We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A wonderful way to get away from it all and get back to Nature”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Galena
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Tierra Linda Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #19 of 33 Galena B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Iowa City, Iowa
1 review
“A wonderful way to get away from it all and get back to Nature”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

My wife and I wanted to visit Galena but wanted to take our dog with us. (Part of the family you know) Found the B andB Tierra Linda on the Internet and booked the El Sol room. Tierra Linda is outside Galena but it might as well be in another country as its lush trees, beautiful flowers and natural ponds make it a scenic wonder. Armando was a gracious and attentive host and cooked us dinner every night over a fire pit. He was very accommodating to Jimmy who can be somewhat "needy". Jimmy did enjoy walking around the trails without a leash and interacting with Armando's dogs. It's a short drive into Galena to take it that city has to offer and then you can come back to peace and quiet. A truly wonderful time.

Room Tip: Tierra Linda has two rooms. Both are beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeffrey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    212
    18
    5
    1
    3
See reviews for
41
119
19
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

My wife and I wanted to go to a bed and breakfast for our first anniversary and faced with the plethora of choices in Galena, we choose Tierra Linda based on the beautiful landscape it is situated on. After about a four hour motorcycle ride, my wife was relieved to arrive....and be surrounded by ten adorable puppies! She was in heaven. Armando, the host, already had a bonfire going with relaxing music playing. I felt right at home, right away. After chit chatting and having a few beers around the fire we went to check out our room for the next two nights. The room was spotless, private, and had it's own sparkling bathroom. The views from the north and west windows were beautiful. The bed was comfortable and we both slept exceptionally well. We spent our first evening checking out the grounds, and boy is it beautiful. Armando has created a maze of trails though the hillside that has a spring fed pond, a beach, woods, prarie, wild flowers, all 100% natural and unadulterated. After exploring Tierra Linda, we spent the rest of the night around the campfire smoking a pork tenderloin, watching shooting stars and enjoying conversation with Armando. Tierra Linda was easily one of the most relaxing weekends I have ever had. I would recommend it to anyone who loves nature, dogs, the outdoors and great conversation! We will be back!!!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

We stayed at Tierra Linda July 11-14 and enjoyed the full moon while we were there. Our poodles didn't seem to notice since they were running around and playing in the pond. We barbecued and enjoyed listing to the sounds of the night - the frogs singing.. We stayed in El Sol room which was spacious and clean. Armando is a great host and made sure we were cared for well.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank deejaychicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aurora, Illinois
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed at Tierra Linda for the second time this weekend. Went about 9 months ago and loved it, was coming back to galena this weekend for a wedding so decided to stay again. So quiet and rustic, such a relaxing time ! Armando is an amazing host. It is very dog friendly, dogs are treated as guests. Plan on getting a little dirty because this is not a hotel, but the rooms are very clean and nicely kept. Lots of trails and a nice small pond to fish and Kayak in, chairs and hammock and a bonfire outside to sit around and cool over, I love this place, will definitely go back again !

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Gregory F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

Our dog loves to run around the property and hike. He loves being greeted by Armando and eating a homemade dinner and breakfast. He even enjoys finding just the right amount of shade down by the beach to relax while his friends venture into the pond.

My children and I have been here 3 years in a row. Always beautiful and the accommodations are clean and roomy. We also love how close it is to town as Galena is a great place to shop. Highly recommend to families or couples.

Room Tip: This bed and breakfast only has two rooms and both are wonderful. One has a claw footed tub that ad...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hoth98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rock City, Illinois
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014

I took my daughter age 13 for a two night stay at the Tierra Linda. It is so beautiful there, so much nature and the trails are great, You can explore the property from all different directions. We were able to capture a beautiful sunset with the lake. The room was very nice and clean. Armando made the stay great, he is very attentive always asking if we needed anything, and he supplied what we wanted right away. Though I am dairy, egg and gluten free he made sure I was well fed for breakfast. He had fires outside going for us and supplied us with smores. This is a place for bird lovers and nature lovers for sure. The dogs are very friendly. Anyone who would love to have a peaceful and relaxing time should consider the Tierra Linda. The area where the Tierra Linda is located is simply gorgeous, yet it is close to Galena.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tinchen1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

First time I came to Tierra Linda in 2003 and we had an amazing time. So amazing that I kept thinking about it all these years and finally took my mom, my son and our new dog Louie there this past weekend.
Armando, the host of Tierra Linda, is simply the best host ever. He was so welcoming and treated us like his own family. His amazing home-made salsa, bon fire every night, dinners cooked on open fire for us and our puppy were absolutely the best. The landscape, the pond, birds, wild flowers and trails are breathtaking. We are definitely going back every year!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yuliya C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galena hotels
5.1 mi away
Stoney Creek Inn
Stoney Creek Inn
#2 of 11 in Galena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 822 reviews
6.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Galena IL
6.2 mi away
Ramada Galena Hotel and Day Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Aldrich Guest House
Aldrich Guest House
#2 of 33 in Galena
5.0 of 5 bubbles 467 reviews
7.4 mi away
Hawk Valley Retreat & Cottages
3.8 mi away
Bernadine's Stillman Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tierra Linda Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tierra Linda Bed and Breakfast

Property: Tierra Linda Bed and Breakfast
Address: 826 S Rocky Hill Rd, Galena, IL 61036-9159
Region: United States > Illinois > Galena
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 33 B&Bs / Inns in Galena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tierra Linda is a dog friendly Bed and Breakfast. There are two rooms to rent and we have a private large spring-fed pond for boating, fishing and for your dog to play. There is also a private sandy beach, a magic forest and a cascading creek. Our place is ideal for relaxation and for observing nature, particularly birds, frogs, turtles, rabbits, deer, coyotes, etc, etc ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Tierra Linda Hotel Galena
Tierra Linda b&b

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing