We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stoney Creek Inn”
Review of Stoney Creek Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Stoney Creek Inn
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Galena
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 October 2013

The room was very clean with nice décor. The bathroom is a little small but still nice. They have a continental breakfast which was typical and nothing more. Plenty of seating room in breakfast area. Staff was very friendly.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jimncorinne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (883)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

467 - 473 of 883 reviews

Reviewed 21 October 2013

My cousin and I took a three night get a way and enjoyed our stay very much. The prices are quite affordable and the accommodations are clean and comfortable. It is decorated in a log cabin, golf, woodsy motif, nothing terribly fancy, but comfortable and clean. There are several small areas for groups to gather, the small lounge, dining area, outside patio, fireplace sitting area in the lobby or the pool area.

The hotel staff were all very friendly and helpful.

Stoney Creek is located a short 5 min drive from downtown Galena, which makes it an optimal distance for what the downtown district has to offer. It is also next to a McDonalds and Piggly Wiggly Mart, so finding provisions or a late night snack is very easy. It is also a short 30 minute drive to Dubuque if you are interested in going to that down or the Casino.

My only suggestion would be to expand and add additional "hot breakfast" items to the morning offerings.

I would definitely recommend this hotel and would stay there again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JoeyG0816
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2013

We spent a lovely fall weekend in Galena at the Stoney Creek Inn! They welcomed us and our dog, Tiki, in a specially-appointed room, including a "welcome gift" for Tiki and food and water bowls in the room for her. Staff were all very friendly and helpful!!

Room Tip: We got the AAA rate. Very reasonable!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pauljen09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013 via mobile

This a beautiful hotel. Although you aren't in the hills or historic downtown, it's nicely located and nicely decorated and clean. We've stayed 2 times and have never been disappointed. Rooms are spacious. Nice amenities. Complimentary breakfast.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CostValue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2013

This was our tenth stay at Stony Creek and needless to say we will keep coming back. Clean, comfortable, friendly and great coffee! Such a nice break for a long weekend. My husband really enjoys the pool area and hot tub.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
1  Thank Theresa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

I chose this hotel because of reviews I read on Trip Advisor. Every thing was great. Perfect location to Main St. Fifteen miles to Dubuque IA. The Hotel was very clean, friendly staff, especially Kathy. The King Size room was like a suite. I am definitely going back!

Room Tip: There was not a restaurant on site. However, there was fast food and a grocery store across the stre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BeaMcde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Stoney Creek Inn for the night on a long weekend trip. I rented a theme suite. We were very impressed, the hotel is extremely clean and comfortable. The room was very large and very nicely maintained. Everything worked as it should, the fireplace, the jacuzzi, etc. In fact, after staying at many places with jacuzzi tubs in the room, this was one of the best, The tub was large and very powerful jets, very relaxing. Plenty of big fluffy towels and nice toiletries provided. Nice linens, plenty of pillows, comfortable bed, upgraded flat screen tv. The pool area was very nice. This hotel was also very quiet, no noise entered room from hallways or other rooms. At checkout, Kathy was kind enough to check on my travelers program questions I had for her. The service was very good, everyone very friendly. The only complaint was the TV service, the only channels that worked really well were the analog channels, even though the channels list in the room showed a whole list of channels we should have received. We contacted the front desk and we were told it was due to the weather, it was raining outside. Although the next morning it was nice and sunny, but the channels still did not work correctly. All in all, this hotel is an excellent value.

Room Tip: Theme suites are large and charming, an excellent value for the cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank R B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galena hotels
1.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Radisson, Galena, IL
1.2 mi away
Ramada Galena Hotel and Day Spa
1.6 mi away
Best Western Designer Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
Longhollow Point Inn
Longhollow Point Inn
#11 of 11 in Galena
23 reviews
5.5 mi away
Eagle Ridge Resort & Spa
7.6 mi away
Chestnut Mountain Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stoney Creek Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stoney Creek Inn

Address: 940 Galena Square Dr, Galena, IL 61036-1361 (Formerly Stoney Creek Inn Galena)
Region: United States > Illinois > Galena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Galena
#2 Business Hotel in Galena
#5 Family Hotel in Galena
Price Range: £64 - £115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Stoney Creek Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gravitate to Galena. After a wonderful day shopping more than 100 antique stores, marveling at historic 19th-century architecture, playing a round of championship golf, hitting the slopes or experiencing one of Galena's many unique restaurants, the Stoney Creek Hotel rooms and theme suites are the perfect place to unwind. Relax by the fire or in our indoor heated pool. We look forward to your arrival. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), getaroom.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Stoney Creek Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stoney Creek Inn Galena Hotel Galena
Stoney Creek Galena
Stoney Creek Hotel Galena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing