We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst motel stay in over 30 years.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Broad View Inn & Suites
Ranked #9 of 10 Hotels in Galesburg
Des Moines
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Worst motel stay in over 30 years.”
Reviewed 14 October 2012 via mobile

From the overwhelming odor of cigarette smoke in the entire building, everything was a disaster. The room reserved for three had no toilet paper hanging from the dispenser, towels for one and no cups or glasses anywhere. The WiFi didn't work. A dog left alone in a nearby room howled and barked all evening. The old TV had very poor reception for all local broadcast channels. The sheets were stained and the blankets and bedspreads had cigarette burns. When the lack of towels was reported, the manager solved the problem by taking linens from another unoccupied room. No linens in inventory; really?? ANY of the other hotels in Galesburg have to be better choices. Thank goodness we only had to stay one night. I understand this motel is under new ownership/management but it is still a pit.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank aprico82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3
    1
    5
    8
    24
See reviews for
10
6
8
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Iowa
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2012

I decided last minute to drive into Galesburg from the Quad Cities as I was catching an early Amtrak train and was not sleepy. I was able to book the room easily online and got to the hotel around midnight. They were pretty busy still checking people in but I was able to get checked in without much delay. The place is definitely run down, and for the price of $50 total w/tax I wasn't expecting a three or four star hotel experience. I got to the room and again, things were pretty beat up, but it looked adequately clean, and the bed was firm and I was able to get some sleep before I caught the train. It's a one or two star hotel for sure, and it was adequate for me for a quick overnight stay, and less expensive than the other options in town.

Room Tip: If you want to save a buck this is the place to go. If you want a great hotel experience, this ain...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoJoJimmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Galesburg hotels

West Central Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2012

This is the America's Best Value Inn on Public Square (circle) in Galesburg, right? My experience certainly differed from all the negative ones. I had biked 50 miles from Macomb, planning to take Amtrak back home. But when I discovered that mechanical problems would cause the train to leave Chicago late and get me back home at 1:00AM, I decided to get a room and catch the morning train. I certainly wasn't going to bike out to no man's land near the interstate highway after dark, so this was it.

All I wanted was something clean, quiet, and comfortable. Which I got (see comment below). Everything worked and the room and halls looked like they had recently been refurbished. Nothing elegant or luxurious, but I what could expect for the $47 AARP rate.

When I say quiet I mean no noise in the next room or outside my door. iHols: you're right about the train noise. It is only 2 blocks from the Santa Fe transcon with trains about every 5 minutes, and about 5 blocks in the other direction from one of the largest rail yards in the country. But when they blow the horn, they are only doing what they are supposed to do, not to mention what Federal law requires. So it didn't bother me or keep me away like a redneck rendezvous would.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jobtraklite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmington, Ohio, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2012

What a dump!!!!! Front desk people were friendly.. Got to the room and quickly noticed hair in the sink and shower, hardly no toilet paper, had to ask for towels but then decided NOT to take a shower in such a dirty nasty shower tub. Walls had writing and holes in them. Bed had sheets with stains and burn holes. Bed was hard and the pillows smelled bad. I had to sleep in my clothes and jacket because it felt dirty and i wasnt sure if i would get a desease or bug bites from the bed. the end table had what appeared to be blood stains on them and the heater smelled bad when i turned it on. VERY POOR CLEANING AND MAINTANENCED HOTEL. All night long hear screaming and yelling in the hallways and banging on doors. someone banged on my door but never answered it. I will be sure NOT to recommend this place to even my worst enemy. When I checked out there were cops at the room a few doors down. Not a surprise to me. The worst EVER experience at a hotel.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shannon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2010

Everything works, just. This place needs a good clean and some money spending on it. I am writing this lying in the bed of one of the rooms, not sure if I am being bitten! At least the wifi works. Just one night so hopfully we won't be murdered in our beds. The train noise is driving me crazy but at least I can write this review rather than sleep.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank iHols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
galesburghotel, Manager at The Broad View Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 28 March 2011
We try our best to keep our property clean and free of undesirables.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterville, Iowa
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2010

If I was traveling by myself and didn't mind caring a concealed weapon this would be a good hotel. It was according to local legend a Days Inn, a Ramada, a ... It has had many names as the phones in the room suggest. Night clerk was great. Felt very safe around him with the local um "guests" hanging around. Hotel ownership pay attention here. I know you are trying to update this property and maybe do care - you need to work on cleaning up the inside image of this place and LISTEN to what actual paying guests are saying about your property. New locks on the doors, good idea. The property is in need of a huge overhaul from dirty dingy hallways and rooms to the lack of security from outside forces. Breakfast was good and cheap.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank RevKrisLC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MIDWEST
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2010

Low rates. Front desk person greeted us quickly, cordially, and got us checked in faster than any other hotel we've ever stayed in. We booked several rooms for our group. The mattresses were hard, one was bowed in the middle. Several sheets and one comforter were torn and/or dirty. Caked on dust behind and under all furniture in every room. Walls in bathrooms had nicks, spackle filled holes never painted over. Shower doors moved on rusty frames. Toilet paper roller was missing in one room, so toilet paper was left on the counter. Door to one room did not open with keys. A housekeeper told us that particular room was known to have a "tricky" handle and showed us how to get the door to open. If something isn't working right, these people don't get it fixed. Trains outside the building run through the night but did not seem that noisy. The lounge/bar open at night had loud, scary looking patrons who appeared to be "regulars" from the neighborhood. Breakfast in the restaurant was $5.50/person for a buffet that had much variety and okay quality. Waitress avoided us but finally did break down and pour a second cup of coffee.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lilygal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Galesburg
2.0 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#8 of 10 in Galesburg
61 reviews
1.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Galesburg
2.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Galesburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Best Western Prairie Inn & Conference Center
1.9 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Galesburg
14.4 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Monmouth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Broad View Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Broad View Inn & Suites

Property: The Broad View Inn & Suites
Address: 29 Public Sq, Galesburg, IL 61401-4550 (Formerly Americas Best Value Inn )
Region: United States > Illinois > Galesburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 10 Hotels in Galesburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — The Broad View Inn & Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 87
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your The Broad View Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americas Best Value Inn Galesburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing