We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Anniversary ” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Inn at Irish Hollow

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Galena
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Inn at Irish Hollow
Ranked #9 of 33 Galena B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago
Level Contributor
24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Best Anniversary ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2013 via mobile

Great weekend getaway from Chicago!

Food was outstanding, our French Maid cottage was beautifully decorated, jacuzzi tub, iPad music playing when we arrived, wood burning fireplace and wonderful hospitality.

How will we top this for our next anniversary?

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Maryann G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

272 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    254
    16
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
218
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2013

This was our second visit to this fabulous property and if possible, it was even better than the first! From the moment you arrive, every detail has been thoughtfully anticipated and exceeds your expectations. We loved the cozy comforts of the Station Master's Cottage--a heavenly bed, wood burning fireplace, massaging whirlpool tub for two and every luxury you could desire. And then there's the food--fresh, creative, delicious! I have to admit, it was so memorable the first visit during the summer, that I couldn't wait to indulge in their 7 course harvest dinner. : ) We are so impressed with Matthew, Bill and all of the staff who keep this place running to perfection. Going to Irish Hollow is definitely a splurge, but this property does not disappoint! Thank you all for your hard work and dedication. It was just what we needed to rest and relax and very much appreciated!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hartley, Iowa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2013

Surprised my wife for her birthday with a trip to this romantic place in the lush hills near Galena. The place is so nice and the staff warm and helpful. The cuisine was something ...it was tremendous. Want to ignite the romance? Take your wife here.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Phillip S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ankeny
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2013

We were looking for a romantic get away to celebrate our 20th anniversary. I cannot say enough good things about The Inn at Irish Hollow. True hospitality, attention to detail, comfort, and a chance to unplug. The cottage was luxurious from the linens to the bathrobes to the real half & half in the fridge. This inn is on a 500 acre farm which has trails to walk dotted with grottos to sit, start a fire, and enjoy the outdoors. The owners are gracious and clearly love what they do. Even the inn's cat, Molly will make you feel welcome. We are eager to return. Thank you Tony, Bill, Matthew, and Vincent. Every moment was perfect.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aberfeldy2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Charles, Illinois
Level Contributor
43 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2013

Very different from the usual places one might stay. This is what makes it so great and memorable. This place is all about decompressing, relaxing, and enjoying time with the one you love. Take a walk, read a book, enjoy a romantic dinner, and on a clear night enjoy the stars.

I was a bit skeptical upon on arrival but let me tell you this B&B is worth visiting. You won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Blueknight16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Villages, Florida
Level Contributor
58 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2013

We spent 2 nights at the Inn at Irish Hollow in the French Maids Cottage and I have to say this is hands down the most relaxing, romantic, service-oriented B&B we have ever stayed at. No TV, no phone, nothing but the quiet of the country, serenaded by crickets and cicadas. The accommodations were 1st class with high quality linens and the decor fit the name of the cottage. Each morning we were delivered a full gourmet breakfast filled with locally grown ingredients. The 2nd night we walked a short distance to the General Store where we had a world-class candle lit 7 course dinner with a nice red wine. Our host was a newly hired employee of the owners who did literally everything while we were there and made it look easy. Thanks Vincent! We will definitely be back and maybe next time we'll dine with Harrison Ford, a frequent visitor to the inn. Can I mark 6 stars?

Room Tip: I have seen the French Maid's and the Gardener's cottages. Both are superb, each with their...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zenbion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oak Park, Illinois, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2013

After a "last minute" decision to spend our 10th anniversary at a Romantic getaway, we began searching for the perfect place around our Chicago area home. Our internet search sent us to Galena, IL. and upon further looking, to The Inn at Irish Hollow. Unfortunately the Inn was completely booked for our weekend. A phone call to the Inn had Matthew working his magic to make it work for us. When we arrived, we were instantly taken back! The town was so picturesque. The drive to the Inn was spectacular and the Inn itself was AMAZING!!! Every last detail along with the warm welcome made us know this was going to be a wonderful few days!!! Our cottage (Olde Orchard) was breath taking!!! It took me a couple of days to take in all the attention to detail and coziness of this cottage!! Our coffee in bed in front of a cozy fire, and wine and cheese on the screen porch were definitely part of our routine each day. The seven course dinner was delicious and presented so elegantly and the breakfasts were out of this world!! This place was definitely a little slice of heaven!!! We are home now and missing our beautiful weekend so much that we are already planning our next trip!! Thank you Matthew for your hospitality and making our special time so memorable....we will see you soon!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DJ_and_Lisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galena hotels
10.2 mi away
Ramada Galena Hotel and Day Spa
9.1 mi away
Stoney Creek Inn
Stoney Creek Inn
#2 of 11 in Galena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 812 reviews
10.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Galena IL
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Eagle Ridge Resort & Spa
7.9 mi away
Aldrich Guest House
Aldrich Guest House
#2 of 33 in Galena
5.0 of 5 bubbles 458 reviews
7.6 mi away
Hawk Valley Retreat & Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at Irish Hollow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Irish Hollow

Property: The Inn at Irish Hollow
Address: 2800 S Irish Hollow Rd, Galena, IL 61036
Region: United States > Illinois > Galena
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 33 B&Bs / Inns in Galena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on 500 acres of magnificent rolling hillsides and valleys, the Inn offers a perfect setting to reconnect with one another and to be pampered in the heart of Galena’s picture-perfect countryside. Guests enjoy personalized comfort, superb hospitality and the lush amenities designed to thrill sophisticated travelers. The 500 acre estate is cut with miles of hiking trails, streams, wooded ridges and connects to a 1300 acre nature preserve. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Inn At Irish Hollow Hotel Galena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing