We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Valentines Getaway”
Review of Atwater's

Atwater's
Reserve with OpenTable
Atwater's is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #14 of 151 Restaurants in Geneva
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$20 - US$60
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Fine dining on the waterfront at this gem, tucked inside the Herrington Inn & Spa. Al fresco dining in season. Serves three meals daily, open 365 days per year. Advance reservations highly recommended Private waterfront Gazebo for 8 guests is also available.
Reviewed 19 February 2014

We have visited this restaurant many times in the last 2 years.we found the view was great,The service was great on the outside patio.Our server Hal was excellent every time we went there.We felt at that time that Valentines day would be a great getaway for us.The service this trip was not in any way very good

Thank Guy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stewart B, Director of Operations at Atwater's, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2014

Thank you for your review and feedback.

The Atwater's mission is to always to exceed our guest’s expectations. It is very disappointing to hear that we did not live up to this promise during your dining experience with us.

It would be very helpful to gain some further details on your experience, please contact me directly at the Hotel at your convenience.

Thank you once again, and we look forward to welcoming you back to The Herrington Inn & Spa very soon.

Kindest Regards,
Stewart

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (124)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

75 - 79 of 124 reviews

Reviewed 31 January 2014

Ate here when we stayed at the Herrington Inn for a winter get away. The restaurant is small and intimate and the food is delicious. Service was exceptional and very friendly without being overbearing. We got to experience the 3 course restaurant week menu which was delicious. We especially liked the espresso rubbed pork tenderloin.

Thank AMEarlygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stewart B, Director of Operations at Atwater's, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2014

Thank you for your review and feedback.

It is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your dinner with us during restaurant week. I will personally ensure that your comments are shared with the team.

Thank you once again, and we look forward to welcoming you back to Atwater’s very soon.

Kindest Regards,
Stewart

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2013

Had a quick lunch before a wedding here. Duck salad was excellent and had a butternut squash soup which was very tasty! Would recommend but a little on the high side in price for basically soup and salad. Warm fire place and cozy atmosphere.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank SVS1107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stewart B, Director of Operations at Atwater's, responded to this reviewResponded 7 December 2013

Thank you for your review and feedback.

It is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your lunch with us. I will personally ensure that your comments are shared with the team.

Thank you once again, and we look forward to welcoming you back to Atwater’s very soon.

Kindest Regards,
Stewart

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

I recently stayed at the Herrington inn and dined at the Atwater. I read mixed reviews about the restaurant her on TA but decided to try it anyway!! Glad I did, I thoroughly enjoyed the food. I started with the Blue Hawaiin Prawns, pan seared with rice threads and chili lemongrass broth next was the Atwater Salad with raspberries, toasted pistachios, Sonoma goat cheese, raspberry champagne vinaigrette dressing. My main course was the Jail Island Salmon, grilled with apricot couscous and ginger butter sauce! No dessert.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank chill993
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JP_Herrington, Director of Sales at Atwater's, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2013

Thank you very much for trying Atwater's during your stay at The Herrington Inn. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your meal and we hope to have you return again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2013

Whether I want to "dress to the nines" or perhaps be a tad more casual and still plan to have a fine dining experience, Atwater's (in Geneva, Illinois) is one of my favorite go-to places. Late breakfasts for occasions like birthdays are always fun and the several iterations of Eggs Benedict are almost always done perfectly. The restaurant is very close to the Fox River and the views from every table are perfect.

Another special event was in need of celebration recently and a very special dinner was desired. The Fox Valley boasts numerous choices but, once again, Atwater's was at the top of the list. Getting "all gussied up" is half the fun, and so we did. We arrived just before 7:00 pm and were seated immediately for our reservation. We enjoyed a cocktail and scanned the dinner menu; it promised great things and we were not to be disappointed.

White table cloths, fresh flowers and a candle, real silver, sparkling glassware, a hostess who actually pulls out your chair and places your cloth napkin on your lap, wait-staff and bus persons all in uniforms: all these important details are proof-positive that Atwater's in the Herrington Hotel is serious about training and attention to detail.

After an interesting amuse-bouche starter, we enjoyed perfectly sautéed Crab Cakes as an appetizer, and followed up with a crisp house salad, then tender and flaky Halibut Steak for my wife and Red Snapper for me. Excellent plating, perfectly seasoned and cooked fish, accompanied by seasonal vegetables, colorful and al dente.

While many might find the menu a tad on the pricy side, it must be emphasized that one always gets what one pays for. There is no worry about ending up on the short side of things at Atwater’s. The meal, the service, the ambiance and the dining experience are always top-notch. Definite kudos to the chef, the wait-staff and the management team!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Richard R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
herrington_geneva, Manager at Atwater's, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2015

Thank you for sharing your comments about Atwater's. I am delighted to hear that you had a wonderful dining experience and we hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Atwater's also viewed

 

Been to Atwater's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing