We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Prairie Inn & Conference Center
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Galesburg
Quincy, United States
1 review
“R. N.”
Reviewed 17 February 2014

The hotel was off the beaten path a long way from town. The pool was closed and we were not told ahead of time even though I had talked to the hotel earlier in the week. The staff should be more professional in dealing with customers.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Glenn N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
prairieinn, Front Office Manager at Best Western Prairie Inn & Conference Center, responded to this review, 21 February 2014
Thank you for your review on your recent stay.
Unfortunately, for a couple days, we had maintenance done to our pool area. We do apologize for the pool being closed during your night stay. We hope you will consider us again when you come thru Galesburg! We always inform on the phone and at check-in if we do have maintenance going on in our hotel. If you have any questions please don't hesitate to give me a call at 309-343-7151.




Guest Services
Amber Smith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

311 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    108
    94
    46
    32
    31
See reviews for
109
67
24
79
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2014

I've stayed at this hotel many years ago and found it dark. With their remodel the rooms and hallways are bright and first class. They care about the environment with a number of "green" initiatives. The pool is a hit with kids (and adults). The folks at the bar were extremely accommodating for our large family group. The dining room was short staffed for breakfast but they worked hard to serve us well. The rooms were warm and clean. Front desk was helpful. Everything was terrific.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathleen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
prairieinn, Front Office Manager at Best Western Prairie Inn & Conference Center, responded to this review, 17 February 2014
Kathleen,

Thank you so much for your nice review. We are so glad that you enjoyed our remodeling and our staff in our restaurant! We are always wanting our guest happy and comfortable during their stay. We hope that you will visit us again when you come through Galesburg!!!



Guest Services
Amber Smith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galesburg, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
425 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2014

We used to live in Galesburg and stayed in this place when it was Jumers. It was very nice but dark halls and rooms. We return here often and usually stay in Comfort Inn and Country Inn. We've been staying in Best Western on our recent travels south so we decided to try here. Glad we did. The updated rooms are very nice. Beds are extremely comfortable. Bathrooms are very nice. I liked the makeup mirror. The hallways are long (we all need the walk) and low ceilings making it feel cavernous in the halls. Rooms aren't that way. No frig or microwave but we don't use that here. I do miss the complimentary breakfast when there is a restaurant on site but the rates are good.

We will stay here again on our next trip here in a month.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 241. There was six steps up from parking lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MeryMeCo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
prairieinn, Front Office Manager at Best Western Prairie Inn & Conference Center, responded to this review, 18 January 2014
Mary Lou,


Thanks so much for this awesome review! We are making a lot of changes through out our Best Western! We have recently remodeled and put in new floors and carpet in the rooms. Our beds are also newer! We are glad that you enjoyed the beds. We do offer 10% for Antonio's restaurant for dinner and breakfast. We are glad that you decided to try us out! We hope to see you again very soon!!!



Amber Smith

Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knoxville, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 January 2014

This is a nice place to stay. The walk from the back of the hotel to the pool, restaurant and front desk is quit long. Pool room was warm, but pool was colder. Room was nice, but no refrigerator. The breakfast was good and the 10% discount was not very helpful when you have to tip 15-20% to the server.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Ron L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
prairieinn, Front Office Manager at Best Western Prairie Inn & Conference Center, responded to this review, 18 January 2014
Ron,

Thank you for your review. We do have a spacious hotel, we do offer entrances in every hallway. You can always request fridges and microwaves for your rooms. We are on our way to having them in every room. We always want our guests happy and comfortable so always let us know what we can do to make it a better stay! Thank you once again for your review and we hope to see you again soon!!!



Amber Smith

Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chicago
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2013

pretty standard hotel

if you are assigned a room with a 3XX number you are on the second floor and there is no elevator. it would be nice if they told you that when you checked in, especially when you are checking in between a wedding ceremony and reception in your cocktail dress & heels or your best suit.

Room Tip: ask if your room is on first floor or second floor. there is no elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank islandvisitorChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
prairieinn, Front Office Manager at Best Western Prairie Inn & Conference Center, responded to this review, 3 January 2014
Thank your for your review. We always want our guests happy with their entire stay. Upon check-in we always want to make sure we show you our layouy of the hotel and show you exactly how to get to your room from the front desk. When you make the reservation you can request a first floor room. We do apologize if this wasn't told to you in advance and we will look further into it. We hope that you will consider us for another stay. Hope to see you again


Guest Services



Amber Smith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 16 December 2013

I have stayed at the Prairie Inn Best Western many times over the past few years. The hotel has has always been one of my favorites, as it is hard to find one these days that has a restaurant/lounge on site. The restaurant has always been a highlight with a wide variety of menu items to choose from; my favorites being the catfish and prime rib. How disappointing to find out the restaurant I loved so much was gone and there was strictly an Italian menu now, which I am not a fan of. Regardless, we gave it a try. I like a glass of wine (White Zinfadel) with my dinner, but they did not carry it. What kind of restaurant/lounge does not have the most basic wine available? Then I ordered the shrimp scampi, but was informed they were out of shrimp. I opted for the special, mussels & scallops over fettuccini in an alfredo sauce. The sauce was watery and the scallops were not seared at all and ended up 'mushy'. Very disappointed and did not eat there the remainder of my trip. I would think a hotel restaurant would want to have a variety to accommodate their customers, but that does not seem to be the case now, sadly.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Kim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
prairieinn, Front Office Manager at Best Western Prairie Inn & Conference Center, responded to this review, 27 December 2013
Kim,

Thank you for your review about our hotel. I will be sure to pass your comments to the Antonio's Restaurant. We are always wanting our guest comfortable and happy during your stay. By telling us how your stay was you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope that you will stay with us again!



Guest Services
Amber Smith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2013 via mobile

everything is pretty standard for a hotel in this category. Not a bad location but not in walking distance to food other than the hotel restaurant. Rooms are relatively clean. Looks like the carpet is about to be replaced - large rolls in the hallway.

one major complaint which is a deal breaker for me. The hotel does not respect do not disturb signs. Thanks for cleaning the room and all but I have sensitive equipment and documents laying on the desk - private stuff that I would have taken with me If I knew they don't honor these signs. Otherwise no problems for the price.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Argonaust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
prairieinn, Front Office Manager at Best Western Prairie Inn & Conference Center, responded to this review, 13 December 2013
Thank you for your nice review about our Best Western. We are in the midst of putting new carpet into all of our rooms. We always respect the privacy of our guests, so I will be sure look into the problem that you had occur. We always want our guest comfortable and happy during their stay. We hope that you will come visit us again!!



Guest Services

Amber Smith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Galesburg
3.8 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Galesburg
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Galesburg
3.5 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Galesburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#8 of 10 in Galesburg
61 reviews
16.7 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Monmouth
16.5 mi away
Super 8 Monmouth IL
Super 8 Monmouth IL
#2 of 3 in Monmouth
139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Prairie Inn & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Prairie Inn & Conference Center

Property: Best Western Prairie Inn & Conference Center
Address: 300 S Soangetaha Rd, I-74 at East Main, Galesburg, IL 61401
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Galesburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Galesburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Prairie Inn & Conference Center 3*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover northwestern Illinois from the comfort of this quaint Galesburg hotel, just minutes from Knox College and Seminary Street. Conveniently located off the I-74, the BEST WESTERN Prairie Inn & Conference Center is just three miles from the heart of Galesburg, IL. Guests are just minutes from historic Seminary Street, offering shopping, dining and more. History and culture lovers delight in Galesburg's many well-known attractions, from the Orpheum Theatre to the Galesburg Railroad Museum to the birthplace of famed writer Carl Sandburg. A scenic self-guided car tour takes guests from this Galesburg hotel to many of these popular attractions. The hotel is a great choice for families visiting students at Knox College or Carl Sandburg College, both just minutes away. It's also a convenient spot for experiencing seasonal events, like Railroad Days and the Stearman Fly-In. This Illinois hotel also offers easy access for corporate travelers doing business at RFMS and BNSF employees. A full service Galesburg hotel with the only full service event location in the area, we offer the highest quality amenities. Our ballroom can seat up to 300 guests, making the property a perfect choice for your next meeting, banquet, reunion or wedding. The newly renovated rooms at the BEST WESTERN Prairie Inn & Conference Center include comfortable beds with quality linens and plush pillows. Newly installed 37-inch LCD flat-screen TV's have cable satellite & HBO(R). Select rooms offer a private patio entrance to our beautiful courtyard. Other amenities available at this Galesburg hotel include an indoor pool, exercise facility, fun games in our courtyard for the family, and free Wi-Fi access. Haldi's is our onsite restaurant & lounge, this offers authentic Indian dining. We serve an all American breakfast every morning. Make the BEST WESTERN Prairie Inn & Conference Center your home away from home during your next visit to Galesburg, IL. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Prairie Inn & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Galesburg
Galesburg Best Western
Best Western Prairie Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing