We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Look no further”
Review of Stoney Creek Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Stoney Creek Inn
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Galena
Certificate of Excellence
Sturgeon Bay, Wisconsin
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Look no further”
Reviewed 8 May 2012

Our visit was wonderful. Went to Galena for a couple days away and this hotel is a great place to settle in. Staff was friendly and anxious to offer suggestions on restaurants and places of interest. The morning breakfast buffet is large with hot food and a spacious dining room. Large convenient parking lot outside the door. Parking downtown is limited and tight. The deluxe king room was large and inviting. Everything is clean and spotless. The drive downtown is only a few short minutes and easy. You will not make a mistake with the Stoney Creek Inn. We would definately return and recommend to others. Thanks to the staff for the excellent recommendations on attractions and restaurants.

Room Tip: Go for the deluxe king room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MiataCruiser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

855 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    559
    215
    47
    22
    12
See reviews for
187
403
26
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (211)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2012

Just before coming to Stoney Creek Inn, my car stalled because I had gotten water in the tank. One of the staff members, from the hotel, volunteered to pick me up and provided me with information on a tow services, car repair services, etc. When I got to the hotel, another staff member was actually kind enough to look at my engine and help diagnose the problem. I have never, in my life, experienced such a helpful staff. The staff helped make my trip really wonderful, despite such a rough beginning. I can't say enough good things about this hotel and the people who work for it.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mary P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, IL
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 May 2012

We had five women on an overnight stay to celebrate each of us turning '65' within the next few months. When we walked into Stoney Creek Inn we were greeted by Shawn who took such great care of us. Not everyone takes the time to visit and talk to you as you check in. Shawn made us laugh and we were able to get off to a wonderful start! We had two rooms. The extended king had a wonderful area where we could all sit and visit and share our snacks and stories. The rooms were very neat and clean. You felt as though you were in the Northwoods and it was very nice and relaxing. Breakfast the next day was delicious. We all loved making our own waffles. Everything was exceptionally clean and staff was very helpful. The pool area was very clean and one of the women was able to enjoy the hot tub and pool. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1luckylady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2012 via mobile

Since we didn't get into BB but ended up in a nice place any way
The inn has an interesting North woods and golf theme.
Expect to encounter plenty of bears !
The staff was very courteous helpful and ran a tight ship.
We had our own dinner heated in the the room microwave, we ate in the breakfast room.
Nice sitting area in the front and side. Swimming pool hot tub and sauna
Just on the city outskirts. You will want to drive the 3 min back into town.

Stayed May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Taufiq H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chicago IL
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2012

My boyfriend and I went to Galena, IL for a fun weekend getaway and Stoney Creek Inn set teh stage for a wonderful trip as soon as we checked in. The hotel staff were great - everyone is very friendly and helpful. Additionally, the property is immaculate! I was surprised by how clean everything was...and I loved the decor; everything from the lobby to the guestrooms to the pool area is so well done. Clearly, not one detail was overlooked in setting the atmosphere of the facility. Kudos, Stoney Creek Inn!! Thank you for such a great weekend and I hope come back and do it again!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nadia w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zion
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2012

My wife and I were on the last leg of our trip on our way back home to eastern Illinois from California, Made the reservation the night before at Stoney Creek. It looked like a nice place on the web site, it was in historic Galena, had a room with a Jacuzzi tub for two (a must as it was my wife's birthday) and an off-season price that was very attractive. We have never been more pleasantly surprised upon walking in our room. Outstanding accommodations - super comfortable bed, furnished in rustic furniture made from tree limbs, awesome Jacuzzi tub...can't say enough nice things. The staff and the common areas of the Inn were spectacular as well. What a great place!! Can't recommend this place high enough. It was the highlight of our trip and that includes the accommodations we had in Las Vegas. Would absolutely stay there again and we will on our next trip.

Room Tip: Themed rooms are the way to go. Larger rooms, Jacuzzis, all the perks at a very reasonable price...e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Todd P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Red Wing, Minnesota
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2012

Very nice Deluxe King room. Bed was comfortable. TV with multiple stations. We did not try the breakfast which is included in the cost of the room. Easy parking. Location is a little ways from Main Street, but fine.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galena hotels
1.2 mi away
Ramada Galena Hotel and Day Spa
1.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Galena IL
1.6 mi away
Best Western Designer Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
Chestnut Mountain Resort
5.5 mi away
Eagle Ridge Resort & Spa
7.1 mi away
Worldmark Galena
Worldmark Galena
#8 of 11 in Galena
94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stoney Creek Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stoney Creek Inn

Property: Stoney Creek Inn
Address: 940 Galena Square Dr, Galena, IL 61036-1361 (Formerly Stoney Creek Inn Galena)
Region: United States > Illinois > Galena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Galena
#2 Business Hotel in Galena
#5 Family Hotel in Galena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Stoney Creek Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gravitate to Galena. After a wonderful day shopping more than 100 antique stores, marveling at historic 19th-century architecture, playing a round of championship golf, hitting the slopes or experiencing one of Galena's many unique restaurants, the Stoney Creek Hotel rooms and theme suites are the perfect place to unwind. Relax by the fire or in our indoor heated pool. We look forward to your arrival. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Cancelon, Agoda and getaroom.com so you can book your Stoney Creek Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stoney Creek Inn Galena Hotel Galena
Stoney Creek Galena
Stoney Creek Hotel Galena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing