We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Northwoods theme”
Review of Stoney Creek Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Stoney Creek Inn
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Galena
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 December 2012

The staff was very friendly and greeted us as we entered the door. The breakfast was very good
with a nice selection of food and drink and the cheese omelets were great. We had a nice clean quiet room on the second floor. We will go here again. Trip Advisor gave us a great rate on the room.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank J S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (886)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

606 - 612 of 886 reviews

Reviewed 25 December 2012

My wife and I stayed here for a weekend after dropping off our son in Dubuque for drum and bugle corps band camp. I wasn't sure what to expect, since my wife booked the room. We reserved the fireplace suite and was very happy with the accomodations. The suite has a coffee maker, a refigerator-freezer, two TVs and a gas fireplace.

The location is several minutes from downtown Galena by car. The hotel decor is that of a northwoods cabin. It has a nice feel. We did not eat at the restaurant, but did eat at the complimentary breakfast room. They offer warm biscuits and gravy, make-your-own waffles, assorted cereals, hard boiled eggs, yogurt, bagels, english muffins, toast and jam. Of course there is coffee and juice. Skim milk available too.

Our weekend here was terrific. It is a very quiet feel and the staff was very nice and accomodating.

Room Tip: get the fireplace suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ITThom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2012

Ignore the strip mall that sits next door to it, and the chain-hotel looking exterior. Once inside, you will find a clean, cozy, bear and wilderness theme decorated comfort zone for you, your family, and yes, Fido. Just a half mile up the hil from the main street of Galena, this hotel offers a bottom level that welcomes dogs. There is a separate entrance and relieving area, and a dog treat bag is in each room. Those not with pets or families may want to be on the next level up, near the enclosed and nicely heated pool (bring swimsuit or they sell in lobby), sauna and large rock decorated hot tub: a welcome sight after a long day of hiking , biking or walking through the town with its many historic sights. Check out the dog friendly trail in town near the river bridge parking lot. Daily breakfast with waffles in the entry level breakfast room. There is even a small bar in the lobby with wine tastings, beer and ESPN for Dad to follow the games ! Helpful staff. Good value here.

Room Tip: Depends on your needs: sub floor for dogs (private entrance), near pool with kids, upstairs for priv...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chicago55Chicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2012

We were looking for a relaxing weekend away from the hub-bub yet close enough to Galena, IL for great food and activities. We could not have picked a better place. The rooms are very nice, pool is great and hot tub is just perfect. We enjoyed not only Galena but also Dubuque, IA. Will definately stay again.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2012

Well I read a few poor reviews online and since I have been to a different Stoney Creek before and found it to be 1st class, so we gave this one a try. We were not disappointed. It's close to downtown.The staff was exceptional. Cleanliness, quality and value were all present. The included breakfast was better than expected, quality (but limited) food. We really enjoyed our stay and will be back for sure. We used to stay at Eagle Ridge but "NO MORE".

Room Tip: Spend the couple "extra bucks" (literally) for the "Deluxe" room, they come with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeff M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2012

We have been coming to Galena for many years. The Stoney Creek Inn was not built on our first 2 trips but as soon as they were open for business we stayed there and have been returning every year. We love the décor (Bears, Moose etc.) and the outdoor scenery that goes with that. In the past few years as we enter our room we are greeted with a stuffed animal guest to keep us company. This year it was Pee Wee the crocodile. The breakfast they offer is great. We have never had a problem with the staff’s service and feel the prices are fair.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jack K, Vise President of Corporate Support Services at Stoney Creek Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2012

Mr. G, Thank you so much for your kind remarks. We work hard every day to insure that each and every guest who has honored us with their confidence by selecting our property is provided a positive and memorable experience. It’s great to know that our efforts are appreciated almost as much as we appreciate your loyalty. Thanks again and Happy Holidays!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2012

We went to Stoney Creek Inn for my husbands and stayed in the Premier Suite and added the Romance Package which included a bottle of champagne, two keepsake flutes, a box of Godiva chocolates and you do not have to check out until 1pm. We had an absolutely wonderful time and cannot wait to go back in the spring so we can enjoy downtown Galena.

The staff are some of the best we have ever had the good fortune to deal with. The room was impecable, with a wonderful bed, steam shower and cozy fireplace. The breakfast in the morning was great with a large variety of cold and hot items. The coffee was by far the best we have ever had at a hotel.

I saw a few reviews that were critical of the decor, all I can say to that is if you looked at the pictures and didn't like it you shouldn't have gone there. It was very theme oriented but in a wonderfully homey way. We did not use the pool or hot tub but went down to look at it and it was the best we have ever seen. If you are going to say in Galena stay at Stoney Creek Inn.

Room Tip: The Premire Suite is the way to go, it is spacious and on the back side so no road noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank osborne1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galena hotels
1.2 mi away
Ramada Galena Hotel and Day Spa
1.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Radisson, Galena, IL
1.6 mi away
Best Western Designer Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
Longhollow Point Inn
Longhollow Point Inn
#11 of 11 in Galena
23 reviews
5.5 mi away
Eagle Ridge Resort & Spa
7.6 mi away
Chestnut Mountain Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stoney Creek Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stoney Creek Inn

Address: 940 Galena Square Dr, Galena, IL 61036-1361 (Formerly Stoney Creek Inn Galena)
Region: United States > Illinois > Galena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Galena
#2 Business Hotel in Galena
#5 Family Hotel in Galena
Price Range: £64 - £117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Stoney Creek Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gravitate to Galena. After a wonderful day shopping more than 100 antique stores, marveling at historic 19th-century architecture, playing a round of championship golf, hitting the slopes or experiencing one of Galena's many unique restaurants, the Stoney Creek Hotel rooms and theme suites are the perfect place to unwind. Relax by the fire or in our indoor heated pool. We look forward to your arrival. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, getaroom.com, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Stoney Creek Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stoney Creek Inn Galena Hotel Galena
Stoney Creek Galena
Stoney Creek Hotel Galena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing