We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Designer Inn & Suites
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Galena
Certificate of Excellence
Dahinda
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Nice place!”
Reviewed 1 September 2011

This motel is well located on Rt. 20 east of the river in Galena. The motel was clean, nicely decorated, had a nice staff, and most importantly......our room was great! Clean, roomy, and quiet! Comfy beds. Nice indoor/outdoor pool. Good continental breakfast. Just a real nice place to stay!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank litterbughater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

609 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    308
    184
    65
    33
    19
See reviews for
134
329
19
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
La Crosse, Wisconsin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2011

My mother and I were impressed with the excellent service from the start. The receptionist was friendly and efficient. After our long drive we were happy to be quickly settled in our room. The room was beyond my expectations. It was huge. I especially enjoyed the separate sitting area with the couch and chairs. Beyond the sitting area was a door that lead to a porch which faced the rear of the hotel and a nice wooded area. The two queen beds were very comfortable and had excellent linens and great pillows. The refrigerator and micro-wave came in handy during our two night stay. The hotel is within walking distance of the downtown area where there were lots of restaurants and shops. With the assistance of the hotel staff, we were able to find restaurants that served gluten free meals. There was even a Happy Joe's pizza place next door to the hotel that served a gluten free pizza and wonderful ice-cream sundaes. The hotel breakfasts were very nice. There were lots of choices. Mom enjoyed making her own Belgian Walfle one morning and she had eggs and a sweet roll the next morning. I stayed with the fruit, yogurt, and hard boiled eggs. Mom also enjoyed the afternoon cookies and fruit. After getting a tour of the fantasy suites, I hope to return soon with my husband and stay in one of the fantasy suites. The swimming pool was inviting but we were too busy seeing the sights to use it on this trip.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BarbinLAX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochelle, Illinois
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 August 2011

Again very happy with the way i was treated by staff members. Have stayed here before but really appreciate the recent upgrades. very clean and comfortable rooms, new breakfast items and very friendly people. alot of good places to visit and not overly crowded. would suggest this motel for a good night stay and good time.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dog069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2011

for the past 4 years we have been going to galena for our anniversary. my husband didnt make reservations in time last year so we didnt have any other choice but to stay here. we are not smokers but our room smelled horribly like mildew and smoke. they gave us an air purifier that needed to be plugged in constantly which was loud and annoying. there were also bugs in our room. i was up half the night killing spiders and other unfamiliar bugs because yes, i fear them. the door on our balcony must not have had a tight seal. also, we had to sleep upside down on the bed, no joke, because the bed was slanted. our feet were higher than our heads, so we had to flip. the carpet was stained in places and there were smooshed bugs on the wall from previous guests i assume. it was just overall creepy, smelly and uncomfortable. the bathroom, however, was clean and the the staff was friendly, but i honestly would not recommend staying here to ANYONE....seriously. galena is beautiful though and we didnt spend much time in the room anyway.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank takme2paradise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Upminster, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2011

The accommodation is very good, the beds very comfortable and rooms are a good size. There is a pool which is part inside and part outside, making it ideal for all seasons.
This hotel is positioned within walking distance of Galena (down a hill) , which is a beautiful, interesting old town with many original buildings dating from the 1800s. If you walk into town, you can visit the former home of President U.S.Grant on the way, or at least view it from outside. Galena has wonderful unusual shops and many restaurants and is well worth a visit.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vivien97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Green Bay, Wisconsin
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2011

This was a great place to stay. The staff from the front desk to the housekeeping woman were wonderful and very friendly. The pool area was very nice. We had a spacious 2 queen bed room that was very clean. The complimentary breakfast was terrific. Would recommend this place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ssabarrett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bettendorf, Iowa
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2011

this was a great place to stay......and honestly? THE cleanest hotel we've stayed in!...bed was super comfortable...very nice to have the balcony to sit out on....new management apparently is doing the trick....our ONLY criticism?.....grounds could be a bit more groomed...for the hotel's sake...it would look nicer...enjoyed a GREAT show at the irish cottage next door...we'll be back!!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank liz h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galena hotels
2.7 mi away
Ramada Galena Hotel and Day Spa
2.6 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Galena IL
1.6 mi away
Stoney Creek Inn
Stoney Creek Inn
#2 of 11 in Galena
847 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Irish Cottage Boutique Hotel
6.2 mi away
Chestnut Mountain Resort
4.2 mi away
Eagle Ridge Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Designer Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Designer Inn & Suites

Property: Best Western Designer Inn & Suites
Address: 9923 W US Route 20, Galena, IL 61036
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Galena
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Galena
#6 Romantic Hotel in Galena
#7 Family Hotel in Galena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Designer Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly remodeled large rooms! Newly remodeled bathrooms! New lobby and new hallways! Located 1/2 mile from downtown Main Street Galena. Free hot breakfast with stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Designer Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Designer Hotel Galena
Best Western Galena
Galena Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing