We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Truly a Great house!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Great House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Galesburg
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Great House
Ranked #1 of 3 Galesburg B&B and Inns
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Truly a Great house!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2012

Beautiful old mansion lovingly restored and very close to downtown. The owner is very engaging and is well informed about the history of the house and the town. Great value. We certainly plan to stay here again on our next visit to the area.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank euphio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    23
    7
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
12
13
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
60 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2012

The Great House is very nice Bed and Breakfast and a wonderful alternative to the rather dull chain hotel offerings in Galesburg. This huge house had been completely remodeled at some point in the past so a stay there is a stay in a very nice house, just what you'd want in a B&B. The rooms are clean, comfortable, well furnished and owner is very friendly. Breakfast was also very tasty and served on antique china, a nice touch. The large parking lot in back is also a plus. We would stay again.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IllinoisCentral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auburndale, Florida
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2011

My husband and I went to Galesburg, Illinois, to visit the Knox College archives for genealogy research and donation of items and to get away for our anniversay. We chose Great House for our stay and were wonderfully surprised at what a jewel we found in Galesburg. This beautifully restored home is operated by a caring innkeeper who lovingly restored this period home with great integrity and beauty. Our Washington Room was beautifully decorated, the bed linens were of the highest quality affording a comfortable rest, and the cleanliness of the place was exceptional. Ladies, don't pack the hair dryer, there is one there. There also toiletries such as shampoo, face soap, shower gel and lotion if you choose to enjoy those. Now...the full breakfasts are served on a variety of high quality china daily, with remarkably excellent breakfasts complete with lighted candles. You will not regret the stay! Thank you Betty for being so gracious and accommodating!

Room Tip: Be prepared for rail road noise since Galesburg is a major rail road hub!! It is noisy everywhere in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Allen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Springfield, IL
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2009

We found the Great House to be everything we were looking for in a B&B; it is clean, quiet, inexpensive, centrally located for sight-seeing, private baths, and owned by an interesting and energetic innkeeper. Since we were traveling by motorcycle, the paved off-street parking is a plus. Since our "carrying capacity" was limited, it was important that all the necessities (shampoo, blow dryer, etc) are provided. The home was completely refurbished in the 1990s and early 2000s, so everything works and is in great shape.

Guests have free access to the parlors, music room, and dining room, plus the decks and porch outside. There were no 'minuses' with this stay. Breakfast was prepared at the time we requested, and was not elegant but very satisfying. It would have been nice if coffee were available earlier, and perhaps Betty would provide that if asked.

Overall, a great stay, and one B&B we will return to when our travels take us to Galesburg.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roger S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2007

Betty, the owner, was very welcoming. Rooms are large and well appointed, I especially appreciated having the vanity and sink area outside of the bath. Breakfast was yummy! We would return.

  • Stayed October 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cfvd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2004

I left four messages and sent two e-mails over a period of about a week and a half. The innkeeper never responded. I had every intention of staying there. My husband attended Knox College and was excited to get the chance to show me around Galesburg. He had heard great things about The Great House. It looked like a lovely place and I was very excited. Unfortunately the innkeeper dropped the ball and we had to plan a completely different trip.

Helpful?
6 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2002

This is one of the nicest places we have ever been to. Betty, the innkeeper, makes you feel MORE at home than any where else we have been (and we love to stay at B&B's.) It is elegance in motion -- absolutely beautiful, with very large rooms at a reasonable price. The back porch is delightful in the summer. We are going there now in the winter and can't wait to see the Christmas decoations - she was decorating when I called to reserve. It is one of the few places that we wanted to spend extra days, just to relax -- when we didn't have them! (Other place's reviews say that, but this really is it!) We recommend that you stop there whenever you are enroute to anywhere nearby. It's worth even to go out of route!
Joan

Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Galesburg
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Galesburg
2.0 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Galesburg
1.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Prairie Inn & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Galesburg
1.8 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#8 of 10 in Galesburg
3.0 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
15.0 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Monmouth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Great House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Great House

Property: Great House
Address: 501 E Losey St, Galesburg, IL 61404
Region: United States > Illinois > Galesburg
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Galesburg
Number of rooms: 3

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing