We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend Getaway”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Galena
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Abe's Spring Street Guest House
Ranked #10 of 32 Galena B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Ames, Iowa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Weekend Getaway”
Reviewed 28 August 2013

This was our first experience with a B&B. We are so glad we did! We stayed in the Rudolph Retreat room. Very private bedroom, sitting room and bath. Even had a porch with a loveseat rocker on it. We also relaxed in the whirlpool/sauna room. Sandy's breakfasts are delicious. It was a short walk to shops, restaurants and entertainment, so no need to drive. Perfect weekend!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nancy p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    142
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
114
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Des Moines, Iowa
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2013

We stayed in Rudolph's Retreat for a one-night stay. This was perfect for us! The suite features a king size bed, sitting room with pull out sofa, TV, and a nice, spacious bathroom. We had plenty of privacy and even enjoyed sitting out on the front porch of the suite. The guesthouse also had a spa room for guest's enjoyment, which features a hot tub and sauna. This was a wonderful treat after a long day of traveling and shopping on Main St.
The location is a walkable distance from downtown, but we opted to drive and save our feet for the blocks of walking we did between stores. Breakfast was made fresh in the morning and was delicious! We really enjoyed our stay here. This will be our first choice if we are to return to Galena. Just wonderful!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank alli_5587
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
154 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2013 via mobile

My partner and I spent a lovely weekend in Galena. Our group occupied both of Abe's great suites. Both are roomy and comfortable, as well as uniquely decorated. The owners could not have been more friendly and helpful, as well as knowledgable about the community. And I can't forget to mention the delicious breakfasts! The location is a 10 minute hike from downtown, easy to find on the main highway through town. Mobility-impaired people will probably want to look for another place, as there are quite a number of steps to negotiate. Otherwise it's perfect!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Morris F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baraboo, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 August 2013

From the moment Sandy ushered us into our "room" I was in awe. We entered through the kitchen..."How many people are we sharing this place with?" was my first thought. I soon realized it was all for us!
From the handmade tiles in the kitchen and around the fireplace, to the cast bronze bed and fixtures in the bathroom, to the beautifully crafted doors--everywhere you look are hand-crafted items, lovingly made by the proprietor himself.
I laughed when I saw the bed--it's four feet off the floor! We had to step up onto stools to climb in (fun!) and once we did: WOW! We travel a bit, and have stayed in at least 10 B&Bs, and this is probably the most comfortable bed we've slept in. Like rocks.
The breakfasts kept us going all day. The french toast was perfectly done, and fresh fruit both days. Sandy does much of her shopping locally which is something we appreciate.
Everything considered we were perfectly satisfied with all aspects of our stay at Abe's.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lhamdankrause
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palos Hills, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2013

This was our first experience with a Bed and Breakfast. We were so amazed at our accommodations! They were private, spacious, and very clean. Our hostess was very friendly and made a filling and delicious breakfast. We thoroughly enjoyed use of the hot tub after a long day of shopping on Main Street. When we return to Galena, there is only one place to stay - Abe's!

Room Tip: This bed and breakfast offers suites - not just a room! Really nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lori S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 5 August 2013

The suite we stayed in was awesome!! It was way better than any hotel room I've ever been in. You have a mini kitchen, cozy tv area, and a beautiful bathroom. The inn keeper was very respectful of our privacy, and made the best breakfast ever! Great stay! I definitely will be back!!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shaemus86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Paul, MN
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2013

We stayed in Alberts Glen, and it was just perfect. Though it's on a busy street, the thick walls made it so amazingly quiet. The room itself is very spacious, with our own TV and sitting area and huge bathroom. There is a kitchen area too, but you have to bring your own kitchenware, so be aware of that. But we loved having a full fridge and freezer to store our food and drinks. The breakfasts were wonderful. I'm not usually a fan of French toast but Sandys was amazing! Everything was done with an artistic flair, both the food and decor, that it just felt special. We found the whole experience relaxing and perfect for seeing the sites of Galena.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MN_GDZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galena hotels
0.8 mi away
Stoney Creek Inn
Stoney Creek Inn
#2 of 11 in Galena
839 reviews
0.9 mi away
Best Western Designer Inn & Suites
1.9 mi away
Ramada Galena Hotel and Day Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Galena IL
0.4 mi away
Aldrich Guest House
Aldrich Guest House
#2 of 32 in Galena
479 reviews
0.6 mi away
Bernadine's Stillman Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abe's Spring Street Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abe's Spring Street Guest House

Property: Abe's Spring Street Guest House
Address: 414 Spring St, Galena, IL 61036-2130
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Galena
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Galena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A unique B&B rich in history and artistry. Built originally in 1876 as an ice house, this B&B has been lovingly rehabbed into two of the most comfortable and spacious suites each with a private entrance, private bath, king bed, sitting room with TV, VCR & DVD and fireplace. Separate spa room available with six person hot tub and six person sauna. Gourmet breakfast served each morning. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing