We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Really great hotel in a fun area”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Herrington Inn & Spa
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Geneva
Certificate of Excellence
Peoria, Illinois
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Really great hotel in a fun area”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2011

We like to find fun areas to shop, eat, and explore, and finding a clean, comfortable, and very special hotel to stay nearby just makes it even more fun. Geneva is one of the best areas to explore in the midwest if you like unusual shops and great restaurants, and the Herrington has become one of our favorite hotels anywhere. The price is admittedly commensurate with the fabulous service, great view, and beautiful rooms, but that's OK, limits the clientele to those who can appreciate the finer things in life. We have not tried the spa yet but will undoubtedly do so on a future trip. The fresh chocolate chip cookies and milk at turndown is typical of the exceptional, thoughtful, unique service at this fine hotel, and a fitting reminder of the history of the property.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charles M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

378 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    277
    56
    19
    15
    11
See reviews for
46
222
15
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Itasca, Illinois
Level Contributor
107 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2011

We stayed at the Herrington for a wedding I was standing up in recently. The hotel itself is really nice. The suite we staying was nice ..but not 280 dollars a night nice. We had a suite on the Fox River there but the bugs were brutal to the point we couldn't open the door to the balcony. We had issues checking.. I called in advance around 12:30 that day and made sure my room was available for check in at 2:00 PM and I was told no problem, that it would be ready. When I came into the hotel around 1:50 they told me that room wouldn't be ready till 3:30.. For the price of the room, I expect better service than this. All of the groomsmen were planning on using my room as a staging area for the wedding and pictures that were to start at 3.. well, I told them this was unacceptable. They said the people checked out late from teh night before... how long does it take to clean a room? Why tell me it would be ready when it wouldn't? The people at the desk basically said sorry, nothing they could do and did not say much else, even after explaining what had happened.. for 280 dollars for a hotel in Geneva Illinois I expected better customer service... Overall, i would not return for the price of the room... The wedding there was nice (minus one rude waiter) and the continental breakfast was decent, but I expect alot more for the money..

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eagledemps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lafayette, IN
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2011

My husband and I come to The Herrington Inn & Spa at least once a year. It's so romantic and the staff is unbelievably nice! This time we were there to celebrate our 6th Wedding Anniversary. It was perfect and relaxing as always. I love that if your room wasn't used the night before, they will let you in early, it's just so nice and accommodating! We came early because we had appointments in the spa, check in time wasn't until 4:00, but we got there at noon for our appointments and stopped at the front desk to check in, they gave us our room key and told us to enjoy! It was so nice that we didn't have to find something to do with the hours in between. We had dinner at AtWaters that night and the food was amazing, and the staff gave us a card signed by everyone that said "Happy 6th Anniversary" it was such a nice touch.
The rooms are gorgeous and the bathrooms are amazing, I especially love the great big spa tub for two. However, what makes The Herrington worth the money, (because it's not cheap), is the staff. They are professional and courteous and willing to go above and beyond to please their guests. I highly recommend this place to any couples looking for a lovely getaway.
Thank you to everyone at The Herrington for making our anniversary so special.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank karnske
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
182 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2011

Wonderful accomodations in a quaint town with wonderful restaurants and shopping. The Director of Food and Beverage, Corey Hardersenmaitre'd when the , acted as a personal host, server, and maitre'd when the patio was packed due to a wedding. Not only were the drinks and food a value, but the ambience provided a very relaxed and enjoyable river side experience.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tommyl024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Charles, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2011

Living close to The Herrington Inn and Spa I have always admired it's beauty and dreamed that one day I would get married on the property. This July my dream came true! My husband and I choose The Herrington Inn and Spa not only for the unbelievable location, views, and pure beauty of the Inn, but we also choose it because of the staff. I have never been to a hotel where I have been treated so well. The staff is caring, respectful, and attentive. Our wedding day went off without a hitch, in our eyes it was perfect! Our guests also loved their stay at The Herrington! Each room as it's own identity. All of the rooms have a fantastic view, comfortable and luxurious furnishings and amenties, and are no where near cookie cutter. The Herrington Inn also adds unique touches wherever and whenever possible to make your stay unique and memorable, such as cookies and milk delievered during turn down service. I would also like to add that not only does The Herrington have unbelievable staff members, top notch amenties, and incrediable guest rooms- they also have some of the BEST food that I have ever had! You honestly can not go wrong staying at The Herrington, it is by far the most wonderful hotel experience I have ever had.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KateHopp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chicago, il
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2011

We have stayed at the Herrington before and really enjoyed it. A quaint, warm environment that gives a real feeling that you're far away from the city. This visit we simply weren't as pleased as prior visits. We were in a Jr River suite. The room seemed to have a bit of musty odor. The furniture and bedding, although extremely nice, are really in need of an update. The screen door onto the balcony was broken and filthy. The windows onto the balcony were very dirty as well. We told our bellman at check in about the screen door but no one fixed it. The front desk was informed that we werent thrilled with our room and they did call and speak with us however the hotel was full so we couldnt change rooms and weren't offered any solutions. The inn is still nice but simply overpriced at this point and not deserving of all the stars.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank osunut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
logwes, General Manager at The Herrington Inn & Spa, responded to this review, 30 August 2011
Thank you for your feedback. Our goal is to replace items such as bedding, furniture, etc. often enough that they never get to the point where they appear worn or outdated to our guests. We will definitely inspect the room in question and update as needed. Your comments are much appreciated and I hope you will return.
Sincerely,
Paul Ruby, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aurora, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2011

Hotel provided an alternate"romance package" with non-alcoholic champagne and a fruit/cheese platter, since my husband doesn't drink and I'm allergic to strawberries. Put extra large robes in the room since "one size" doesn't fit us.

Their free breakfast buffet is excellent - fresh and generous. I wouldn't sell my soul for the turndown milk and chocolate chip cookies, but it's a close call. They provided a stepstool for the somewhat high luxury bed (I'm short.)

Loved the spa.

Loved the local transportation, so we didn't need to worry about parking our car at other places.

Loved the river balcony.

And their restaurant, Atwaters, is amazing.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank romsfuulynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Geneva
1.9 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#2 of 2 in Geneva
4.5 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago-Saint Charles
7.5 mi away
Hotel Arista at CityGate Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago St. Charles
2.0 mi away
Hotel Baker
Hotel Baker
#6 of 11 in Saint Charles
3.5 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
3.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn St. Charles
Hilton Garden Inn St. Charles
#3 of 11 in Saint Charles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Herrington Inn & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Herrington Inn & Spa

Property: The Herrington Inn & Spa
Address: 15 S River Ln, Geneva, IL 60134-2251
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Geneva
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Geneva
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Herrington Inn & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AAA Four Diamond boutique hotel, spa, and restaurant in the Chicago suburb of Geneva, IL. Voted one of Illinois best spa hotels and located on the waterfront, each room offers a large whirlpool tub, fireplace, and furnished balcony. We are perfect for storybook weddings, corporate meetings, romantic getaways, fine dining, and relaxing in the best day spa in Geneva. Within walking distance to the Metra Train line to Chicago's Loop, and running/biking path. Evening turn down service staff deliver chilled milk and fresh baked cookies to all overnight guests. Each morning guests enjoy a complimentary European-style continental breakfast buffet served in our grand lobby. Also complimentary: wireless internet access and plenty of onsite parking. Just across from the hotel is the Fox River Trail, available year round for waterfront running or biking. Hotel is within walking distance to over 100 shops, galleries, restaurants, and pubs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your The Herrington Inn & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Herrington Inn And Spa
The Herrington Hotel Geneva
Herrington Hotel Geneva
Herrington Geneva

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing