We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful As Always!!”
Review of Stoney Creek Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Stoney Creek Inn
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Galena
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 May 2014

This was the 3rd time we stayed at Stoney Creek Inn in Galena, IL and they never disappoint. We have stayed in the Prem Suite each time it is wonderful with a soaker tub, steam shower and a fridge/microwave. As usual the Inn was clean and the staff was probably the nicest group of people we have ever encountered at any hotel/inn. It is really a wonderful place to stay if you are going to the Galena area or just for a night away.

Room Tip: The Prem Suite is more expensive but it is a two room suite with a great tub, steam shower and a fri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank osborne1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (886)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

406 - 412 of 886 reviews

Reviewed 17 May 2014

A group of us stayed at Stoney Creek Inn while we were attending a conference nearby. The staff was so friendly and accommodating, especially Kathy and Ann. My room was clean, quiet, spacious, and comfortable. Enjoyed the breakfasts and the bar. A great place to stay if you visit the tri-state area. Hospitable people, inviting atmosphere.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Marci19682014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2014

I stayed at the Galena Stoney Creek hotel for two nights in May with my traveling companion, my pug Chucky. What a wonderful experience. The hotel staff went out of their way to make both of us feel very welcome. It is, by far, the quietest and most comfortable hotel we have stayed in ever. I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joanne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Some friends and myself decided to stay at Stoney Creek while visiting Galena in March. We checked in with ease with a very friendly and funny front desk clerk. We went around the corner to get a beer and she introduced herself again as our bartender. Too funny!
The next morning the front desk clerk was kind enough to split our room cost so each of us could pay our portion.
It was a wonderful stay as always and I always look forward to coming back.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stefanie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

I just got back from Stoney Creek in Galena. My boyfriend and I went for a romantic weekend away. The place was great! We stayed in the whirlpool/fireplace suite. It was very nice and cozy. The staff there was very friendly and helpful. Paying the $40 extra for late check out and champagne was great. I loved not having to rush out of there by 11am. Definitely would stay again even though the town of Galena itself was not all the entertaining, it was nice to just hang out down there for the day.

Room Tip: Get a room with a whirlpool. But try not to get a room where you are below a whirlpool. You can hear...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sharmcc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

We traveled with a large group that reserved rooms FAR in advance of our visit. My husband and I reserved a ground room floor with a king size bed MONTHS in advance. We were given two full sized beds. The hotel only has king, full, and bunk beds and several in our group had reserved full and king in advance and received bunk beds. We didn't realize there were no queen beds on premise, but was not an issue since we were guaranteed a king (that we didn't get).

Another couple in our party required a handicapped room and were sent out to talk to us to see if we would trade. The clerk herself could not accommodate them and her solution was for them to ask us themselves. There are no elevators in this hotel chains, only steep carpeted stairs. In my opinion, the clerk did not do enough for this couple.

The saloon has three stools and three tables. No bartender (the clerks handle this when they are not manning the desk) and prices are STEEP. Almost had a coronary. Anything served straight up on ice (and only one shot) is $9. Make sure you are aware of the prices before they begin to pour! OK in a nightclub, but a tiny little convenience bar behind the front desk? It's a joke. I don't know why they even bother except to fool the consumer into thinking they have an actual pub on premise.

Food and drink not allowed in the pool area, and for the type of gathering we were having, a pool party is always a given, mostly because it is the largest area available to us. Most hotels will ban food but allow plastic in their pool area. Not here, and it is HIGHLY POLICED.

The common areas like the breakfast area and the fireplace area extremely small as well. Can seat up to 5 people around the fireplace. The whole area probably measure 6 feet by 10 feet. There is really no area large enough on the ground level for a medium or larger group to congregate

Staff was friendly enough, but the ones who were really trying to be accommodating were micromanaged by the supervisor on duty and usually could not accommodate our requests.

If you are going here only to sleep it was clean enough and proximity to downtown was fine without actually being in the city. If you are going here to relax, and enjoy motel time with a group of friends or a larger family, I'd highly recommend looking elsewhere. For what you pay, you could find a much nicer place to stay with better accommodations and friendlier management.

Room Tip: You won't get a good room even if you reserve it...they will guarantee on the phone and change t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kokomo4si
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Once again nothing but good things about Stoney Creek. Very friendly front desk staff. Pool and hot tub very inviting. Comfy beds. Missed the eggs and waffles for breakfast but otherwise good offerings. My husband was looking for another beaver stuffed animal to add to his collection, and Jorge was able to remember another room that had one! Way to go just to make a guest happy. Will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VickieJean68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jack K, Vice President of Corporate Support Services at Stoney Creek Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2014

Dear VickieJean, When I first saw two straight reviews titled ‘Great stay’ I thought maybe someone posted twice. It turns out the two reviews were from two different reviewers and that makes us proud. We have challenged ourselves to go from consistently giving customers a good stay to consistently creating a “GREAT’ stay and we are pleased that you and others are noticing. Thank you for sharing your thoughts and thank you for your loyalty!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galena hotels
1.2 mi away
Ramada Galena Hotel and Day Spa
1.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Radisson, Galena, IL
1.6 mi away
Best Western Designer Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
Longhollow Point Inn
Longhollow Point Inn
#11 of 11 in Galena
23 reviews
5.5 mi away
Eagle Ridge Resort & Spa
7.6 mi away
Chestnut Mountain Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stoney Creek Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stoney Creek Inn

Address: 940 Galena Square Dr, Galena, IL 61036-1361 (Formerly Stoney Creek Inn Galena)
Region: United States > Illinois > Galena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Galena
#2 Business Hotel in Galena
#5 Family Hotel in Galena
Price Range: £63 - £117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Stoney Creek Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gravitate to Galena. After a wonderful day shopping more than 100 antique stores, marveling at historic 19th-century architecture, playing a round of championship golf, hitting the slopes or experiencing one of Galena's many unique restaurants, the Stoney Creek Hotel rooms and theme suites are the perfect place to unwind. Relax by the fire or in our indoor heated pool. We look forward to your arrival. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Stoney Creek Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stoney Creek Inn Galena Hotel Galena
Stoney Creek Galena
Stoney Creek Hotel Galena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing