We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient and Nice Hotel in Galena”
Review of Stoney Creek Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Stoney Creek Inn
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Galena
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 August 2014

This was a very last minute getaway, so we chose a hotel pretty much based on price and location to Main Street in Galena. From the moment we checked in until the time we checked out, the staff was very helpful and friendly. The room was very clean, spacious, and comfortable! The breakfast in the morning before heading out to explore was very nice! We would definitely recommend this hotel and would likely stay here again if in the area.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Alyssa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (886)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

369 - 375 of 886 reviews

Reviewed 14 August 2014 via mobile

This hotel is close to town and is clean and comfortable. The rates are decent and staff was welcoming. The rooms have and outdoorsy theme and were nice sized. We did not the pool but it looked great if you bring the kids.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank phrjeff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Stayed for the first time for three nights. Was in a "Themed Suite" which was cheesy to say the least. I hate whirlpool tubs as the focal point of the living area and this is all you can get. The room were very noisy and every time anyone staying is the rooms next to us or above us flushed a toilet, ran a tub or a shower, it sounded like they were inthe same room as us. This porperty charges way too much for the rooms and the location is not the best. The view we had was looking at another set of rooms about 12 feet away. Out the front of the hotel you could sit and watch the trafic in and out of the Piggly Wiggly or McDonalds. I will say that the room was clean however.

Room Tip: I cannot think of a room that would be all around "good"
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jimc82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014

You just can't beat the service, cleanliness, quiet or the breakfast here. The location is great, the pool comfortable and the staff always ready to help in any way. We have stayed at this property several times through the past few years and it always exceeds our expectations.

Room Tip: There is no elevator so choose a 1st floor room if you have too much to bring in. The staff offered...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Cajeho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

My family stayed at this hotel over the fourth of July (11 family members - - 5 rooms) and had an awesome time. Booking the reservation was very easy and the booking staff was polite and professional. In advance of the visit the hotel was helpful in providing local details and information specific to the holiday weekend. This information was very important as we planned our activities. The front desk receptionist, Judy, was very professional and friendly. Judy was very patient and organized as she arranged each of the room assignments and obtained guest information for each room. One of the staff members, Alex, did an outstanding job leaving the rooms gleaming clean and was very polite and eager to satisfy. When we needed additional blankets, Alex stopped what he was doing and brought us a blanket, fresh linen, and towels. We appreciated him going above and beyond to make our visit there exceptional!

Room Tip: The theme rooms are very nice. Cost a little more, but worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MJBWashingtonDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

My friend and I stayed here one night on August 3. I was so pleasantly surprised at our room as sometimes when you stay at a hotel that allows pets, it doesn't smell very good. This room was so clean and wonderful! There was pet information for the area, dog bowls and a treat for our dog. I believe they have certain rooms that are set aside for those with pets. We wish we had gotten there earlier! The staff is so friendly and helpful! I would definitely stay here again and I recommend it highly, whether you have a pet or not!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bridesmother33330
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We went to Galena for a couple days with friends and stayed at Stoney Creek Hotel.
It is decorated really neat and it is so clean. We love the decor. They have breakfast and it was a very good. The staff were all helpful and friendly.
It is a convenient location. Close to downtown and golf courses.
Women happy for shopping and guys happy for golf ;)

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank karenskaar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galena hotels
1.2 mi away
Ramada Galena Hotel and Day Spa
1.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Radisson, Galena, IL
1.6 mi away
Best Western Designer Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
Longhollow Point Inn
Longhollow Point Inn
#11 of 11 in Galena
23 reviews
5.5 mi away
Eagle Ridge Resort & Spa
7.6 mi away
Chestnut Mountain Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stoney Creek Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stoney Creek Inn

Address: 940 Galena Square Dr, Galena, IL 61036-1361 (Formerly Stoney Creek Inn Galena)
Region: United States > Illinois > Galena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Galena
#2 Business Hotel in Galena
#5 Family Hotel in Galena
Price Range: £63 - £117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Stoney Creek Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gravitate to Galena. After a wonderful day shopping more than 100 antique stores, marveling at historic 19th-century architecture, playing a round of championship golf, hitting the slopes or experiencing one of Galena's many unique restaurants, the Stoney Creek Hotel rooms and theme suites are the perfect place to unwind. Relax by the fire or in our indoor heated pool. We look forward to your arrival. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Stoney Creek Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stoney Creek Inn Galena Hotel Galena
Stoney Creek Galena
Stoney Creek Hotel Galena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing