We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice little getaway”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Galena
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Tierra Linda Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #19 of 32 Galena B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Aurora, Illinois
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice little getaway”
Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed at Tierra Linda for the second time this weekend. Went about 9 months ago and loved it, was coming back to galena this weekend for a wedding so decided to stay again. So quiet and rustic, such a relaxing time ! Armando is an amazing host. It is very dog friendly, dogs are treated as guests. Plan on getting a little dirty because this is not a hotel, but the rooms are very clean and nicely kept. Lots of trails and a nice small pond to fish and Kayak in, chairs and hammock and a bonfire outside to sit around and cool over, I love this place, will definitely go back again !

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Gregory F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    213
    18
    5
    1
    3
See reviews for
42
119
19
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Our dog loves to run around the property and hike. He loves being greeted by Armando and eating a homemade dinner and breakfast. He even enjoys finding just the right amount of shade down by the beach to relax while his friends venture into the pond.

My children and I have been here 3 years in a row. Always beautiful and the accommodations are clean and roomy. We also love how close it is to town as Galena is a great place to shop. Highly recommend to families or couples.

Room Tip: This bed and breakfast only has two rooms and both are wonderful. One has a claw footed tub that ad...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hoth98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rock City, Illinois
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 11 June 2014

I took my daughter age 13 for a two night stay at the Tierra Linda. It is so beautiful there, so much nature and the trails are great, You can explore the property from all different directions. We were able to capture a beautiful sunset with the lake. The room was very nice and clean. Armando made the stay great, he is very attentive always asking if we needed anything, and he supplied what we wanted right away. Though I am dairy, egg and gluten free he made sure I was well fed for breakfast. He had fires outside going for us and supplied us with smores. This is a place for bird lovers and nature lovers for sure. The dogs are very friendly. Anyone who would love to have a peaceful and relaxing time should consider the Tierra Linda. The area where the Tierra Linda is located is simply gorgeous, yet it is close to Galena.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tinchen1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 3 June 2014

First time I came to Tierra Linda in 2003 and we had an amazing time. So amazing that I kept thinking about it all these years and finally took my mom, my son and our new dog Louie there this past weekend.
Armando, the host of Tierra Linda, is simply the best host ever. He was so welcoming and treated us like his own family. His amazing home-made salsa, bon fire every night, dinners cooked on open fire for us and our puppy were absolutely the best. The landscape, the pond, birds, wild flowers and trails are breathtaking. We are definitely going back every year!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yuliya C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Tierra Linda stole our hearts ! ❤️❤️What a beautiful place on earth preserved by the owner Armando and da puppies ! We absolutely loved the warmth, hospitality and that relaxed feeling you seek when you book B&B. and Hands down, This is the best B&B we have ever visited and can not wait to come back ! Tierra Linda is surrounded by beautiful nature, acres of greenery, blooming flowers, and trails that take your mind away from daily problems and routine. There is a pond w a nice beach, comfortable rooms, plenty of space to relax and enjoy your getaway . We loved the romantic La Luna room with a vintage tub, a separate bathroom, comfy bed and an opportunity to see amazing sunrises! we enjoyed our daily campfire & great conversations as well. Breakfast was just amazing !! So fresh and delicious with plenty of food for all prepared with love and care. My husband played his guitar and was inspired by Tierra Linda to improvise and create more music . I enjoyed relaxing with a book, taking a walk, listening to the chirping birds, playing w the dogs and, of course, the owner's company . Tierra Linda is a little piece of heaven on earth ...

Having spent a weekend there We felt so appreciated and loved there, and left relaxed and peaceful . It was above our expectations ! Thank you so much for everything Armando ! See you very soon ...

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NatashaAndre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kenosha, Wisconsin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 May 2014

What a lovely place to get away and spend time with my loved one: puppy and husband. Our room was comfortable and quaint. We spent days by the pond and nights cooking on the camp fire.

Our dog was in heaven! Breakfast (for puppies) was farm fresh eggs and dinner (for puppies) was grilled chicken. She is all about the food, friends (Julio, Chiquita, and Willow), and missed Armando the minute we left Tierra Linda.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Racheal H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shorewood, Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Tierra Linda is a relaxing, down-to earth, unexpected, wonderful, and unpretentious way to enjoy the weekend! Only a few miles from Galena and eons away from the cares of the world, Tierra Linda is the perfect getaway to reconnect with your loved ones.
From the moment that we drove up and parked next to the barn we were transported to a place where the world stands still. A warm greeting, a hot campfire, and a climb up the farm house stairs to our comfortable room were a few of the first moments at Tierra Linda. We had brought some fresh corn and hamburgers which were placed on the campfire grill and soon cooked to perfection as we began to take a step back in time and relax for the weekend. After watching the hummingbirds go to bed under a sky full of stars we were sang to sleep by the croaks of the frogs by the pond and later awakened by the birds that were too numerous to count. Now, to be honest, I really know very little about birds, but I was still amazed with the sightings of the woodpeckers, hummingbirds, bluebirds, cardinals, and barn swallows. Farm fresh eggs, fresh fruit, hash-browns, bacon, and biscuits were some of the treats we enjoyed with our breakfast coffee. A walk through the grassy trails around the pond and the beach became a ritual that we just couldn’t resist.
To mention this beautiful land without mentioning its gracious host, Armando, would be a disservice. He tended to our every desire, shared stories and knowledge of his past and experiences, and loved our puppy just as much as we did. Armando made chicken on the fire for our Havanese puppy, Teddi and took care of her when we went to town.
If you are looking for a place to show off your jewelry and high heels, look elsewhere. If you are looking for a place to wear your sandals (or better yet, go barefoot!), if you are looking for place that time has forgotten, if you are looking for a place and a host with a warm heart then you have found the perfect weekend in Tierra Linda!

Room Tip: La Luna has a European bathroom. You can enjoy a soak in the tub while sharing with your companion...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galena hotels
5.1 mi away
Stoney Creek Inn
Stoney Creek Inn
#2 of 11 in Galena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 832 reviews
6.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Galena IL
6.2 mi away
Ramada Galena Hotel and Day Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Aldrich Guest House
Aldrich Guest House
#2 of 32 in Galena
5.0 of 5 bubbles 469 reviews
7.4 mi away
Hawk Valley Retreat & Cottages
3.8 mi away
Bernadine's Stillman Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tierra Linda Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tierra Linda Bed and Breakfast

Property: Tierra Linda Bed and Breakfast
Address: 826 S Rocky Hill Rd, Galena, IL 61036-9159
Region: United States > Illinois > Galena
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Galena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tierra Linda is a dog friendly Bed and Breakfast. There are two rooms to rent and we have a private large spring-fed pond for boating, fishing and for your dog to play. There is also a private sandy beach, a magic forest and a cascading creek. Our place is ideal for relaxation and for observing nature, particularly birds, frogs, turtles, rabbits, deer, coyotes, etc, etc ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Tierra Linda Hotel Galena
Tierra Linda b&b

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing