We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Suitable”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Americas Best Value Inn- Galesburg
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Galesburg
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Suitable”
Reviewed 1 August 2014

Clean room. Recently renovated. Newer furnishings but with a mismatched dresser. Bed coverings are new, but scratchy so every time we rolled over during the night the bedspread made a sound. Air/heat unit a little on the noisy side. Could hear TV in the room next door.
Night clerk was friendly and very helpful. Breakfast was up to Super 8 Super Start expectations. Will stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rhonda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
super8motelgalesburg, Webmaster at Americas Best Value Inn- Galesburg, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Dear Guest,

I'm pleased that you found our property suitable for your needs and will stay with us again. We look forward to it. I apologize that our bedding and some other aspects of the room didn't fully meet your needs. We take note of all comments as we make future buying decisions, and your
comments will help us improve for future guests. While most guests find the bedding and other things in the room acceptable, I'm sorry you did not.

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    26
    66
    38
    29
    23
See reviews for
65
36
25
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Galesburg
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 June 2014

Even though we were told that the hotel had undergone a renovation in March, it wasn't really apparent. The exterior and the parking lot were downright "scary". I was reluctant to book at a Super 8 but considering their claim of recent renovation and their price I took a chance. Will not make that mistake again. I must say the evening clerk was extremely nice and helpful.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8

Helpful?
Thank Debi R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
super8motelgalesburg, Webmaster at Americas Best Value Inn- Galesburg, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thanks for your kind comments about our evening desk clerk, but I'm troubled to hear that you were not impressed with the quality of the property. We have indeed made changes and improvements designed to make the rooms and the property nicer and to improve security and some amenities. Many other guests have made positive comments about these changes, and I sincerely apologize that we did not meet your needs. We're pleased with the safe and comfortable property we provide and only wish there was some way we could have satisfied you.

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Galesburg hotels

Columbia, Missouri
1 review
Reviewed 29 May 2014

The room stank. The only way we could tolerate the room was to have the outside air unit and bathroom exhaust fan on all night long. The sink would barely drain. There must be no insulation anywhere in the building because we could hear other guests talking all night long (over the noise of the fans we had on). The desk clerk, at checkout, could have cared less about what we told here about the horrible room and the noise.

Room Tip: Find somewhere else to stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ray h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teresa08670, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn- Galesburg, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Im sorry for your experience. This is completely unacceptable here. I wish you would have let us know as soon a you checked in. We have a 100% smoke free facility. I will investigate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonesboro, Arkansas
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014

Let me start by saying the only reason I stayed at this hotel was because my company have a lodging contract with them.
This hotel is, well to put it mildly; BAD!! It's very outdated with a poor breakfast area with house keepers that don't give two cents about properly cleaning your room.

The parking is terrible, there 's no space when the hotel is even half-full and half of the parking lot is made out of dirt. We stayed there during the winter and if you didn't have a four wheel drive then you was in trouble.

Back to the rooms; the bed had a permanent crease in it where other people have laid and when I talked to my co-workers they said the same thing. The bathroom had hair on the sink and in the tub. The mini fridge had left over food in it from the previous guest. And I could go on but I think you get the picture.

But the kicker was when I was on my way to the front desk to complain there was this lady that had a room there with these two Hugh Pit Bulls dogs. the problem was that only one was on a leash, the other one was roaming free throughout the hallway. The one the leash turn to attack me and the woman on the other end could barely hold it back. All of this was happening in front of the check-in desk while the manager was watching. She did nothing about the situation! She didn't care one bit!
I brought it up to her later on that day and all she said was "she stayed here before and that's never happen before". That was it. She must not have known that she and the owner would have been facing a possible lawsuit if I would have gotten attack. I guess she figured that the "Great" Hotel Chains of the Super 8 had enough money to sweep the situation under the carpet.

Bottom line is this: stay here if you want to but be prepared to face the consequences. Also, ask them to change your sheets as soon as you walk in the door. The house keepers take shortcuts and won't change the linen if they think the next guest won't notice that someone slept in the bed.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank K E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teresa08670, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn- Galesburg, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
Mr. E.
As you well know your com[pany inspects us for quality and cleanliness on a regular basis, which shows a few of your remarks are not qualified as trustworthy. 99.9 % of the guys from your company are very happy with our establishment. We go out of our way to accommodate them. Yes, the parking lot can get overfull with everyone driving their own car and then all of the "company" vehicles that come to park while you are here. For this I am sorry and can only say we do our best. I can in all honestty say that in the 35 years I have been in this business I have never been at a hotel or motel that has received more compliments on the beds. They are Serta and very high quality. Although I agree it is often hard to sleep when away from home.
as for the dogs, yes they were big black dogs and they ran up the hall but did not bark or growl at you nor come withi 5 feet of you. The owner instantly put them on a leash and returned to her room. That was the only incident we had with the dogs for the month they were hear as the owners house burnt down. I would like to address the issue of the delay in reporting these issues as it all happen 4 months ago. I would have been happy to discuss any of these issues with you at any time and still would if you wish to call me.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Galesburg
6.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Galesburg
2.5 mi away
Best Western Prairie Inn & Conference Center
6.0 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#8 of 10 in Galesburg
61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Galesburg
5.9 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Galesburg
18.2 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Monmouth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Americas Best Value Inn- Galesburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn- Galesburg

Property: Americas Best Value Inn- Galesburg
Address: 737 Knox Highway 10, I-74 Exit 51, Galesburg, IL 61401-8319 (Formerly Super 8 Galesburg IL)
Region: United States > Illinois > Galesburg
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Galesburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Americas Best Value Inn- Galesburg 2*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Americas Best Value Inn Galesburg, Illinois located forty-five miles northwest of Peoria. We are conveniently located on Knox Highway 10, only five miles away from downtown Galesburg and Knox College. Our hotel offers guests easy access to local attractions such as National Railroad Hall-Fame, Galesburg Nature Center, and Lake Storey Beach. Guests are invited to enjoy the complimentary daily deluxe continental breakfast and coffee in the lobby. Featured hotel amenities include a guest laundry facility, business center. 24-hour front desk and lobby and ice machines. Pets are welcome, restrictions and charges apply. Take a refreshing dip in our heated indoor pool or take advantage of our business center equipped with a computer and the guest laundry facility. Stay connected with our complimentary Wi-Fi available throughout the property. Complimentary on-site parking for all types of vehicles is also available. Each of our 36 guest rooms features the ambiance of home luxuries such as free Wi-Fi, microwave, mini-fridge, coffeemaker, hairdryer, 32-inch flat panel satellite TV, desk with lamp, table with chairs, alarm clock radio, and free local calls. Please inquire about upgrading to one of our jacuzzi rooms. Americas Best Value Inn Galesburg is your best choice located in Knox County, Illinois, forty-five miles northwest of Peoria. We offer ideal accommodations and location whether you are in town for entertainment, music and food festivals, sightseeing, wildlife activities or simply passing through on your way to Chicago or Peoria. At Americas Best Value Inn Galesburg our goal is to provide our guests a great experience, not just a place to stay. At Americas Best Value Inn Galesburg, We’ve Got You Covered from the time you hit the road until your head hits the pillow. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn- Galesburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing