We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Place”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Galena
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Abe's Spring Street Guest House
Ranked #10 of 32 Galena B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Streamwood, Illinois
1 review
“Awesome Place”
Reviewed 3 June 2014

My wife and I stayed At Abe's Spring Street Guest House On May 08 and 09 this year and had a great stay. This Bed and Breakfast rooms each have a separate entrance that gives you more privacy that you would get at a conventional Bed and Breakfast . The room was Big and very comfortable having a separate Parlor room with a sofa and TV for relaxing. Our Breakfast meals were very good. Sandy is a very good cook and knows how to fill her guests stomachs. It was also great talking to Sandy about the history of the buildings and how they built it into what it is today.
Another plus is the location of Abe's to Downtown Galena. It is just a few minutes from the Shopping Area of Galena but far enough away from to enjoy the peace and serenity we were looking for.
I have only a small complaint about the Pillows. They were to thin and lacked the support that I needed.
All in all it was exactly the Bed and Breakfast experience that my Wife and I were looking for.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MattSchoen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    140
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
112
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
South Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014

My husband & I were in Albert's Glen & our dear friends were in Rudolph's Retreat. The accommodations are wonderful. The rooms are clean and inviting. Even the gardens exude positive energy. Our hosts, Sandy & Charles, were welcoming, friendly, and gracious. Sandy's breakfasts were superb.

We will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 250kaseyg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
53 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014

Our suite was perfect. Albert's Retreat. What an incredibly, great memory to be had. It was like visiting a cottage located in an enchanted forest. The hubby loved it too and he is not cottage material at 6'2". Can only hope to visit again. The pictures are wonderful but in reality it is even better. The bathroom is spa like and fascinating, tile work breathtaking, bedchamber mind boggling.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 8448
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oak Park, Illinois
1 review
Reviewed 17 May 2014 via mobile

We absolutely loved our stay here. We were in Rudolph's Retreat in early March and despite the cold weather, the temperature in the suite was perfect. We couldn't believe how nice the room was considering it's much less expensive than similar places in Galena. Also very easy to reserve a room online with prompt email correspondence from the owners.

Large bedroom with massive bed and antique trunks, a sitting room with couch and TV, and large (very clean!) bathroom with a shower.

Best part of this stay? The breakfast provided in the morning. When we checked in Sandy asked about food allergies and preferences and served us delicious omelets, sausage, blueberry buckwheat pancakes and coffee and tea. The house was full of pottery and artwork and we enjoyed chatting with the other couple staying there about what to do in Galena.

We will definitely be coming back to stay with them again!

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Hilsheridan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bartonville, Illinois
1 review
Reviewed 25 April 2014

My husband and I stayed here for our anniversary last April. The rooms are totally secluded and decorated perfectly. Separate bath. It was so peaceful. Best breakfast we've ever eaten. Sandy was so sweet and made us feel right at home. Their yard was beautiful and in full bloom. Gorgeous art studio right next door. We would definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: Book early and enjoy relaxing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brooke M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elgin, Illinois
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

We stayed in Abe's Spring Street Guest House thias past January for our wedding/honeymoon (we got married in the courthouse in Galena)- the customer service as well as the place itself are superb! The owners are the nicest, most hospitable people we came across. The guest house is well kept and has all the amenities one may need while on vacation. Would like to go back there and definitely recommend this spot!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karolina_76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Davenport, Iowa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Abe's was the first B&B my Fiancé and I had ever stayed at. We were unsure of what to expect and had the place recommended to us. Sandy is a wonderful host and makes the best French toast and I was lucky enough to get the recipe. We've now stayed there several times and can't imagine staying anywhere else in Galena.
I could go on and on but to sum it up it's a unique, accommodating, and beautiful place to stay.

Room Tip: Albert's Den! Spacious and has a gorgeous bathroom with a claw foot tub and walk in shower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rgoodknight91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galena hotels
1.9 mi away
Ramada Galena Hotel and Day Spa
0.8 mi away
Stoney Creek Inn
Stoney Creek Inn
#2 of 11 in Galena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 832 reviews
1.8 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Galena IL
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Best Western Designer Inn & Suites
0.4 mi away
Aldrich Guest House
Aldrich Guest House
#2 of 32 in Galena
5.0 of 5 bubbles 471 reviews
0.6 mi away
Bernadine's Stillman Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abe's Spring Street Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abe's Spring Street Guest House

Property: Abe's Spring Street Guest House
Address: 414 Spring St, Galena, IL 61036-2130
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Galena
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Galena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A unique B&B rich in history and artistry. Built originally in 1876 as an ice house, this B&B has been lovingly rehabbed into two of the most comfortable and spacious suites each with a private entrance, private bath, king bed, sitting room with TV, VCR & DVD and fireplace. Separate spa room available with six person hot tub and six person sauna. Gourmet breakfast served each morning. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing