We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not Fancy, but It Was What Was Needed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Baymont Inn & Suites Galesburg
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Galesburg
Certificate of Excellence
Minnesota
Level Contributor
162 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Not Fancy, but It Was What Was Needed”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

I stayed here for a night on my way from Indiana to Minnesota. The hotel was clean and sorta quiet. The front desk did suggest that we get a room that wasn't overlooking the pool because it could be noisy. The rooms were clean, but you could tell that they needed some updating as it was showing their wear. The free breakfast was alright. They had cinnamon rolls which were tasty, not fabulous, but good. Then biscuits and gravy--biscuits were a bit rubbery; eggs, turkey sausage, ham, toast, muffins, pancakes..the usual suspects. It's a hotel breakfast and free so nothing that was extra fabulous.

Room Tip: Stay away from the rooms overlooking the pool area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WildFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GalesburgGSM, Front Office Manager at Baymont Inn & Suites Galesburg, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of our hotel. We are currently going through some updates with the hotel, however it is taking a little longer then expected. I hope that if your traveling our way again you give us another try in the future.
Whitney Hendricks, Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    95
    100
    43
    5
    5
See reviews for
102
51
20
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Lexington, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
300 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

This hotel is near the interstate, about 2 miles from Amtrak station. It is a very pleasant place. The three staff people I interacted with were very friendly, and helpful when I had questions. My room was cool and comfy, and very quiet! The TV got a lot of channels. In recent stays at other hotels I'd had trouble sleeping but no problems here! Slept really where


Also, I walked from Amtrak to here and back, took about 30 min each way, and there are sidewalks all the way, so it is quite safe and doable! There's also a park next to the hotel to walk around.

Room Tip: I liked the room on second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tedkirby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GalesburgGSM, Front Office Manager at Baymont Inn & Suites Galesburg, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write such a fantastic detailed review! I'm glad you enjoyed your stay and we hope we see you in the future.
Whitney Hendricks, Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morgantown, West Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014

The positive first. All the people, from the receptionist, to housekeeping and breakfast room staff, were efficient and friendly. There are no restaurants within walking distance (and you wouldn't want to) but Galesburg has a web-based delivery service which we found to be quick and good.

HOWEVER, this hotel seriously damages the Holiday Inn brand. It is the quintessential bad motel. Our room was stale/smelly; the walls were thin. I need an accessible bathroom, but I could hardly get my wheelchair in, let alone maneuver it.

The Wi-fi service prevented my wife and I from sending or receiving emails or social networking.

The room was the most expensive we had on a one-month trip.

In other words avoid the Holiday Inn Express - Galesburg if you possibly can.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gregory E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GalesburgGSM, Front Office Manager at Baymont Inn & Suites Galesburg, responded to this review, 2 August 2014
Gregory,
I'm truly sorry to hear your experience was unacceptable. We are in the process of updating or hotel, it is just taking a little bit longer then expected. I really hope you brought your concerns to the staff. If not I am happy to help make your experience a little bit better if possible. Please contact me I know I can not make your stay better, but hopefully I can make a future stay worth it. Please email me at GalesburgGSM@JankoHotels.com I will be more then happy to see what I can do for you. On the other hand I'm extremely happy to hear our staff was fantastic!
Whitney Hendricks, Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Kansas
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

I called to book reservations for the 3rd-6th of july and it was a big ordeal. The lady at the front desk answered and transfer me to the reservation line. I asked the man that answer if I could get adjoining rooms and he said that he couldnt tell me if any were available (I dont know why he couldnt since it was the reservation line.) He said the front desk can tell you though. I said ok so he transfered me up to the front desk where leah heloed me. She said im not sure why he sent you back to mr but I can help you. I asked her about the adjoining rooms and she said that there were some available but that u have to be there in person to get them. I was a little confused by that because 90% of people make reservations over the phone because they dont usually live in the town they are traveling too. Leah told me that I would need to talk to the reservation line again and that I would need to ask them for two rooms and to ask them to put that I need adjoining rooms in the comment area. I told her that I didnt want to book rooms there if I couldnt get them together. She said it will all work out. Im sorry but I cant book rooms atva hotel if I dont know for sure if im getting the rooms I need. Plus, it was such a mess trying to book there that I ended up booking at another hotel. Im very disappointed, I know this hotel has gotten a lot of great reviews and I like the fact that you getva free hot breakfast every morning.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank monsonpower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GalesburgGSM, Front Office Manager at Baymont Inn & Suites Galesburg, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Monsonpower,
I am very sorry to hear your experience with our hotel was poor. I assure you that this is not how we run our business. I will be using your review as a training tool for our Front Desk staff. If there is anything I can do to help you please feel free to contact me via email at GalesburgGSM@JankoHotels.com or phone 309-343-7100. Again I am truly sorry.
Whitney Hendricks, Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boulder
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

I have stayed here many times. The staff is always very pleasant and helpful. The rooms and common areas are clean. The hotel is a little dated and it is time to begin updating. However, with that being said, it is the most updated and cleanest hotel in Galesburg.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RichDBoulder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GalesburgGSM, Front Office Manager at Baymont Inn & Suites Galesburg, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Thank you for the wonderful review. Our hotel is currently undergoing some changes. Slowly but surely we will get there! Thank you for choosing to stay with us. We look forward to seeing you in the future.
Whitney Hendricks. Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Providence, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2014 via mobile

I stayed at this HIE for one week while in Galesburg for work despite other coworkers saying 'don't stay there' from a recent stay at same hotel for an early March 2014 business trip. Staff here very friendly and accommodating; however, train can be loud...stay in low number rooms i.e. 202 or 304 - i had to switch rooms during stay. Also, shower in my first room made a very loud screeching sound midstream on first two nights. I almost switched hotels but like I said at least my room was changed without a problem. Overall, clean, average, but not my best HIE stay.

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank StaceyC0510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GalesburgGSM, Guest Relations Manager at Baymont Inn & Suites Galesburg, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to let us know how your recent was. I am very happy to hear that we were able to handle your problem in a timely manner and I will make sure that next time you stay with us we get you in to a much quieter room. If there as anything else I can do for you please feel free to contact me at Galesburggsm@jankohotels.com. Again, thank you!
Whitney Hendricks
Guest Service Mananger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport News, Virginia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2014

I stayed here long-term (several weeks) for work earlier this year. The staff is great, and I wouldn't stay anywhere else if I were in Galesburg. It is right next to the highway, and a Hy-Vee is across the street to stock your mini-fridge.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StefSparks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GalesburgGSM, Front Office Manager at Baymont Inn & Suites Galesburg, responded to this review, 14 March 2014
We do love our long term stays! Helps us get to know our guest better. Thank you for the great review and hopefully we will see you in the future!
Whitney Hendricks, GSM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Galesburg
3.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Galesburg
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Galesburg
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Prairie Inn & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Galesburg
3.2 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#8 of 10 in Galesburg
3.0 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
16.3 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Monmouth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baymont Inn & Suites Galesburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baymont Inn & Suites Galesburg

Property: Baymont Inn & Suites Galesburg
Address: 2285 Washington St, Galesburg, IL 61401
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Galesburg
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Galesburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Baymont Inn & Suites Galesburg 2.5*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Baymont Inn & Suites Hotel in Galesburg is located on the east edge of Galesburg, a city rich in railroad and American history. Knox College, which is closely located to the Baymont Inn & Suites Galesburg, was the site of the Lincoln-Douglas Debate. Other historic places of interest include the birthplace of poet Carl Sandburg, the Ronald Reagen Trail and the Galesburg Railroad Museum. Galesburg is the future home of the National Railroad Hall of Fame, which is to be built within walking distance of the Baymont Inn & Suites Galesburg. Not far from the hotel you'll find the BNSF rail-yard and the Amtrak station. If you enjoy the theatre, don't miss the magnificent Orpheum Theatre. And if you enjoy the fall colors, you don't want to miss the Spoon River-Knox County Scenic Drive which is held the first two weekends of October.The Baymont Inn & Suites Galesburg offers 72 spacious and freshly remodeled rooms. Each room features free high-speed wireless Internet. Of course your stay won't be complete without enjoying our complimentary breakfast. Businesses near the hotel: BNSF, Gates Rubber Company, West Code Manufacturing, Historic Seminary Street shops, NAEIR, Dick Blick, Carhartt.Stay Smart, stay at the Baymont Inn & Suites Galesburg, conveniently located off I-74. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Baymont Inn & Suites Galesburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Galesburg Hotel Galesburg
Holiday Inn Galesburg
Galesburg Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing