We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wedding in Galena” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Stoney Creek Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Stoney Creek Inn
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Galena
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Wedding in Galena”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2013

I chose this hotel because of reviews I read on Trip Advisor. Every thing was great. Perfect location to Main St. Fifteen miles to Dubuque IA. The Hotel was very clean, friendly staff, especially Kathy. The King Size room was like a suite. I am definitely going back!

Room Tip: There was not a restaurant on site. However, there was fast food and a grocery store across the stre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BeaMcde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

813 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    533
    202
    45
    21
    12
See reviews for
175
384
24
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (201)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Burlington, Iowa
Level Contributor
64 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Stoney Creek Inn for the night on a long weekend trip. I rented a theme suite. We were very impressed, the hotel is extremely clean and comfortable. The room was very large and very nicely maintained. Everything worked as it should, the fireplace, the jacuzzi, etc. In fact, after staying at many places with jacuzzi tubs in the room, this was one of the best, The tub was large and very powerful jets, very relaxing. Plenty of big fluffy towels and nice toiletries provided. Nice linens, plenty of pillows, comfortable bed, upgraded flat screen tv. The pool area was very nice. This hotel was also very quiet, no noise entered room from hallways or other rooms. At checkout, Kathy was kind enough to check on my travelers program questions I had for her. The service was very good, everyone very friendly. The only complaint was the TV service, the only channels that worked really well were the analog channels, even though the channels list in the room showed a whole list of channels we should have received. We contacted the front desk and we were told it was due to the weather, it was raining outside. Although the next morning it was nice and sunny, but the channels still did not work correctly. All in all, this hotel is an excellent value.

Room Tip: Theme suites are large and charming, an excellent value for the cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank R B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2013

This is the second time my wife and I stayed at Stoney Creek. The first time was 2 years ago for the Galena October fest and the stay was great. My wife and I really enjoyed the service and decided that we wanted to stay there again for our wedding we had just last weekend. We stayed in the Premier Suit and the service was absolutely above and beyond. The employees at the hotel treated us like we were the most important guests in the hotel. They made sure that they tended to our every need. They even offered a room on the house for a back up plan for our wedding if it rained. We are definitely going to stay there again. This place is amazing, clean, and very friendly. Thank you for making our stay one to remember.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ken T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, Colorado, United States
Level Contributor
105 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2013

After our 13 hour drive to Galena, Kathy of the Stoney Creek Inn greeted us warmly, helpedus to select a room, and offered to help us find a restaurant for dinner. Breakfast was adequate - no fruit or meat.
The people of Galena made me want to move there.

Room Tip: The fridges have freezers. Our inside room (#13) was very very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Donna H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
minnesota
Level Contributor
140 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2013

This was the second time we stayed at Stoney Creek Inn. The place was clean, beds comfortable. Gone is the sign about writing a review for trip advisors. The windows opened to let fresh air into the room and lots of towels in the bathroom. The staff person we checked in with was all business. The last time we stayed the staff was all about customer service and satisfaction. Her name was Judy.

Room Tip: upgrade to suite on the corners of the building. More light.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank erameram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jack K, Vice President of Corporate Support Services at Stoney Creek Inn, responded to this review, 1 October 2013
Dear erameram, Thank you for the continued visits with Stoney Creek Inn and your kind words. Our company is all about customer satisfaction and wanting our guests to feel comfortable. Your usual happy experience is always our goal and we are not sure why you received the response you did during your last visit. We hope you come back and visit again so we can reinforce your comfort level.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lubbock, Texas
Level Contributor
174 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2013

Extremely pleasant, friendly and knowledgeable front desk staff!! Wee had no difficulty with our check-in other than a requested ground floor was not available. Decor is "north-woodsy" with lots of logs, finished pine and stuffed bears etc. throughout...maybe to the extreme. The location is on a hill about a mile outside of the historic downtown & shopping area but share a parking lot convenient to a grocery store, shops and a couple of restaurants.
Our double bedded room was fairly compact but quite comfortable with an easy chair, usual desk/chair etc. No refrigerator or microwave. The bath was extremely small but adequate.
One of our nights fell on a weekend and we felt that rate to be high for the area.
Breakfast was "ok" but not elaborate and certainly not accommodating of healthy diets with the exception of cereal, juice and yogurt. The fresh brewed coffee in the breakfast was quite good ,and after the first morning skipped the room brew which IMHO was NOT.

Room Tip: Strongly suggest you request a ground floor room. There are no elevators and the stairs are very na...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GeorgeTX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago Ridge, Illinois
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2013

We had a last minute change of vacation plans. We viewed and booked the Stoney Creek Inn based on its reviews. I was a little apprehensive because it looked like just a small country inn. When we arrived the property seemed well kept and interestingly enough it was on the same piece of land as a strip mall with a Piggly Wiggly. We walked through the doors to see a warm, woodsy themed interior. We were warmly greeted by the receptionist, given the late hour we arrived who pointed out the services the hotel offered its guests. I was surprised to learn of a little bar and gift shop next to the reception area, run by the clerk who stated she would be happy to serve us until 1A.M(liquor license hours). We entered our room to find an inviting decor,golf themed with at least a 40inch flat screne t.v., plenty of storage space for our clothes and plenty of clean towels in the bath. We located the pool and found the water was at a perfect temperature, not ice cold. The hot tub was perfect and large enough for at least 10 people. There were no hot protein options for bteakfast but they had hot and cold cereals, muffins, toast and biscuits and gravy. We have stayed in Galena on several occasions and in different hotels. Our stay at this hotel ranks with some of the best Galena has to offer.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galena hotels
1.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Galena IL
1.2 mi away
Ramada Galena Hotel and Day Spa
1.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Designer Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Eagle Ridge Resort & Spa
7.1 mi away
Worldmark Galena
Worldmark Galena
#8 of 11 in Galena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
7.6 mi away
Chestnut Mountain Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stoney Creek Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stoney Creek Inn

Property: Stoney Creek Inn
Address: 940 Galena Square Dr., Galena, IL 61036 (Formerly Stoney Creek Inn Galena)
Region: United States > Illinois > Galena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Galena
#2 Business Hotel in Galena
#5 Family Hotel in Galena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Stoney Creek Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gravitate to Galena. After a wonderful day shopping more than 100 antique stores, marveling at historic 19th-century architecture, playing a round of championship golf, hitting the slopes or experiencing one of Galena's many unique restaurants, the Stoney Creek Hotel rooms and theme suites are the perfect place to unwind. Relax by the fire or in our indoor heated pool. We look forward to your arrival. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Stoney Creek Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stoney Creek Inn Galena Hotel Galena
Stoney Creek Galena
Stoney Creek Hotel Galena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing