We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet, country getaway with laid back elegance”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Galena
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Inn at Irish Hollow
Ranked #9 of 32 Galena B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Naperville, Illinois
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Quiet, country getaway with laid back elegance”
Reviewed 10 November 2012

My husband and I wanted a quiet and restful getaway for a fall break, and when we looked at the website for Inn at Irish Hollow, we were convinced this was the place. The innkeepers at this lovely inn really get it. Their attention to detail is outstanding . . . from the exquisite meals, lovely decor and amenities to the personal time and thoughtfulness they bring to each guest. I was very impressed with the accommodation they made to my gluten sensitivity. This was one of the few places we've been that not only offered GF options, but excelled in them! Their home made pastries and baked goods, along with all their other menu items were fabulous! And their gracious modesty about it all just adds to the charm. This is a wonderful place we are telling all of our friends who appreciate quiet, tasteful and thoughtful accommodations.

Room Tip: Rooms in the house have an old charm, but the cottages are really beautiful and offer more privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 981Sarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

284 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    265
    16
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
229
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2012

We stayed for 2 nights in August of 2012. Inn at Irish Hollow is a wonderful place to visit, and is situated about 20 minutes outside of Galena's Downtown. The rooms were clean, and the service was excellent.

Each breakfast was Amazing! They grow many of the vegetables and herbs that they serve. We also enjoyed a Saturday night dinner at Irish Hollow, and it also was outstanding. Each breakfast is 3 courses, and dinner must have been at least 7 courses.
We spent one morning before breakfast hiking on the property and were accompanied by the Inn's adorable farm cat, Molly.

Inn at Irish Hollow is a wonderful escape from hectic city life.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Monkeycity1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, Wisconsin
2 reviews
Reviewed 24 October 2012

Great 2 night stay for our 13th wedding anniversary!! Food was fantastic!!! We stayed in one of the Inn's rooms and the accommodations where wonderful. Matthew was great and very helpful making this a wonderful experience overall. The meals where like an event! I would encourage any couple that wants some down time to take this place in and enjoy the down time and relax!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patrick R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holmen, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2012

I actually brought my mom to the Inn for a fall getaway. It was so relaxing! The cottage we stayed in was charming, bed comfortable and treats delicious. The meals were like none I'd ever experienced. No detail was overlooked. I honestly believe everyone should visit once-you'll want to return. It is a very romantic setting and atmosphere. The staff was so helpful and kind. An all around wonderful experience.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank newfielvr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2012

A beautiful location, mixed with amazing food and charming accommodations were experienced at this fabulous inn! The Inn at Irish Hollow is something out of fairy tale setting. The inn itself is beautiful and the cottages were unbelievable! The multi-course dinners and breakfasts were better than any restaurant that we've been to, with the setting of the dining room adding to the magic. The staff was incredibly nice and will meet every request made.
We loved the sound of the frogs at night and the mooing of the cows across the road. The drive to and from the inn to the town of Galena was beautiful.
We will be back for sure.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jen1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pella, Iowa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 26 September 2012

My husband and I celebrated our 20th wedding anniversary at The Inn at Irish Hollow. We stayed in one of the Inn's rooms (not a cottage), and while the accommodations certainly met our expectations, the people (Matthew and Laura) made this the perfect experience. They are so warm and genuine, and they particularize their guests in ways that will make anyone want to return again. The culinary creativity of two 3 course breakfasts, and a 7 course dinner, was more than we have ever experienced. They create a sweet ambiance, and we so enjoyed getting to know Laura, who served us at every meal. Charm, wit, and a great smile made our leisurely meals wonderful. We seemed to continually be surprised by all the "extras" available to us, such as private areas to have a campfire, 500 acres to hike and explore, chocolates and other snacks on our beds daily, the beauty of the flower and veggie garden (of which they pride themselves on using in their culinary delights!), and romantic dinner ambiance with music and candles (yet, not formal or uncomfortable!) I've declared this a regular destination spot for future special getaways. Anything else just wouldn't measure up!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JP50219
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Charles, Illinois
Level Contributor
63 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2012 via mobile

My husband and I stayed at The Inn at Irish Hollow for two nights this month. It was our first time at a bed and breakfast and it was exceptional! The staff at the inn was wonderful - made us feel right at home! We stayed in the French Maid's Cottage which is original to the property - it was well appointed, decorated beautifully and very cozy. Our meals at the inn were outstanding - as good as anywhere we've traveled! There are no televisions but the setting and amenities make it a worthwhile stay - we definitely plan to return. If you've stayed in other hotels in Galena I recommend trying the Inn at Irish Hollow. It exceeded our expectations!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LilCricket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galena hotels
9.1 mi away
Stoney Creek Inn
Stoney Creek Inn
#2 of 11 in Galena
840 reviews
10.2 mi away
Ramada Galena Hotel and Day Spa
7.9 mi away
Aldrich Guest House
Aldrich Guest House
#2 of 32 in Galena
480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Goldmoor Inn
Goldmoor Inn
#7 of 32 in Galena
506 reviews
8.3 mi away
Jail Hill Inn
Jail Hill Inn
#1 of 32 in Galena
150 reviews
5.5 mi away
Eagle Ridge Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at Irish Hollow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Irish Hollow

Property: The Inn at Irish Hollow
Address: 2800 S Irish Hollow Rd, Galena, IL 61036-9482
Region: United States > Illinois > Galena
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Galena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on 500 acres of magnificent rolling hillsides and valleys, the Inn offers a perfect setting to reconnect with one another and to be pampered in the heart of Galena’s picture-perfect countryside. Guests enjoy personalized comfort, superb hospitality and the lush amenities designed to thrill sophisticated travelers. The 500 acre estate is cut with miles of hiking trails, streams, wooded ridges and connects to a 1300 acre nature preserve. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Inn At Irish Hollow Hotel Galena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing