We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect wedding! Perfect weekend! Elopement package way to go!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hawk Valley Retreat & Cottages
Ranked #4 of 32 Galena B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Naperville, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Perfect wedding! Perfect weekend! Elopement package way to go!”
Reviewed 3 April 2014

We stayed at Hawk Valley before so we knew this was the place to be married! The grounds are beautiful, cabins homey and inviting, and personalized attention are all reasons we chose the elopement package! Hal and Wendy took care of all the details for a reasonable price. We showed up and had stress-free wedding in beautifully decorated barn. From the officiant to the delicious cake to the flash drive full of amazing pictures, everything exceeded our expectations! Hawk Valley Retreat is close enough to enjoy downtown Galena with the benefit of privacy and intimacy that cannot be beat! Hal and Wendy went out of their way to ensure our weekend/wedding was all we dreamed! We love this place, will be back again!

Room Tip: We love the Hillside, Somerset gorgeous! Beds comfy, sheets, pillows, comforter amazing! Don't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Pollyanna V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HawkValleyInnkeeper, Owner at Hawk Valley Retreat & Cottages, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
We are so so happy that you chose to get married here at Hawk Valley Retreat. We wish you a lifetime of happiness and love! As the officiant stated...we insist you be happy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

440 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    416
    21
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
43
337
11
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 April 2014

Hawk Valley is a wonderful place to spend a romantic weekend getaway! We stay in the private cottages when we visit, which have great amenities such as a fireplace, king size bed, jacuzzi tub, as well as a flat screen TV with DVD player!
The rooms are always clean, they leave you cookies each day, and the breakfast is always delicious! (Breakfast is served from 8-9 though, so you'll have to get out of bed a bit early!) It's worth it, and we just go back to bed once we finish eating :)

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Emily P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HawkValleyInnkeeper, Owner at Hawk Valley Retreat & Cottages, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
It was great to have you back at Hawk Valley Retreat. We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Logansport, Indiana
1 review
Reviewed 1 April 2014

Wendy & Hal made us feel very welcome. We stayed in the Pines Cottage. Our massage and private dinner were amazing. We were close to all the things going on in town, but also secluded at the same time. My husband and I can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Brittany P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HawkValleyInnkeeper, Owner at Hawk Valley Retreat & Cottages, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
We loved having you and are happy that the weather did turn somewhat nice for your visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
Reviewed 31 March 2014

This was our first B&B experience and we really enjoyed it!!! The breakast was delishes. The bed was amazing so comfy and sheets so soft. The service was perfect! Great stay can't wait to be back. Thank you
Wendy & Hal

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Francheska7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HawkValleyInnkeeper, Owner at Hawk Valley Retreat & Cottages, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
Thank you so much and we look forward to your return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 31 March 2014

Wendy & Hal are wonderful hosts. The cottage we stayed in was spacious, clean & private. The arrangements our hosts made for our elopement were perfect. Hal's breakfasts are phenomenal. We will be back.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Newlywed328
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HawkValleyInnkeeper, Owner at Hawk Valley Retreat & Cottages, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
We are so happy that you chose Hawk Valley for your elopement. We wish you many, many years of happiness and love.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
Reviewed 30 March 2014

Wendy and Hal were wonderful! We stayed in one of the cottages and loved having the space and privacy. It was the perfect anniversary escape from Chicago. Breakfast was filling and delicious. Would really love to go back in the warm weather, but for March weather, everything was just perfect.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank LauraWolff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HawkValleyInnkeeper, Owner at Hawk Valley Retreat & Cottages, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
So happy that you enjoyed your anniversary get-away weekend. Enjoy this great spring weather that is upon us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johnsburg, Illinois
1 review
Reviewed 18 March 2014

This was our first B&B experience and we loved it!! We stayed in the Pines Cabin and we enjoyed the feel of the B&B but the privacy of our own space! The cottage was very clean and cozy! We came in Friday night and Hal and Wendy made and served us an incredible romantic meal in our cabin! The food was amazing and huge portions!! Then Saturday... more amazing food for breakfast and then we had a fabulous couples massage right in our cabin!! Perfect way to relax and wind down! We loved the drive into town and Hal and Wendy were so willing to give directions or recommendations for our time in Galena!I can not wait to go back!! Thank you Hal & Wendy!!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank KeriLC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HawkValleyInnkeeper, Owner at Hawk Valley Retreat & Cottages, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
We are so happy that you enjoyed your get-away weekend here at Hawk Valley Retreat and we look forward to your return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galena hotels
8.8 mi away
Stoney Creek Inn
Stoney Creek Inn
#2 of 11 in Galena
857 reviews
9.2 mi away
Ramada Galena Hotel and Day Spa
7.7 mi away
Best Western Designer Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Galena IL
9.9 mi away
Chestnut Mountain Resort
3.8 mi away
Eagle Ridge Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hawk Valley Retreat & Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hawk Valley Retreat & Cottages

Property: Hawk Valley Retreat & Cottages
Address: 2752 W Cording Rd, Galena, IL 61036-9747
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Galena
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Galena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hawk Valley Retreat & Cottages 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You are invited to retreat from the real world in a peaceful country setting located on ten acres, eight miles east of Galena. At Hawk Valley Retreat & Cottages you have the luxury of choosing from three rooms in the main house or four cottages on the property. Each cottage has a king bed, double whirlpool tub, electric fireplace, full bath, TV/DVD/Satellite system, wireless internet, kitchenette, eating area, sitting area, and porch. Our guestrooms each have a private entrance, private bath, TV/Satellite system, wireless internet, and king or queen bed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Hawk Valley Retreat & Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hawk Valley Retreat And Cottages
Hawk Valley Retreat & Cottages Hotel Galena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing