We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hawk Valley Retreat & Cottages
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
US$94
US$90
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Designer Inn & Suites(Galena)(Great Value!)
US$81
US$77
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ramada Galena Hotel and Day Spa(Galena)(Great Value!)
US$89
US$77
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Stoney Creek Inn(Galena)(Great Value!)
US$97
US$89
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Eagle Ridge Resort & Spa(Galena)(Great Value!)
US$224
US$190
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$102
US$94
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Grant Hills Motel(Galena)(Great Value!)
US$65
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
DeSoto House Hotel(Galena)
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Worldmark Galena(Galena)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (467)
Filter reviews
467 results
Traveller rating
442
22
3
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
442
22
3
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe main housesomerset cottagehal wendyget awaymy husband and ib bhomemade granolaporch swingbird watchinggarden roompeace and quietback porchwonderful hostsgrounds are beautifulcookiesquichedowntown galena
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
291 - 296 of 467 reviews
Reviewed 13 May 2014

My husband and I are returning guests as we always spend time for our anniversary at Hawk Valley Retreat & Cottages. Hal and Wendy always make us welcome and are wonderful hosts. Their cottages are great and the location is amazing, quiet, and relaxing. It is a great retreat to get away from the everyday hustle of big city living. Galena is only about a 15 minute drive from the Retreat with great restaurants, shopping etc. We will continue to return Hawk Valley Retreat. The breakfasts are wonderful and delicious. Thank you Hal and Wendy

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank nikita2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HawkValleyInnkeeper, Owner at Hawk Valley Retreat & Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2014

So happy to have you back and we hope that you returned home feeling rested and relaxed. This spring season was a little bit behind schedule so we are sorry that you missed some of the bird migration...perhaps a visit in the fall for their reverse commute:-)

Wendy and Hal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Spent 2 nights at Hawk Valley Retreat on our mini get-away. We have been there before, however, this was our first stay since Hal and Wendy took over. We were warmly greeted when we arrived and shown to our room, The Meadows, in the main house. It was cozy and beautifully decorated and oh, so relaxing with a porch right outside of the private door. Breakfast in the morning is served between 8 and 9 and you are free to come when you want. The view from the dining area is so peaceful where you can watch the birds while enjoying an amazing, delicious breakfast. Hal and Wendy do a fantastic job preparing and serving breakfast and making you feel right at home. We took their recommendations and visited Rocky Waters Vineyard Winery and were very pleased. Go if you have the chance as the location is just beautiful and the wine is very good! If wine isn't your thing, I am sure that Hal and Wendy could steer you in the right direction with other recommendations. They are so knowledgeable and friendly to talk too! We definitely will return to Hawk Valley as we couldn't imagine staying anywhere else! It truly is our favorite mini get-away place....so peaceful, friendly and perfect!! Thank you Hal and Wendy!!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank trvlmomto2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HawkValleyInnkeeper, Owner at Hawk Valley Retreat & Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2014

We are thrilled that you decided to return to Hawk Valley Retreat and we look forward to future visits. So happy that you enjoyed Rocky Waters, a personal favorite of ours. We look forward to your next visit and will make sure that we have some great new ideas on our "to do" list.

Wendy and Hal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

My husband and I really enjoyed our stay in the Pines Cottage. Hal and Wendy do a really good job. The resort isn't too far from all the activities in Galena and the location of the resort makes your stay there very peaceful. We look forward to staying there again!

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Schmieding
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HawkValleyInnkeeper, Owner at Hawk Valley Retreat & Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2014

We are so happy that you enjoyed your visit and are looking forward to a visit by your family. Best of luck to you and your future addition.

Wendy and Hal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

We loved our stay with Hal and Wendy at Hawk Valley Retreat. The Gilpins made us feel as if we were in our own home in terms of accessibility to anything we might need as well as to privacy. Breakfast was fabulous with fresh premium coffee. On top of that, as a coffee drinker I was delighted to see a Keurig available at all times. Bed was scrumptiously comfy and bathroom amenities filled our needs. Our No. 1 surprise was the dark night sky viewing. I had not seen a star-filled night sky with such brilliance since my teen years on the shore of Lake Huron up in Tawas, Michigan. Hope to get back to Hawk Valley with our star charts ready and more importantly, our minds geared to what we hope to see. For astronomy buffs -- Orion Nebula visible with naked eye and Hawk Valley is the place for stargazing.

Room Tip: We did not use fitness center or pool.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Myra E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HawkValleyInnkeeper, Owner at Hawk Valley Retreat & Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2014

Thank you so much for your kind comments. Indeed Hawk Valley is a perfect location for gazing at the stars. There is no "city" bright lights to ruin your viewing pleasure. Stars at night and birds during the day...plenty to look at...that's for sure. Thanks again and we hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

We stayed at Hawk Valley in one of the rooms, for three wonderful days. The view were amazing, Wendy and Hal are wonderful people. Hal you are an amazing cook. Breakfast were delicious. I cannot wait to go back, hopefully in the Fall for a girls weekend out!!! See you soon!!!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Oliver1030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HawkValleyInnkeeper, Owner at Hawk Valley Retreat & Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2014

So happy you enjoyed your stay. There is always so much to do here in Galena that sometimes people forget that they are supposed to be resting and relaxing:-) Galena (and Hawk Valley Retreat) are wonderful get-aways for the girls. Don't forget Ladies Getaway weekend (the weekend after Labor Day).

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews