We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hawk Valley Retreat & Cottages
Nearby Hotels
Best Western Designer Inn & Suites(Galena)(Great Value!)
US$81
US$77
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$83
US$80
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ramada Galena Hotel and Day Spa(Galena)(Great Value!)
US$86
US$81
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Eagle Ridge Resort & Spa(Galena)(Great Value!)
US$183
US$158
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Stoney Creek Inn(Galena)(Great Value!)
US$99
US$90
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$99
US$94
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Grant Hills Motel(Galena)(Great Value!)
US$65
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
DeSoto House Hotel(Galena)
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (467)
Filter reviews
467 results
Traveller rating
442
22
3
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
442
22
3
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe main housesomerset cottagehal wendyget awaymy husband and ib bhomemade granolaporch swingbird watchinggarden roompeace and quietback porchwonderful hostsgrounds are beautifulcookiesquichedowntown galena
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
266 - 271 of 467 reviews
Reviewed 29 July 2014

A few years ago, I was looking for a place in the country that was quiet but close enough to go visiting in town in Galena. My hubby and I wanted to get away for a few days for our anniversary. Hawk Valley is perfect! It is around 8 miles or so from town, so it is out in the country and is quiet. You can drive into town if you want to walk around town and see the shops or have dinner, but you can also just sit outside at Hawk Valley and do absolutely nothing! Hal and Wendy are wonderful hosts! If you step out to go to town, they always surprise you with a clean & tidy room, fresh cookies, and an assortment of coffees/teas to put in the single-cup coffee machine. I want them to do the same at my house, but I'm not sure that's going to happen! :) We have been back several years, and plan to go back again!

Room Tip: There are rooms in the main house, but there are also 4 cabins that are like your own little home away from home!
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Kristin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HawkValleyInnkeeper, Owner at Hawk Valley Retreat & Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2014

We are so happy that you continue to return to Hawk Valley Retreat and that you take advantage of what Hawk Valley is all about...rest and relaxation. We thank you for your kind words and look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

Hal and Wendy were amazing hosts. The food they prepared is worthy of Michelin rated restaurant! The place is super clean and cozy and quiet! Location is perfect as well. Only two miles from the winery. 9 miles from downtown Galena. We will be back!!

Stayed: July 2014
Thank Smerecz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HawkValleyInnkeeper, Owner at Hawk Valley Retreat & Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2014

We thank you for your very kind words and hope to see you again soon. It is guests like you who make us so happy that we decided on this "career". Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Hawk Valley fulfilled our expectations of a relaxing and quiet weekend. They were very gracious to provide a gluten free breakfast to suit my dietary needs. It was excellent! They were very friendly and the cottage we stayed in was lovely! We were able to make a delicious dinner using the grill they provided. We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: The cottage was worth the extra money.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank BJKnox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HawkValleyInnkeeper, Owner at Hawk Valley Retreat & Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2014

So happy that you enjoyed your stay and always happy to accommodate dietary needs. We appreciate the feedback you provide on the foods that are prepared as it always us to determine dietary breakfasts for future guests. Thanks again for choosing Hawk Valley...look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Stayed at Hawk Valley for our one year wedding anniversary. It has a nice atmosphere, pleasant views of Galena countryside, and a warm and loving couple to make us feel right at home. Our rooms were very comfortable! Free coffee and homemade breakfast in the morning. We had our own entrance and exit to our room, a full conjoined bathroom, along with a fully functioning mini fridge filled with bottled water everyday! I would recommend a stay at Hawk Valley anytime. We will certainly recommend this location to anyone.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank mlotito85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HawkValleyInnkeeper, Owner at Hawk Valley Retreat & Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2014

So happy that you chose Hawk Valley Retreat for your stay in Galena. And we love anniversary, engagement, and any kind of celebration. Although we are eight miles out of town we believe that we are able to offer you the peace and serenity of the country while being able to get into town in a quick ten minutes. Happy Anniversary...and many, many, many more.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Being at Hawk Valley B&B is like being at an oasis away from daily responsibilities. Hal & Wendy are very flexible and accommodating, especially in regard to special dietary requests. Great people & relaxing place.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Jeannette V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HawkValleyInnkeeper, Owner at Hawk Valley Retreat & Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2014

We love having you stay here at Hawk Valley Retreat and we do hope that breakfast fits the dietary needs. We continue to experiment with Gluten Free and Dairy Free diets and love when our guests provide us with recommendations for specifics that they enjoy. Look forward to seeing you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews