We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hawk Valley Retreat is a great place to get away from it all!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hawk Valley Retreat & Cottages
Ranked #3 of 32 Galena B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 April 2014

We had our wedding at Hawk Valley. What a gorgeous setting for an outdoor wedding! The setting is simple and rustic. Their cabins are quaint, clean and cozy. Hal and Wendy are excellent hosts and the breakfast is outstanding!

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BethAnnNel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HawkValleyInnkeeper, Owner at Hawk Valley Retreat & Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2014

We love when Hawk Valley is chosen venue for a wedding. We are so happy that all went well and we wish you years and years and decades and decades of happiness.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (460)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

291 - 297 of 460 reviews

Reviewed 22 April 2014

The grounds of Hawk Valley were incredibly beautiful, accessible, and exactly what I was looking for. There's a porch swing where you can grab a cup of complimentary tea/coffee/hot chocolate & swing while the sun sets over the hills & fields; there's also a swing down by their bass filled pond that's just the perfect place to hang in the cool of the morning. I stayed in the Woodlands room and had a soaking tub large enough to lay down in & there was a semi-private deck with table & chairs (and bird feeders with lots of singing birds!) right off the room. Really a perfect little getaway. I didn't go much into Galena, but the short trip I did take showed a really quaint, old village with fun little shops - Wendy will tell you all about it! Wake up hungry too, 'cause Hal will cook you a HUGE plate each morning.

Room Tip: Each of the rooms in the house has a room directly onto the deck, but the Woodlands room doesn't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Kay A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HawkValleyInnkeeper, Owner at Hawk Valley Retreat & Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2014

Thank you so much for this kind review. You are correct about the access from the Woodlands Room. It's outdoor access leads to the deck, which has a table and chairs, but does not include a view of the pond as it is on the north side of the house and the pond is on the south side. We were happy to see you take advantage of the swing on the deck so that you could see the pond. We look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2014

If you are looking for a romantic getaway look no further. Hawk Valley Retreat has an amazing view, fantastic rooms and cottages, and the service is perfect! My husband and I were very happy to spend our first wedding anniversary at Hawk Valley Retreat and plan to go back!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Ashley H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HawkValleyInnkeeper, Owner at Hawk Valley Retreat & Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2014

So happy that you were able to get away. And what an added bonus that you were able to add on a day for one more day of rest and relaxation. We look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2014

We stayed at Hawk Valley before so we knew this was the place to be married! The grounds are beautiful, cabins homey and inviting, and personalized attention are all reasons we chose the elopement package! Hal and Wendy took care of all the details for a reasonable price. We showed up and had stress-free wedding in beautifully decorated barn. From the officiant to the delicious cake to the flash drive full of amazing pictures, everything exceeded our expectations! Hawk Valley Retreat is close enough to enjoy downtown Galena with the benefit of privacy and intimacy that cannot be beat! Hal and Wendy went out of their way to ensure our weekend/wedding was all we dreamed! We love this place, will be back again!

Room Tip: We love the Hillside, Somerset gorgeous! Beds comfy, sheets, pillows, comforter amazing! Don't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Pollyanna V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HawkValleyInnkeeper, Owner at Hawk Valley Retreat & Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2014

We are so so happy that you chose to get married here at Hawk Valley Retreat. We wish you a lifetime of happiness and love! As the officiant stated...we insist you be happy.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2014

Hawk Valley is a wonderful place to spend a romantic weekend getaway! We stay in the private cottages when we visit, which have great amenities such as a fireplace, king size bed, jacuzzi tub, as well as a flat screen TV with DVD player!
The rooms are always clean, they leave you cookies each day, and the breakfast is always delicious! (Breakfast is served from 8-9 though, so you'll have to get out of bed a bit early!) It's worth it, and we just go back to bed once we finish eating :)

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Emily P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HawkValleyInnkeeper, Owner at Hawk Valley Retreat & Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2014

It was great to have you back at Hawk Valley Retreat. We look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2014

Wendy & Hal made us feel very welcome. We stayed in the Pines Cottage. Our massage and private dinner were amazing. We were close to all the things going on in town, but also secluded at the same time. My husband and I can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Brittany P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HawkValleyInnkeeper, Owner at Hawk Valley Retreat & Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2014

We loved having you and are happy that the weather did turn somewhat nice for your visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014

This was our first B&B experience and we really enjoyed it!!! The breakast was delishes. The bed was amazing so comfy and sheets so soft. The service was perfect! Great stay can't wait to be back. Thank you
Wendy & Hal

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Francheska7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HawkValleyInnkeeper, Owner at Hawk Valley Retreat & Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2014

Thank you so much and we look forward to your return visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galena hotels
9.2 mi away
Ramada Galena Hotel and Day Spa
8.8 mi away
Stoney Creek Inn
Stoney Creek Inn
#1 of 11 in Galena
883 reviews
9.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Radisson, Galena, IL
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
LeFevre Inn & Resort
LeFevre Inn & Resort
#13 of 32 in Galena
114 reviews
8.3 mi away
Farmers Guest House
Farmers Guest House
#4 of 32 in Galena
1,359 reviews
7.9 mi away
Jail Hill Inn
Jail Hill Inn
#1 of 32 in Galena
212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hawk Valley Retreat & Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hawk Valley Retreat & Cottages

Address: 2752 W Cording Rd, Galena, IL 61036-9747
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Galena
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Galena
Price Range: £71 - £78 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hawk Valley Retreat & Cottages 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You are invited to retreat from the real world in a peaceful country setting located on ten acres, eight miles east of Galena. At Hawk Valley Retreat & Cottages you have the luxury of choosing from three rooms in the main house or four cottages on the property. Each cottage has a king bed, double whirlpool tub, electric fireplace, full bath, TV/DVD/Satellite system, wireless internet, kitchenette, eating area, sitting area, and porch. Our guestrooms each have a private entrance, private bath, TV/Satellite system, wireless internet, and king or queen bed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Hawk Valley Retreat & Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hawk Valley Retreat And Cottages
Hawk Valley Retreat & Cottages Hotel Galena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing