We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Time”
Review of Stoney Creek Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Stoney Creek Inn
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Galena
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 April 2014

I have been staying at Stoney Creek for years. I have always had great service. Everyone has been very helpful and friendly. They have a great breakfast buffet. Great pool. I have stayed at most of the other hotels and keep coming back to Stoney Creek.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jennifer C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (865)
There are newer reviews for Stoney Creek Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

394 - 400 of 865 reviews

Reviewed 6 April 2014 via mobile

We've stayed at Stoney Creek multiple times and have never had any issues. We booked a themed suite for wine lovers weekend. The room was quite large and had a fireplace and whirlpool. The major gripe was that the room was at the very end of the main hallway, next to a parking lot door and under a staircase. We for the most part didn't hear any of the hall/stair traffic and if we did it wasn't bothersome. However, at 1am on the Saturday of wine fest a loud group carried on down the hall and up the stairs. This would have gone unnoticed if they hadn't knocked on doors down the hall and then ran up the stairs like a herd of elephants. We will stay at Stoney Creek in the future but will inquire about a quiet room. And will avoid wine lovers weekend.

Breakfast was good. Staff was friendly. Room and property were very clean.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank lovetochill10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2014

Originally we stayed at this hotel during Wine Lovers Weekend (last weekend in March) because of the location. It is next door to the convention center where the Grand Tasting takes place. Now we stay there whenever we visit Galena. Rustic theme through out. Pool, hot tub, exercise room and free serve yourself breakfast (variety of breads and muffins for toasting, coffee, juices, cereals, biscuits and gravy, etc) in the common room. Only disappointment was they stopped including waffles on the weekends. Very friendly and accommodating staff.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Banff22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014

We had an overnight stay here for a Wine Lovers festival right next door at the convention center. The decor is rustic - woodsy feel. The staff was extremely nice and accomodating. A bit pricey for 1 night, but a very nice stay. The rooms we clean and continued the rustic theme. We did not get a chance to try the pool, but the area was nicely done as well.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BiolaParent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2014

We just stayed at Stoney Creek Inn this past weekend. I booked a fireplace suite last October not knowing until last week it was Wine Lovers Weekend. We have stayed in the past and it was a wonderful relaxing weekend so I had no problem with booking the same location this visit. Our room was a fireplace suite at the end of a hallway at a entrance and exit door. It did cross my mind on entering the room that this may not be a good location for quiet time but thought would give it a try. Friday night was no sleep as the convention center had an event on one side of our room so vehicles and very loud trolley until quite late. Once everyone came back to inn the entrance and exit door was so busy not to mention the ashtray outside our window. Saturday night seemed quiet until 1:26 am when we had another few people having a fun weekend meeting outside our window to smoke and party as well as inside the door at our door when they came back inside. The
Pint is make sure when you do book a room at a higher price theme suite you are not in a corner at the door or the stairs! Needless to say no relaxing for us, would have slept better at home!

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
Thank Paula W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2014

I found this hotel on Tripadvisor and Yelp. Seeing the good reviews, photos, etc. I booked it (with a great tripadvisor discount) for a two day trip with my daughter. This hotel exceeded my expectations!! Once inside, it felt like a lodge in Colorado or the mountains. Everything was clean and well thought out. The room (a king fireplace suite) was huge, immaculate, and had just about everything we needed. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful, and the pool looked wonderful although we did not use it. The breakfast was the average "upgraded" continental, but was fine. I always wish they included a few more healthy options...like whole grain breads, more fresh fruit, and almond milk, but this was fine for us. I will definitely recc. it (already have to a few people), and hope to make it back there!

Room Tip: I don't know about the standard rooms, but the king suite was great!
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ninag647
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2014

We went for a weekend with our dog. As we enter our room we saw 2 bowels of water and food for our dog and some treats that our dog latter enjoyed very much.
This hotel is designed beautifully and in a very warm and welcoming way.
There is a swimming pool and a hot tub as well. The feeling we got from this place is that it is a very intimate and quiet little hotel that makes you want to stay for a while and definitely worth coming back to.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ShokoLoco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galena hotels
1.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Galena IL
1.2 mi away
Ramada Galena Hotel and Day Spa
1.6 mi away
Best Western Designer Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Eagle Ridge Resort & Spa
7.6 mi away
Chestnut Mountain Resort
7.4 mi away
Worldmark Galena
Worldmark Galena
#8 of 11 in Galena
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stoney Creek Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stoney Creek Inn

Address: 940 Galena Square Dr, Galena, IL 61036-1361 (Formerly Stoney Creek Inn Galena)
Region: United States > Illinois > Galena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Galena
#2 Business Hotel in Galena
#5 Family Hotel in Galena
Price Range: £72 - £122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Stoney Creek Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gravitate to Galena. After a wonderful day shopping more than 100 antique stores, marveling at historic 19th-century architecture, playing a round of championship golf, hitting the slopes or experiencing one of Galena's many unique restaurants, the Stoney Creek Hotel rooms and theme suites are the perfect place to unwind. Relax by the fire or in our indoor heated pool. We look forward to your arrival. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Stoney Creek Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stoney Creek Inn Galena Hotel Galena
Stoney Creek Galena
Stoney Creek Hotel Galena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing