We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, great location, will return!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Designer Inn & Suites
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Galena
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, great location, will return!”
Reviewed 11 June 2014

Really liked the hotel and location, about 1/2 mile from downtown area of Galena, Staff was really nice and helped with town recommendations. Breakfast was free and had a good variety. Rooms were much larger than I expected and they are doing nice some updates throughout hotel. Will definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: All very nice rooms, new suites too look awesome
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sandi t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

626 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    318
    188
    67
    34
    19
See reviews for
137
342
19
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
West Valley City, Utah
Level 6 Contributor
350 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014 via mobile

Rooms, amenities, staff and breakfast all about average. Nothing really outstanding and nothing bad. I would recommend this Best Western, but it is still very average. I think it will neither enhance nor detract from your stay in Galena.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank aluckart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Schaumburg, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

In town for a wedding at a home in the Galena Territory and needed an overflow for one night. This place was close and a major chain. It had several amenities that we didn't need or use such as the fireplace and large whirlpool. Apparently there was a bicycle event in town and supply was short so overpaid for just wanting a room. Basically clean but a bit of a stale smell in the room common at this level of hotel. Staff seemed friendly and didn't get a chance on the breakfast.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Budsboy520
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Homewood, IL, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Rooms and beds were clean and comfortable. Hotel outside appearance needs a lot of work and cleanup. Room keys not programed upon check-in that required another trip to desk to correct while luggage stood by outside door. Usual free breakfast, nothing special, with weak coffee. Location was handy to attractions and town.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
3 Thank Kenneth K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mukwonago, United States
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

From Amy's heartfelt and cheerful welcome to check out in the morning with Fritz, the Manager, our stay was all we could hope for and more! Truly a great member of the Best Western family!! The place to stay in Galena! J. Grace

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
3 Thank Jeff G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iowa
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

We stayed 3 nights over Memorial Day weekend. We had a room with a king sized bed. The room was very spacious and included a sofa and 2 arm chairs. Each room has either a patio or a private balcony. We were on the 2nd floor in the back, so we overlooked a wooded area. The rooms seemed well soundproofed. There is fresh coffee in the lobby at all times and cookies in the evening. Breakfast is served, but we did not eat there as we ate all of our breakfasts at Otto's Place. The staff is very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tim&Bill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hartland, Wisconsin
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

This was our second stay at the Best Western Designer Inn and Suites. The room size was nice and large for our family and our kids loved to swim in their indoor/outdoor pool! Staff was super friendly and helpful and suggested great dining and places to visit. Really nice to be able to walk short distance to downtown Galena. We will definitely be back! :)

Room Tip: Get one located facing the back of the property towards the beautiful wooded area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kellyrbb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galena hotels
2.7 mi away
Ramada Galena Hotel and Day Spa
2.6 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Galena IL
1.6 mi away
Stoney Creek Inn
Stoney Creek Inn
#2 of 11 in Galena
855 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Chestnut Mountain Resort
4.2 mi away
Eagle Ridge Resort & Spa
5.5 mi away
Worldmark Galena
Worldmark Galena
#8 of 11 in Galena
94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Designer Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Designer Inn & Suites

Property: Best Western Designer Inn & Suites
Address: 9923 W US Route 20, Galena, IL 61036
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Galena
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Galena
#6 Romantic Hotel in Galena
#7 Family Hotel in Galena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Designer Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly remodeled large rooms! Newly remodeled bathrooms! New lobby and new hallways! Located 1/2 mile from downtown Main Street Galena. Free hot breakfast with stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Best Western Designer Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Designer Hotel Galena
Best Western Galena
Galena Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing