We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romantic”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Herrington Inn & Spa
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Geneva
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 February 2014

My Love and I stayed at the Herrington Inn in January. we absolutely love, love, love this place! we stayed in one of the creamery rooms, it was so warm and cozy. we truly enjoyed the couples massage , fireplace and the bath tub for two. we have to give a Shot out to Chris. Chris thank you for what we felt like was " celebrity treatment". Chris braved the weather with us and drove us to and from a local Mexican restaurant that he recommended (perfect choice). On the day of check out Chris told us a little about the stores in the down town area and then dropped us off and we shopped around then walked back to the Inn. We had such a wonderful time and long to go back. Thank You Herrington Inn for helping us make such wonderful memories.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 763tonim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stewart B, Director of Operations at The Herrington Inn & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2014

Thank you for your review and feedback.

Our mission at The Herrington Inn & Spa is always to exceed our guest’s expectations. It is wonderful to hear that we lived up to this promise during your stay with us. I will personally ensure that your comments are shared with the team and especially Chris.

I’m very happy that you had a full experience of our Hotel, Spa and the Wonderful city of Geneva.

Thank you once again, and we look forward to welcoming you back to The Herrington Inn & Spa very soon.

Kindest Regards,
Stewart

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (409)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

203 - 209 of 409 reviews

Reviewed 31 January 2014

In the midst of all of this crazy winter weather in Michigan my husband and I planned a winter break getaway, courtesy of a Groupon deal, to Geneva Illinois and the Herrington Inn. We had serious second thoughts until we got around the lake and were treated to a sunny, crisp winter day. The Herrington Inn was so cozy, from the fireplace in the lobby to the fireplace, robes, slippers and cookies in the room. It was lovely. Our stay happened to coincide with Restaurant Week in Chicago and the Herrington Inn's restaurant, Atwater's, was participating. The 3 course meal for $33 was delightful. In addition the chef sent out a complimentary amuse bouche course of duck liver mousse on a wonton. Three perfect bites of wonderfulness to start the meal. Imagine our surprise when, at the end of our meal, we also received a complimentary mini dessert, a petite almond cake soaked with triple sec. Yum. Service was very attentive and friendly throughout our stay.

The Herrington is right at the center of Downtown Geneva and even with the brisk weather, we were able to get around easily and all is within walking distance. Lots of great places to eat and shop in town as well.

Room Tip: The courtyard rooms are the less expensive rooms but we still had a great view of the river and no s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AMEarlygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stewart B, Director of Operations at The Herrington Inn & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2014

Thank you for your review and feedback.

Our mission at The Herrington Inn & Spa is always to exceed our guest’s expectations. It is wonderful to hear that we lived up to this promise during your stay with us. I will personally ensure that your comments are shared with the team.

Our Executive Chef Jason Tsoris and his brigade were very excited to hear of your restaurant week experience. The 4 course menu allows the chefs to show off their individual talents alongside our regular seasonal menus. Hopefully we will see you again for a full Atwater’s dining experience.

Thank you once again, and we look forward to welcoming you back to The Herrington Inn & Spa very soon.

Kindest Regards,
Stewart

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2014

Went last weekend for two nights to escape some winter blah. Loved the fireplace in the room and whirlpool tub. Enjoyed reading by the fire in the large lobby area where they also serve a nice European continental breakfast. Staff was very friendly. You do need to be aware that the walls to the hallway are paper thin. You can hear every word spoken by people in the hallway. Also, it seems at this price point, the TV could be a flat screen mounted on the wall instead of a tube TV tucked to the side in a cabinet. I realize some are not there to watch TV, but on a cold winter night, it would be nice to cozy up in bed with the fireplace on and watch a movie.

Room Tip: Choose a room where the bed does not share a wall with the hallway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YellowRose56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stewart B, Director of Operations at The Herrington Inn & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 1 February 2014

Thank you for your review and feedback.

Our mission at The Herrington Inn & Spa is always to exceed our guest’s expectations. It is wonderful to hear that we lived up to this promise during your stay with us. I will personally ensure that your comments are shared with the team.

You will be very pleased to know that we have recently begun upgrading the small number of rooms which still have tube TV’s. This upgrade project is due to be completed in February, ready for your next visit.

Thank you once again, and we look forward to welcoming you back to The Herrington Inn & Spa very soon.

Kindest Regards,

Stewart

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2014

We always try to stay three or four times a year .Even though this Inn/spa is within an hour of our home we love the place. The area is great with small shops and great dining . The inn itself is first class from start to finish. Attention to detail is evident from check in to departure . Parking is free as opposed to over rated/over taxed and over charging Chicago Hotels and restaurants .Geneva is close enough to the city but far enough to believer your in the country .

Room Tip: Splurge and get a upper river view room especially when you can sit outside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Wbgb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stewart B, Director of Operations at The Herrington Inn & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2014

Thank you for your review and feedback.

Our mission at The Herrington Inn & Spa is always to exceed our guest’s expectations. It is wonderful to hear that we lived up to this promise during your stay with us. I will personally ensure that your comments are shared with the team.

Thank you once again, and we look forward to welcoming you back to The Herrington Inn & Spa very soon.

Kindest Regards,
Stewart

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2014

My wife and I have stayed here several times and been very pleased. This last Thanksgiving we stayed here again while visiting family and were very disappointed. We did not receive the usual milk and cookies on our arrival date, and there were no robes or slippers as was usual in the past. The room was tired; frayed blinds, paint worn off furniture, lots of messy caulk and sloppy repairs in the bathroom, an old faded whirlpool tub and a TV out of the 80's with poor picture and a limited channel selection. Fake, dated flowers in the room were old and dusty. Typical beverage and treat selection in room at outrageous prices. Ice machine did not work on our floor and somehow housekeeping missed our room on second day. Complimentary continental breakfast buffet was just OK.This is still a nice place with a friendly staff. With a few changes and a little more attention to detail, it could once again be a great place.

Room Tip: Waterfront rooms are nice in the warmer season.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MCT553
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stewart B, Director of Operations at The Herrington Inn & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 18 January 2014

Thank you for your review and feedback.

Our mission at The Herrington Inn & Spa is always to exceed our guest’s expectations. It is very disappointing to hear that we did not live up to this promise during your stay with us.

Please be assured that the Milk, Cookies, Robes and Slippers are all still very much a standard here at the Herrington. I will be investigating and taking corrective action on why these standards were not present delivered during your recent stay.

We have this week embarked upon an upgrading program to ensure all of our rooms are presented at the very highest level. We will also be taking delivery of new TV’s in the coming weeks to replace the dated units still present in a small number of rooms.

I do fully believe your next visit with us will not only meet but exceed you expectations.

Thank you once again, and we look forward to welcoming you back to The Herrington Inn & Spa very soon.

Kindest Regards,
Stewart

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2014

The Herrington Inn is my favorite hotel in the Chicagoland area! This time we stayed in a jr river suite-- wonderful! A little extra room with an easy chair in front of the fireplace, a comfortable canopy bed and lovely bathroom. Just a perfect spot for a little getaway. The staff is always wonderful- pleasant and willing to help with anything. Was a pretty frigid night, and they have a car and driver that will shuttle you to the town for dinner. Next time I plan on 2 nights and intend to try spa services! Thanks again Herrington- we will be back!!!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beachloverChicago_IL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stewart B, Director of Operations at The Herrington Inn & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2014

Thank you for your review and feedback.

Our mission at The Herrington Inn & Spa is always to exceed our guest’s expectations. It is wonderful to hear that we lived up to this promise during your stay with us. I will personally ensure that your comments are shared with the team.

Great to hear the warmth of our hospitality got you through a cold frigid night!

Thank you once again, and we look forward to welcoming you back to The Herrington Inn & Spa for you two night stay very soon.

Kindest Regards,

Stewart

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2013

From start to finish the Herrington Inn made for a wonderful, relaxing weekend escape in Geneva. The inn staff could not have been more helpful or welcoming between booking the room and ordering spa services through check-in and departure. With beautiful views of the Fox River, fireplace, an incredibly comfortable bed, and spacious whirlpool tub, I did not want to leave our room! I'll add that the milk & cookie turndown service is an especially nice touch, and the bath basket ordered from the spa (ready in our bathroom upon arrival) did not disappoint. Overall a memorable stay in a very well-appointed inn - we look forward to when we can stay again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bcEagle03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stewart B, Director of Operations at The Herrington Inn & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2014

Thank you for your review and feedback.

Our mission at The Herrington Inn & Spa is always to exceed our guest’s expectations. It is wonderful to hear that we lived up to this promise during your stay with us. I will personally ensure that your comments are shared with the team.

The bath menus provided through our spa team are a great way to relax and unwind, very happy to hear that it has served its purpose.

Thank you once again, and we look forward to welcoming you back to The Herrington Inn & Spa very soon.

Kindest Regards,
Stewart

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Geneva
1.9 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#2 of 2 in Geneva
150 reviews
7.5 mi away
Hotel Arista
Hotel Arista
#3 of 18 in Naperville
459 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago-Saint Charles
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago St. Charles
3.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn St. Charles
Hilton Garden Inn St. Charles
#3 of 11 in Saint Charles
498 reviews
7.6 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Chicago / Aurora
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Herrington Inn & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Herrington Inn & Spa

Address: 15 S River Ln, Geneva, IL 60134-2251
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Geneva
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Geneva
Price Range: £117 - £268 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Herrington Inn & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AAA Four Diamond boutique hotel, spa, and restaurant in the Chicago suburb of Geneva, IL. Voted one of Illinois best spa hotels and located on the waterfront, each room offers a large whirlpool tub, fireplace, and furnished balcony. We are perfect for storybook weddings, corporate meetings, romantic getaways, fine dining, and relaxing in the best day spa in Geneva. Within walking distance to the Metra Train line to Chicago's Loop, and running/biking path. Evening turn down service staff deliver chilled milk and fresh baked cookies to all overnight guests. Each morning guests enjoy a complimentary European-style continental breakfast buffet served in our grand lobby. Also complimentary: wireless internet access and plenty of onsite parking. Just across from the hotel is the Fox River Trail, available year round for waterfront running or biking. Hotel is within walking distance to over 100 shops, galleries, restaurants, and pubs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA and Ebookers so you can book your The Herrington Inn & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Herrington Hotel Geneva
The Herrington Inn And Spa
Herrington Hotel Geneva
Herrington Geneva

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing