We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dog Heaven” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tierra Linda Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Galena
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Tierra Linda Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #19 of 33 Galena B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Wauwatosa, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Dog Heaven”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2012

I found Tierra Linda on teh internet when looking for a place in Galena that allows dogs(we have a 3 year old yellow lab). Tierra Linda not only allows dogs, but welcomes them! Our host, Armando, greeted us at th front gate with his two Airdales. We took a tour of the property which is absolutley beautiful with trails winding through the woods and a large pond for our dog to swim. A creek winds down from the pond to the bottom of a ravine. This is not a country club, Armando has kept the property pretty much as nature wants it to be. This was a former dairy farm and there are still outbuildings such as a barn and chicken coup in various states of disrepair. Makes for a rustic atmosphere. The B&B itself is a farmhouse built about 1890. It is not elegant, but is very comfortable. Try the rocking chairs next to the wood burning stove. Armando makes a great country breakfast and has an interesting personal history worth asking about. We will definately stop in again on our next trip to Galena, with or without a dog.

Room Tip: The room labeled "El Sol" has a private bath. The other room does not.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LCLPYL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    212
    18
    5
    1
    3
See reviews for
41
119
19
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Berkeley
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2012

I was desparately needing to get away from the hustle and bustle of the city, and my work. I recalled Galena and suddenly had an urge to visit again. It's a beautfiul place! The goal was to find a nice, well priced bed and breakfast that was dog friendly. Tierra Linda fit the bill!

I enjoyed my stay. The hubbie did too. The room was comfy and cozy. We stayed in La Luna. Breakfast and dinners with Armando was wonderful. He was a fabulous host, made sure we had everything and that we were comfortable.

Loved Da Puppies!! They got on well with our little Schnauzer...

Will be back!!! = )

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MoonGazer2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2012

Galena, Illinois has breathtaking and beautiful countryside. It is a rugged and hilly region created by the receding glaciers from the most recent Ice Age. It is here that Armando Villa was inspired to create the most unique bed and breakfast called Tierra Linda. Tierra Linda is a bed and breakfast that caters to both a dog's and nature lover's sensibilities.
Armando is an eccentric dog lover and quirky genius who originally hales from Colombia, South America inheriting European ancestry. Your dogs run free over the expansive wooded estate nestled in the majestic, rolling hills of Galena. Armando's two large, friendly Airedale Terriers have the run of the place but they sleep at night in the barn. Your dogs will of course sleep with you in one of the two quaintly appointed farmhouse bedrooms each with its own bath tub and toilet. The accommodations are rustic but offer the relaxation only natural, total silence can bring. In the living room stands an enormous, antique, wood burning stove providing ambient heat in the colder months. The piano is reasonably in tune if you care to belt out a tune. The dining room with its eclectic art and curiosities is the perfect setting to enjoy Armando's freshly cooked breakfasts which are hearty and delicious.
Your dogs will be pampered in ways that will make their tails wag, eyes gape, and ears stand at attention. Their mouths will be lathering with anticipation as they are treated to a variety of culinary delights including freshly cooked chicken either stewed as a soup or sizzled over an open fire spit. You need do nothing while you relax and gaze into the bonfire or dreamily watch the birds and the bees defy gravity in the skies above the lake.
When Armando acquired the property in 1996 there was only the farm house, several barns, windmill and the incredible, unbroken vista of the surrounding countryside. Tierra Linda faces west and provides beautiful sunsets. Originally there was no lake when Armando acquired the property. There were however several natural springs which continuously trickle a stream of pure artesian water. This is a very interesting phenomenon to see if you know where to look. By ingeniously damming the flow of the springs and moving mother earth Armando created a lake complete with an island where you and your dogs can swim or canoe off the sandy beach. The beach was created by hauling in truck loads of sand. Make sure you see the head of the lady of the lake.
Have Armando take you on a tour along the many paths he has hewn through the forest leading to many spectacles some of which Armando has tweaked to improve Mother Nature's own design. My personal favorite is the waterfall which comes alive only when the waters of Lake Tierra Linda are allowed to flow free. Over the previous eons the spring water has trickled down its meandering path and has cut into the sandstone a most interesting natural formation which Armando has christened the "Amphitheatre". The Amphitheater has terraced rocks several levels high forming natural seats which are curved in a semicircle. This is the perfect place to sit and watch the waterfall cascading down as your dogs play or lounge around you.
Tierra Linda is located in the northwest corner of Illinois five miles from the city of Galena. Galena is a historic city in which eighty-five percent of the buildings are registered with the National Register of Historic Places. Galena was in its first heyday in the mid eighteen hundreds when eighty percent of the United State's lead was mined there. Galena is the Latin word for lead ore. This was a critical resource during the time of the Civil War. Take the tour through President Ulysses S. Grant's well preserved mansion which is the most famous of Galena's historical landmarks. Stand below the balcony of the historic De Soto House Hotel where Abraham Lincoln delivered many of his famous speeches. Galena's thriving commercial district is geared for festivals, parades and tourists. Casually promenade down Galena's throwback-in-time Main Street and shop the homemade food delicacies, Fine art stores, restaurants, curiosity vendors and antique shops. Then after you have had your fill of the town of Galena you mosey on back to Tierra Linda.
From Tierra Linda's vista one can only see the unspoiled, wooded hills of Galena countryside which is beautiful at every season. My wife and I always bring our bicycles and ride the winding, steeply climbing and descending country roads. The scenery is every bit as beautiful as the Tuscany region in Italy of which I have also biked. Armando will puppy sit your babies for a reasonable rate if you desire some human only entertainment. I always go to the Lodge restaurant for their world class steaks. A reservation is recommended.
The first time I went to Tierra Linda my dog Sam protested when it was time to leave. Very cute! From Humming birds to the complimentary wine around the bonfire at night, Tierra Linda should not be missed by any nature loving dog owner.

Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank rebregbob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2012

Tierra Linda is a rustic farm house containing a wide range of interesting collectables, including a wonderful pot-bellied stove for heating. (We stayed there in early March.) It is located on eleven attractive acres. The rooms are comfortable, but modestly appointed. You will not find an evening mint on your pillow.The owner and operator, Armando Villa, is a Columbian-born, Swiss-raised former Chicago photographer. He is gregarious and welcoming, and he serves hearty, straight forward country breakfasts. A delightful array of birds frequent the feeders surrounding the house.

Tierra Linda is advertised as “dog friendly,” and it is. We do not own a dog, but we like them and enjoyed the two friendly, well-behaved Airedales that live there. If you do not enjoy dogs, this place probably is not for you. If you have a dog, especially a city dog, then Tierra Linda is a twofer. You enjoy Galena; your dog gets to hang out with the Airedales and enjoy the expanse of the farm. We loved our two days there.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hwray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2011

There are so many wonderful things to say about Tierra Linda that it's hard to know where to start, so I guess I'll start at the beginning! From the moment we arrived, our gracious host, Armando Villa, made sure we were well-taken care of, and Dooley our golden retriever, seemed to forget about us as soon as we let him out of the car -- he immediately trotted after Armando and his "puppies," leaving us to wonder if our host was some sort of dog whisperer.

The property itself is clean, comfortable and rustic. This is not a "frou-frou" bed and breakfast place, and it was just the right atmosphere for our 20th anniversary mini-vacation.

We explored Tierra Linda's 11 acres and had a blast discovering all the interesting nooks and crannies of the world Armando has created for people and puppies to enjoy.

Armando made us feel quite at home, and spoiled Dooley rotten with fresh-cooked food. The humans ate well, too -- our delicious country-style breakfasts were quite filling and fortified us for each day's adventures.

At night, we settled by a nice bonfire and enjoyed tasty beverages, good music and good conversation.

We were very sad to leave this special hideaway a mere five or so miles from downtown Galena, but can't wait to return, especially in the warmer months when the spring-fed pond can be enjoyed.

All in all, a "two-thumbs" and "four-paws" up rating from the members of the Bond household for our experience at Tierra Linda. Armando, thank you for creating this very special world, and for sharing it with us.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Highland Park, Illinois
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2011

Tierra Linda is a slice of heaven on earth. It is a wonderful escape - and for the dogs it is 11 acres of free run paradise! Armando should get the award for the best host ever. And he's a GREAT cook! (Love the breakfast!) He even cooks for the dogs! You and your dogs won't want to go home!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Leslie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chicago
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2011

If you want to completely relax and hang with significant others, including pets, this is the place! The location is great, about 5 minutes to town. The setting is lovely, especially in the Fall. As usual, we were greeted by Armando and his puppies. It is always a warm welcome, and this being our fifth year at Tierra Linda, it is like seeing an old friend! Right away we knew we had left our troubles behind in Chicago! Tierra Linda is always clean, albiet a bit rustic. We stayed in our same room which is very cozy. Our niece and nephew joined us for a second year and right away we fell into vacation mode. The doggies were so excited, they knew exactly what was in store for them. Acres of land to explore and chicken, ribs, chicken soup and biscuits to eat!
Armando, we will see you next year!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sheilaotr1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galena hotels
5.1 mi away
Stoney Creek Inn
Stoney Creek Inn
#2 of 11 in Galena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 813 reviews
6.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Galena IL
6.2 mi away
Ramada Galena Hotel and Day Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Jail Hill Inn
Jail Hill Inn
#1 of 33 in Galena
5.0 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
3.9 mi away
Aldrich Guest House
Aldrich Guest House
#2 of 33 in Galena
5.0 of 5 bubbles 459 reviews
2.1 mi away
Goldmoor Inn
Goldmoor Inn
#7 of 33 in Galena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tierra Linda Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tierra Linda Bed and Breakfast

Property: Tierra Linda Bed and Breakfast
Address: 826 S Rocky Hill Rd, Galena, IL 61036-9159
Region: United States > Illinois > Galena
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 33 B&Bs / Inns in Galena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tierra Linda is a dog friendly Bed and Breakfast. There are two rooms to rent and we have a private large spring-fed pond for boating, fishing and for your dog to play. There is also a private sandy beach, a magic forest and a cascading creek. Our place is ideal for relaxation and for observing nature, particularly birds, frogs, turtles, rabbits, deer, coyotes, etc, etc ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Tierra Linda Hotel Galena
Tierra Linda b&b

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing