We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good pizza.”
Review of Cannova's Pizzeria

Cannova's Pizzeria
Ranked #22 of 65 Restaurants in Galena
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Takeout
Fontana, Wisconsin, United States
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“good pizza.”
Reviewed 4 October 2013

The margherita pizza is wonderful. Carried out, but the restaurant is very nice. Would eat here again,

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Louise G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    121
    55
    22
    6
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
167 reviews
144 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 183 helpful votes
“Great Pizza”
Reviewed 28 September 2013

After a long pizza free week my husband announced I WANT PIZZA TONIGHT! We were staying at the Desoto House and I checked tripadvisor. We decided to try Cannovas Pizzeria for the first time.

I can't recall which pizza we ordered, but it was very good. We admired the food that was being served to other tables and and everything looked delicious. They serve a lot more than pizza. The next time we want Italian while in Galena, we will be back here!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank lizzzg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Cracker thin pizza crust with fresh toppings!”
Reviewed 23 September 2013

Walking by, this didn't look like a pizza place, so I was surprised by the variety of pizzas on the menu. I had the Bianca: cheese, fresh tomatoes, spinach and garlic. I loved the thin crispy crust! I also liked their pasta sauce, which I sampled off my husband's plate. He thought the sauce was too sweet and that his meal was good, but not fantastic.

It is a small restaurant, which was fine on a weeknight, but I wouldn't like the atmosphere as much if all the tables were full.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank RedNailz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“What are you waiting for?”
Reviewed 15 September 2013 via mobile

I love this place. Can't eat here enough. Food is so great. My favorite is the lasagna. I ask for half red sauce and half Alfredo on top. We live in Chicago and whenever I am visiting friends in Freeport we eat at the place there and was so happy to discover one in Galena! YUM

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank familytravel4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Des Moines, Iowa
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Yum!”
Reviewed 7 September 2013

The anti-pasto was a little disappointing (lots of lettuce, which I have never seen before) but the pizza was excellent. Could have skipped the vegetables! Good service, good food, good location.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank LauraKozin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cannova's Pizzeria also viewed

 

Been to Cannova's Pizzeria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing