chat with on the drive. The cabin we stayed in was very clean, comfortable and the jacuzzi was perfect. Wendy is a great chef too! I would highly recommend this resort to anyone looking to getaway to Galena. We will be back!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lhaefner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HawkValleyInnkeeper, Owner at Hawk Valley Retreat & Cottages, responded to this review, 23 December 2013
We always love to celebrate special events with our guests and new engagements are no exception. Our best to you both. Alas, I must confess...Hal is the cook...I am merely the sous-chef...We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
Reviewed 10 December 2013

My girlfriend, who served in the Army for 8 years (10 months in Iraq), deserved a nice little quiet escape to Galena on Veteran's Day. Fortunately, Hawk Valley offered an excellent deal to active/retired servicemen and women, so this was a perfect reason to try this wonderful B&B.

Being that we both never stayed at a B&B, we weren't sure what to expect. We are certainly glad we gave Hawk Valley a try! Our stay was wonderful and our hosts, Hal and Wendy, were absolutely great! Their hospitality was very warm and genuine. They gave us great advice on what to do in Galena and gave us a terrific breakfast (the biscuits will not disappoint!). The communal dining area was nice! We had a pleasant conversation with another couple staying in one of the cottages, as well as with Hal and Wendy. This was just the experience my girlfriend and I were looking for.

FYI - The main house has a nice little selection of DVDs and games to pass the time. Our room, Swan Lake, had a great big bed, flat screen TV with cable, and a nice large washroom.

I would like to sincerely thank Wendy and Hal for their excellent hospitality. Your support of our troops is very much appreciated! We have, and will continue to recommend Hawk Valley to all our friends and family looking to visit Galena. Best wishes to you both!

Leo R and Dianne R

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leo R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HawkValleyInnkeeper, Owner at Hawk Valley Retreat & Cottages, responded to this review, 14 December 2013
Many Bed and Breakfasts are very involved in events and activities with past and current military personnel. Although our Veteran's Day offering is a small repayment, we thank you for your service to our country and we look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
Reviewed 9 December 2013

My girlfriend and I had a very nice weekend here. We spent our days hiking in the small but lovely parks within 30 or 40 minutes. Hal and Wendy gave us some good tips on which would be best to visit. We went to Mines of Spain (near Dubuque), the Mississippi Palisades (the south side of the park is best), and Apple River Canyon State Park. In the evening, we relaxed in our very comfortable cabin. When we were leaving, driving down the driveway, we saw a bald eagle fly right over the house. Wendy had warned us they had been flying through the valley, and seeing one put a cap on a very nice little vacation.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Joe R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HawkValleyInnkeeper, Owner at Hawk Valley Retreat & Cottages, responded to this review, 14 December 2013
We certainly enjoyed having you with us and are so happy that you had received a recommendation to stay with us. Hope that you have a wonderful holiday season and we look forward to another visit from you in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Berlin, Wisconsin
1 review
Reviewed 17 November 2013

My husband and I celebrated our birthdays with a weekend get away. Wendy and Hal were so helpful from our initial contact to our departure that we're planning to return in the summer. Hal guided us through a soggy, late arrival and was so welcoming when we arrived an hour later than planned. Our room was cozy and comfortable, the breakfasts were fabulous and the property is beautiful. We took the winery tour through the area which was fun and tasty. Touring Galena the next day took us to Grant's home and several other historic sites, but there's still a lot we didn't have time for so we have to return. Wendy and Hal are great hosts. We're looking forward to our next visit!

Room Tip: We enjoyed staying in the big house. Honeymooners would probably prefer the added privacy of a cotta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Linda V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HawkValleyInnkeeper, Owner at Hawk Valley Retreat & Cottages, responded to this review, 24 November 2013
We thank you for your kind note and look forward to your next visit. Have a great time in Alaska with your kids.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galena hotels
9.2 mi away
Ramada Galena Hotel and Day Spa
8.8 mi away
Stoney Creek Inn
Stoney Creek Inn
#2 of 11 in Galena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 832 reviews
9.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Galena IL
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 mi away
Aldrich Guest House
Aldrich Guest House
#2 of 32 in Galena
5.0 of 5 bubbles 471 reviews
3.8 mi away
Eagle Ridge Resort & Spa
7.9 mi away
Bernadine's Stillman Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hawk Valley Retreat & Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hawk Valley Retreat & Cottages

Property: Hawk Valley Retreat & Cottages
Address: 2752 W Cording Rd, Galena, IL 61036-9747
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Galena
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Galena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hawk Valley Retreat & Cottages 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You are invited to retreat from the real world in a peaceful country setting located on ten acres, eight miles east of Galena. At Hawk Valley Retreat & Cottages you have the luxury of choosing from three rooms in the main house or four cottages on the property. Each cottage has a king bed, double whirlpool tub, electric fireplace, full bath, TV/DVD/Satellite system, wireless internet, kitchenette, eating area, sitting area, and porch. Our guestrooms each have a private entrance, private bath, TV/Satellite system, wireless internet, and king or queen bed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Hawk Valley Retreat & Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hawk Valley Retreat And Cottages
Hawk Valley Retreat & Cottages Hotel Galena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing