We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice romantic fireplace suite”
Review of Stoney Creek Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Stoney Creek Inn
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Galena
Certificate of Excellence
Antioch
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Nice romantic fireplace suite”
Reviewed 24 April 2013

My husband and I went to Galena to celebrate our 1 year anniversary. He wanted to leave a day early and we were able to find this place with a fireplace suite that even had a little kitchen/bar area. The price was very reasonable for the room and the decor was rustic and romantic. We were very comfortable. The staff was very friendly and upbeat. The only thing that kept us from giving an "excellent" rating is that there was a birthday party going on that night (in the breakfast area) right below our room and it was a little loud. Would visit again.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Melissa F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

856 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    560
    215
    47
    22
    12
See reviews for
187
404
26
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (211)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2013

We stayed in one of the themed suites with a whirlpool tub and fire place. The room was great with a small kitchen /bar area. The pool was very nice and had a outdoor deck area for people who want to sit outside. Free wifi throughout the hotel was great and fast. We will definitely stay here again on our next visit.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tim A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manitowoc
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2013

My husband and I were in charge of planning a group trip to Galena. We found the management and staff at Stoney Creek to be friendly and helpful before we even got there. They welcomed our group like we were family coming for a visit. Check in took no time at all and all weekend the staff was so helpful answering questions always with a smile. We loved being able to gather in the breakfast area to meet and play games in the evening. Our rooms were clean and all the public areas are clean and well kept. This was our 3rd stay and we will be back.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carol E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manitowoc, Wisconsin
1 review
Reviewed 21 April 2013

Just got home from a great weekend in Galena. The weather was so so, but Stoney Creek Inn was wonderful. Super friendly helpful staff, the lady at the front desk offered to call the restaurant for us when we wanted to order pizza delivered for dinner. Check in and out was a breeze. Good location, easy to get downtown. We took several road trips through the hills and ridges around Galena and this was a great place to start from and return to. Our room was clean, comfortable, very spacious and had cute decorations. Breakfast was good, liked the coffee avaliable 24/7. The lobby was comfortable and was a good gathering place for the group we were traveling with.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grayslake, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2013

This is the 2nd time we have stayed at this hotel. It is clean, the staff friendly and helpful and the breakfast delicious. We would recommend this hotel. Good location to Galena. Pool for kids. Galena is beautiful any time of year. The price of the room was an excellent price and you get a wonderful breakfast of waffles, biscuits and gravy, muffins, toast, bagels, English muffins, juices, coffee cereal, milk, yogurt, hard boil eggs to name a few. It was quiet and comfortable. Cute outdoor decor.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Denise F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sioux City, Iowa, United States
1 review
Reviewed 21 April 2013

My wife and I travel the country doing school assemblies and I booked this hotel for our wedding anniversary. We stayed in one of their whirlpool suites and it was awesome! It was clean and the bed was comfy. Have no complaints at all. My wife was sick the next day and I didn't want to move her too much, but we couldn't afford a whirlpool suite again for another night, so I spoke with the manager about helping us out and he was able to get us into a nice room that we could afford for that night. That room was also great. Both rooms felt nice and clean and were well kept. I would recommend this hotel to anybody. Being on the road so much you get into all kinds of hotels/motels and this was one of my favorites by far!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hinshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sherwood, Wisconsin
Level 6 Contributor
528 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 230 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2013

Our club stayed 2 nights as we enjoyed the local scenic roads and Galena. The location was perfect as it is just a short hop to downtown. And the staff is outstanding, Some folks used the breakfast bar for cards at night, and I have to say it's one of the nicest breakfast areas in any hotel I've stayed in. Breakfast in the morning is the usual continental with biscuits and gravy on the days we stayed. We did not try them but there is a Mexican and a Chinese Buffet adjacent, as well as a McDonalds, though with all the outstanding restaurants in Galena, most will likely take the short drive to one of the top rated places. No elevator, so you need ground floor if stairs are a problem. Rooms are spacious and very nice.

Room Tip: Downstairs if stairs are a problem.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank z0607
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galena hotels
1.2 mi away
Ramada Galena Hotel and Day Spa
1.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Galena IL
1.6 mi away
Best Western Designer Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
Chestnut Mountain Resort
5.5 mi away
Eagle Ridge Resort & Spa
7.1 mi away
Worldmark Galena
Worldmark Galena
#8 of 11 in Galena
94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stoney Creek Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stoney Creek Inn

Property: Stoney Creek Inn
Address: 940 Galena Square Dr, Galena, IL 61036-1361 (Formerly Stoney Creek Inn Galena)
Region: United States > Illinois > Galena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Galena
#2 Business Hotel in Galena
#5 Family Hotel in Galena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Stoney Creek Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gravitate to Galena. After a wonderful day shopping more than 100 antique stores, marveling at historic 19th-century architecture, playing a round of championship golf, hitting the slopes or experiencing one of Galena's many unique restaurants, the Stoney Creek Hotel rooms and theme suites are the perfect place to unwind. Relax by the fire or in our indoor heated pool. We look forward to your arrival. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Agoda so you can book your Stoney Creek Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stoney Creek Inn Galena Hotel Galena
Stoney Creek Galena
Stoney Creek Hotel Galena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing