We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Thank you for a lovely stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN Designer Inn & Suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Designer Inn & Suites
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Galena
Certificate of Excellence
Freeport, Illinois
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Thank you for a lovely stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014

I just got home from a 2-night stay at the Best Western Designer Inn and Suites in Galena,IL. It was SO nice! I was able to check at 3:00 (many hotels don't have check in until 4). I was given a clean, very large room with 2 queen sized beds, flat screen TV and a sitting area with 2 chairs and a sofa. There was also a small balcony off the back of the room. The A/C could be set to a cold setting, which I prefer. The bed was comfortable with loads of pillows. The bathroom was spotless, from the floors to the shower curtain. The breakfast both mornings was more than adequate. I didn't use the pool, so I can't comment on that.
The Best Western is close to Grant's Home and is only a 5 minute drive from downtown Galena. I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

551 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    285
    162
    59
    29
    16
See reviews for
113
303
16
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
36 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

The hotel is in a decent location being a short drive to town and to Ulysses Grants home. Situated on the the main Road makes the hotel easy to find but can also lead to the front rooms being a little noisy at times for a light sleeper. I tried walking in to town but there seems to be a lack of pavements (sidewalks) which is not so odd in the US but can be a little tricky on a busy road. Lots of parking for cars and free of charge. The room was decent size with usual inclusions such as WiFi, our room was out the back with a balcony and a peaceful view of some trees. Typical Best Western breakfast but no other on-site food available. We made the mistake of going to the Irish pub nearby but this was not the best option as there are much better eats in town. Over all not bad at all.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Telemachus_Jnr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milford, IA
Level Contributor
52 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

We spent one night in this motel in Galena, IL. Our queen room was spacious and very clean. In addition to the bed which had nice bedding and an abundance of pillows, there was a comfortable sitting area with a sofa and two chairs.

Although our room faced the roadside, we were not disturbed by road noise, possibly because the air conditioner cut out the sound, but it is fairly well set back from the road anyway.

The staff was pleasant enough when we checked in and out, but beyond that we had little interaction with them.

Coffee and cookies were available in the lobby, and an adequate breakfast was served in the morning. It was typical motel breakfast fare, but it did include scrambled eggs and sausage.

We had no complaints about the accommodations or service and wouldn't hesitate to stay at this motel again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marsha W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oshkosh, WI
Level Contributor
55 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

I check websites like Hotels.com to see what hotels are in the area that we are travelling to, and then call the hotel to book my room. Hotels.com showed 1 room remaining, and when I called the hotel, I was told that they were booked. I booked it through Hotels.com then so that we would have a room close to downtown Galena. We noticed that there weren't many cars in the parking lot, and also that people were just coming in off the street and able to book a room, for at least $30 less than we paid. There was a sign "Pardon Our Dust", but no evidence of construction.

The bathroom area had mildew in the corners, and the shower and clothes rods had a residue on them. There was an air freshener hanging on the clothes rod. Stains on the ironing board cover.

We had rain on Friday night/Saturday morning, and when the cleaning staff dumped the water off the chairs on the balcony above our patio, it was right on top of me.

There were a lot of cigarette butts in the stones and bushes in front of the hotel, and in the driving rain, they washed out into the parking lot.

The breakfast was good, and they had something different every day. The front desk staff seemed friendly, but that's the only positives that I can give this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paulandkris1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Longmont, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014

I love this hotel. They are super friendly and they have AMAZING fantasy suites!!! MUST STAY HERE!!! The environment will have you wanting to stay FOREVER!! They have several fanta suites to choose from and they are all amazing!!!! I am from CO and love coming here when we are in town!!!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Nicholas L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

Although we had our reservations in for about a month, we were not told until we arrived that we would be downgraded from a king suite to a queen room. We were awakened at 6:15 a.m. by a loud manager berating an employee for 15 minutes straight...right in the lobby! Then at 2:00 a.m. the next morning a female staff person was talking so loudly at the front desk that we could hear every word she was saying. Then at checkout she was rude...I guess she didn't like that we asked her to please talk more quietly? Then to top it off we were not given the discount for the downgrade...yet. I'm having to spend time now trying to get that fixed. The place is old and badly needs a makeover. The fitness room is a joke. ugh, never. ever. again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
4 Thank Carl E C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wisconsin, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

Hotel and Location was great. The Breakfast was great and they had plenty of food. Rooms were clean and staff was very helpful. The room are also big with a nice sitting area in the room. The hotel is located next to a pizza and ice cream restaurant. They are also next to a irish pub that had amazing food and the pub also had free entertainment. There is also a gas station located next to the hotel. . Half mile down the road they have the blaum distillery. Took a tour and was great. Main street in Galena is also half a mile down road. but there is hills and no sidewalk to walk on. So you have to drive or get a cab. You are also only 25 minutes out of dubuque, iowa where we took a day trip to to the river musem and aquarium. Next to that was the Diamond Jos cansino. We will return to Galena and stay at Best Western.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Carol F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galena hotels
2.7 mi away
Ramada Galena Hotel and Day Spa
2.6 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Galena IL
1.6 mi away
Stoney Creek Inn
Stoney Creek Inn
#2 of 11 in Galena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 813 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Eagle Ridge Resort & Spa
0.5 mi away
Grant Hills Motel
Grant Hills Motel
#10 of 11 in Galena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
5.5 mi away
Worldmark Galena
Worldmark Galena
#8 of 11 in Galena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Designer Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Designer Inn & Suites

Property: BEST WESTERN Designer Inn & Suites
Address: 9923 W US Highway 20, Galena, IL 61036-9187
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Galena
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Galena
#6 Romantic Hotel in Galena
#7 Family Hotel in Galena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Designer Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly remodeled large rooms! Newly remodeled bathrooms! New lobby and new hallways! Located 1/2 mile from downtown Main Street Galena. Free hot breakfast with stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your BEST WESTERN Designer Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Designer Hotel Galena
Best Western Galena
Galena Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing