We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Get away”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Herrington Inn & Spa
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Geneva
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 April 2014 via mobile

The place is charming, hour drive to city. Stayed for weekend. The restaurant has a limited menu, not our taste. The furniture in restaurant was tattered. Rooms were nice size, if you have small children ground floors that back up to river is not suggested. Drop off directly into river. Otherwise old world charm.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Bikerchickee4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stewart B, Director of Operations at The Herrington Inn & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2014

Thank you for your review and feedback.

Our mission at The Herrington Inn & Spa is always to exceed our guest’s expectations. It is very disappointing to hear that we did not live up to this promise during your stay with us.

I am concerned over the ‘limited menu’ you may have been presented with and would very much like to discuss this with you. We have several menus available and a very adaptable kitchen brigade who are happy to prepare any items we have. At your convenience please contact me at the Hotel so I may investigate fully.

Thank you once again, and we look forward to welcoming you back to The Herrington Inn & Spa very soon.

Kindest Regards,
Stewart

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (412)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

196 - 202 of 413 reviews

Reviewed 13 April 2014

We stayed here overnight on a Saturday and loved it. It is walking distance to many shops and restaurants and overlooks the lake. It's so charming and quaint. The staff was extremely friendly and our room was beyond expectations. It was clean with a comfy king size bed, a fireplace, whirlpool tub, and awesome turn down service. There is complimentary transportation to shopping or restaurants. Would definitely return.

Room Tip: We had a room on the end of the second floor which was nice and quiet and the balcony was overlookin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lorim585
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stewart B, Director of Operations at The Herrington Inn & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2014

Thank you for your review and feedback.

Our mission at The Herrington Inn & Spa is always to exceed our guest’s expectations. It is wonderful to hear that we lived up to this promise during your stay with us. I will personally ensure that your comments are shared with the team.

Thank you once again, and we look forward to welcoming you back to The Herrington Inn & Spa very soon.

Kindest Regards,
Stewart

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2014

My wife and I stayed at the Herrington recently and found the accomodatons to be quite charming and cozy, complete with in room fireplaces and hot tub baths...to the rustic interiors and fine dining at Atwoods restaurant...Geneva is a cool little town...

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dggsurfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stewart B, Director of Operations at The Herrington Inn & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2014

Thank you for your review and feedback.

Our mission at The Herrington Inn & Spa is always to exceed our guest’s expectations. It is wonderful to hear that we lived up to this promise during your stay with us. I will personally ensure that your comments are shared with the team.

Thank you once again, and we look forward to welcoming you back to The Herrington Inn & Spa very soon.

Kindest Regards,
Stewart

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2014

This place is amazing! We went for an overnight get away for my Mom's 65th birthday. There were 4 of us girls. We ate lunch at the restaurant in the hotel which was fabulous! Very high quality food. We also had excellent services-the drivers took us all over Geneva to shop. The men who drove us were so kind! The cookies and milk and bathrobes was such a nice touch. The spa far exceeded my expectations. It was the best Swedish massage that I have EVER gotten! Then to give us tea and set us in a warm relaxed room after we got the massages was such a nice touch. We also brought a chick flick to watch and they were kind enough to lend us a DVD player! The weekend could not have been more perfect to celebrate my Mother!!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chicago_IllinoisJjss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stewart B, Director of Operations at The Herrington Inn & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2014

Thank you for your review and feedback.

Our mission at The Herrington Inn & Spa is always to exceed our guest’s expectations. It is wonderful to hear that we lived up to this promise during your stay with us. I will personally ensure that your comments are shared with the team.

Very pleased that all the elements of your stay exceeded your expectations! Please pass our congratulations and birthday wishes on to ‘Mom’

Thank you once again, and we look forward to welcoming you back to The Herrington Inn & Spa very soon.

Kindest Regards,
Stewart

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014

Five of us went to celebrate a 50th birthday this past weekend. From the moment we were picked up at the Metra station to the next day when we left, the service was all around exceptional. We did a day full of spa treatments on Saturday, all of us having had wonderful services. The rooms have beautiful views and the fireplaces are a nice add on. The cookies and milk at turn down was a great touch. The bathrooms are large and well thought out.

We opted to have dinner off property, but the on duty drivers were happy to drive us there and pick us up, which is a great service to provide.

We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tripfemme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stewart B, Director of Operations at The Herrington Inn & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2014

Thank you for your review and feedback.

Our mission at The Herrington Inn & Spa is always to exceed our guest’s expectations. It is wonderful to hear that we lived up to this promise during your stay with us. I will personally ensure that your comments are shared with the team.

Thank you for celebrating with us and please pass on our birthday greetings!

Thank you once again, and we look forward to welcoming you back to The Herrington Inn & Spa very soon.

Kindest Regards,
Stewart

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2014

We just returned from an overnight stay at the Herrington. Everything was perfect!! 1. Cozy room with fireplace. 2. beautiful view of the river 3. pick up service after a fabulous meal at Wildwood. 4. turn down bed service with cookies, milk,and robes & slippers laid out. 5. Continental breakfast. 6. Spa massage just steps away. We really enjoyed strolling through town too. We will definitely be back!!!

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Peaker_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stewart B, Director of Operations at The Herrington Inn & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2014

Thank you for your review and feedback.

Our mission at The Herrington Inn & Spa is always to exceed our guest’s expectations. It is wonderful to hear that we lived up to this promise during your stay with us. I will personally ensure that your comments are shared with the team.

We shall endeavor to give you another 6 great reasons to visit again on your next vist!

Thank you once again, and we look forward to welcoming you back to The Herrington Inn & Spa very soon.

Kindest Regards,
Stewart

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2014

This was a much anticipated get a way and the hotel room was dilapidated.
Although the view was stunning and the restaurant good, the over all experience was very disappointing.
The hot water did not get hot, tub jets did not work and I was awakened by work men in the room next door bright and early. No sleeping in for this guest!
The room needs a tremendous amount of work--
Carpet was torn by the fireplace, walls and ceiling cracked and mold on the shower ceiling.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank E2007CEjohnv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stewart B, Director of Operations at The Herrington Inn & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2014

Thank you for your review and feedback.

Our mission at The Herrington Inn & Spa is always to exceed our guest’s expectations. It is very disappointing to hear that we did not live up to this promise during your stay with us.

Having spoken to the front desk regarding the situation the upgraded room you requested and subsequently moved to should not have been in our available inventory. I do sincerely apologize for this error and the disruption caused to your stay.

I am led to believe compensation was offered and accepted upon departure, if this I snot the case or if I can be of any further assistance please do not hesitate to contact me directly at the hotel.

Thank you once again, and we look forward to welcoming you back to The Herrington Inn & Spa very soon.

Kindest Regards,

Stewart

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Geneva
1.9 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#2 of 2 in Geneva
151 reviews
7.5 mi away
Hotel Arista
Hotel Arista
#3 of 18 in Naperville
461 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago-Saint Charles
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Chicago / Aurora
3.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn St. Charles
Hilton Garden Inn St. Charles
#3 of 11 in Saint Charles
499 reviews
2 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago St. Charles
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Herrington Inn & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Herrington Inn & Spa

Address: 15 S River Ln, Geneva, IL 60134-2251
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Geneva
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Geneva
Price Range: £116 - £227 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Herrington Inn & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AAA Four Diamond boutique hotel, spa, and restaurant in the Chicago suburb of Geneva, IL. Voted one of Illinois best spa hotels and located on the waterfront, each room offers a large whirlpool tub, fireplace, and furnished balcony. We are perfect for storybook weddings, corporate meetings, romantic getaways, fine dining, and relaxing in the best day spa in Geneva. Within walking distance to the Metra Train line to Chicago's Loop, and running/biking path. Evening turn down service staff deliver chilled milk and fresh baked cookies to all overnight guests. Each morning guests enjoy a complimentary European-style continental breakfast buffet served in our grand lobby. Also complimentary: wireless internet access and plenty of onsite parking. Just across from the hotel is the Fox River Trail, available year round for waterfront running or biking. Hotel is within walking distance to over 100 shops, galleries, restaurants, and pubs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Booking.com so you can book your The Herrington Inn & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Herrington Inn And Spa
The Herrington Hotel Geneva
Herrington Hotel Geneva
Herrington Geneva

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing