We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Ale House!”
Review of Geneva Ale House

Geneva Ale House
Ranked #27 of 148 Restaurants in Geneva
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Chicago IL
Level Contributor
427 reviews
286 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Awesome Ale House!”
Reviewed 6 July 2014

We stopped after the Flea Market to watch our team and grab a burger and a cool beer. What a delightful surprise! The food was amazing…Door County Cheese Curds served with bacon aioli and the Ale House Burger…8 oz with applewood smoked bacon, sharp cheddar, grilled onions and a fried egg…plus house made potato chips. Quiet Saturday afternoon with great service…lots of families and couples arriving as we were leaving.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank ParisgalChicagoIL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    43
    7
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Racine, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
34 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Zombie Dust”
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Our group of 5 had dinner at the Geneva Ale House last Tuesday night! Got seated right away (it was pouring rain, I think people stayed in) Our server was very friendly, told us about the specials and took our drink orders. I ordered Zombie Dust on draft, I've heard good things about this beer, and it was delicious! We got the fried pickles and pork belly tacos for apps, I could make a meal of the pork tacos! Ordered the special burger of the month ( andouille sausage and beef patty) a bit too "sausagey" for my taste, I've had really great burgers here previously. Love the pretzel buns and the sweet potato fries. Service was quick, and priced fairly. I'll be back for sure.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mike H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Illinois
Level Contributor
730 reviews
606 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
“Great food and beer selection”
Reviewed 23 May 2014

It was a busy Friday night, so instead of waiting for the table we sat at the bar. The bartender was very friendly and provided great service. He told us that they'd had a special meal earlier in the week that included rabbit and quail, so the soup of the night was a rabbit and quail stew. I had to give it a try, and he counted it as my side even though I don't think the menu allowed that. The stew was good, like beef stew, but with a bit more flavor. I had a Cuban sandwich to go with it. The Cuban was very good, with a bit of a kick to it. The beer list was incredibly long, but I went with a Sierra Nevada Pale Ale, one of my favorites. My wife had the fish tacos and a glass of chardonnay, and enjoyed both. This was a very nice dinner - much better than I expected in a restaurant situated in an old movie theater lobby.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank larryd6578
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A classy local watering hole!”
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Geneva Ale House has a fantastic selection of beers from around the world as well as mouth-watering food. This is not your typical local watering hole! As other reviews on this site have indicated, the atmosphere is very pleasant and clean. Arrive early on Friday or Saturday nights, or you could have to wait for a table. Highly recommended!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 251GregB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arizona
Level Contributor
181 reviews
155 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Friendly, great food, beyond what you expect from a pub”
Reviewed 9 April 2014

try the shredded pork, try the sausage plate, try the fish and chips, try the burgers, try the cod with brussel sprouts - one thing is better than the next

delicious ciders [pear is my favorite] as well as ever changing list of beers makes this an interesting place gets crowded shortly after 5 so get there early closed Mondays

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MaryAnn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Geneva Ale House also viewed

 

Been to Geneva Ale House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing