We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hawk Valley Retreat & Cottages
Nearby Hotels
Best Western Designer Inn & Suites(Galena)(Great Value!)
US$82
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$78
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$94
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$90
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ramada Galena Hotel and Day Spa(Galena)(Great Value!)
US$80
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$77
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Grant Hills Motel(Galena)(Great Value!)
US$65
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Stoney Creek Inn(Galena)(Great Value!)
US$89
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Eagle Ridge Resort & Spa(Galena)(Great Value!)
US$212
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$190
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$99
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$94
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
DeSoto House Hotel(Galena)
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (468)
Filter reviews
469 results
Traveller rating
444
22
3
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
444
22
3
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe main housesomerset cottagehal wendyget awaymy husband and ib bhomemade granolaporch swingbird watchinggarden roompeace and quietback porchwonderful hostsgrounds are beautifulcookiesquichedowntown galena
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
261 - 266 of 469 reviews
Reviewed 11 August 2014

My husband and I picked Hawk Valley to have our elopement/honeymoon and we couldn't have made a better choice. Wendy and Hal made sure everything went smoothly. The flowers and decorations provided for the ceremony were nothing short of charming. They even upgraded our guests' room since there were no other visitors at the property at the time.

The property itself is beautiful and peaceful. It's a great place to relax and enjoy mother nature. We spent hours enjoying coffee near the pond, at the main house and outside our cottage. The stars at night were breathtaking. I highly recommend the cottages which add a bit of privacy. (The rooms in the main house looked wonderful, but a little closed in for our tastes.)

The food was also enjoyable. My husband says the steak we had for our candlelight dinner was the best he ever had. Some breakfast items were hit or miss, but we never went hungry. Plus delicious cookies were left in our room and in the main house every day. I frequently found myself sneaking out in the middle of the night to snag one for a snack.

Room Tip: Couples should try to get a cottage. The extra privacy is well worth it.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Rae B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HawkValleyInnkeeper, Owner at Hawk Valley Retreat & Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2014

So happy that your wedding/honeymoon was what you hoped for. We certainly loved being a part of your wedding and wish you decades and decades of happiness.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014

Beautiful cottages in Galena! We loved the property! The cottage was clean, tastefully decorated, and had all of the amenities we needed. This is the perfect stop on your way out west if you are looking for a nice quiet place to get away. It's also great if you'd like to have access to the cute town of Galena. We were there to kayak down the Galena to the Mississippi (an awesome trip!). It was worth the stop and the accommodations were great!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank H R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HawkValleyInnkeeper, Owner at Hawk Valley Retreat & Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2014

We certainly enjoyed your visit and hope that you enjoyed the remainder of your vacation. Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014

My husband and I own our own business, and we often like to get away to regroup, get refreshed, brainstorm for new ideas, and have fun. Hawk Valley was the perfect fit. We had our own cottage, which was quiet, peaceful, well-kept, and very comfortable. We worked several hours in the day, and the beautiful property fostered clear thinking (free from distractions). While the community kitchen stocked with complimentary cookies, and coffee (in your room also) was an added bonus. The full breakfast was by far the best we've had - gourmet, creative, and delicious! Although we've been there before (with different owners) Hal and Wendy talked with us as though we were friends. We enjoyed our stay, got work done, and met friendly people. We highly recommend you check them out yourself!!! You won't regret it.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Isabella R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HawkValleyInnkeeper, Owner at Hawk Valley Retreat & Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

Coming from another small business owner, we really appreciate your review. We look forward to your next visit and hope that your new ventures are successful.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

I stayed here about 15-20 years ago, and the improvements Hal and Wendy have made to the property are awesome! I spent time reading and relaxing in the screen gazebo. The quiet and peacefulness of the property was just what I was looking for. The breakfasts are delicious! The birds and wildlife are so enjoyable to see -- and take you away from the busy city life. I will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Ladymo1123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HawkValleyInnkeeper, Owner at Hawk Valley Retreat & Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

So happy that you came back and that you enjoyed some of the changes. We look forward to your next stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2014

Hawk Valley Retreat and Cottages was our first time ever staying at a bed and breakfast, and the experience sold us. We decided last minute to go to Galena and found this bed and breakfast to try. From the first phone call to us leaving the experience was easy and so stress free. The surroundings are so peaceful and serene and the hosts Wendy and Hal are so warm and inviting. We definitely picked the best place for our first try at a bed and breakfast. We will certainly stay here again.

Room Tip: We stayed in the main house and it was super quiet, but there are also private cottages available.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Melissa V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HawkValleyInnkeeper, Owner at Hawk Valley Retreat & Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

So happy that you chose us for your first B&B stay and we hope that you will continue to stay at B&Bs in the future...of course we look forward to your next stay here at Hawk Valley.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews