We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great business meal spot” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of FoxFire Restaurant

FoxFire Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
FoxFire Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #15 of 147 Restaurants in Geneva
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$25 - US$100
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Bar Scene, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Transit: Pace bus stop on Route 31 and Rt 38. 4 blocks from Metra station.
Description: FoxFire owners, the father and son team of Curt and K.C., invite you to select from an amazing menu that boasts traditional favorites an extensive wine list, featuring over fifty wines by the glass. While dining indoors, watch our Executive Chef, Kevin Gillespie, and his dedicated staff as they deftly prepare your meal in our “New York” style kitchen. FoxFire offers three-season dining, under the sun or stars, on our patio area with umbrella-topped tables.FoxFire is dedicated to providing you with an unforgettable meal through first-class food and dining service.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great business meal spot”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

Most nice/trendy restaurants in the St. Charles/Geneva area have their tables so close together that they don't lend themselves to conduct business in. Firefox is an exception. Their dining room is spacious. In addition it is very well appointed and not as noisy as you'd expect, even on a Friday night.

Their New England Clam Chowder, Filet Mignon, Bernaise Sauce, Garlic Mashed Potatoes and Apple Parfait were all excellent and served expediently. The waitress recommended wine was an excellent choice as well.

The service was very good. I even recall thinking to myself that we must have had five different water boys come refill our glasses, which never went past half-full. Kudos!

PS - business was conducted successfully!

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SantiagoEdgar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    55
    23
    7
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Palatine, Illinois
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A Wonderful Birthday Dinner”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

My significant other and I visited this restaurant on Friday, July 18th in celebration of my 50th birthday. Although neither of us had ever been to the restaurant before, we were THRILLED with our visit.

He had the New York Strip Steak and said it was one of the best steaks he had ever had. I had the Prime Rib which was far more flavorful than I get at most restaurants.

The service was phenomenal. All of the staff paid attention to the details, from keeping the water glasses full, to the packaging of the horseradish sauce and au jus in my take home container.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Dana C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
34 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Awesome meal, awesome service!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

I read reviews of this restaurant online and had never been there before. We were looking for a steak/seafood place in the Fox Valley area for a special occasion. All I can say is wow! The meal was fantastic. We had a large group and everyone had something completely different. The seafood was outstanding and the steak was equally outstanding. We each had dessert as well and everyone enjoyed them as well. The service was outstanding! I wish I could remember her name! Even though this is a pretty pricey place, I can't wait to go back again for another special occasion!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
63 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Try the Shrimp Dejonge Appetizer”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

We had a great dining experience at FoxFire. Starting with a wonderful take on Shrimp Dejonge (included a little bacon, what's not to like), a tender filet crusted with blue cheese, peppercorn filet bites, all nicely presented and very tasty. We did have one dish that was below par. The crab cakes were 99% filler, very little crab.

The service was top notch, almost to the point of feeling like they were pushing to turn the table even though the place was 1/2 full. The finishing touch was the owner coming by the table to ask how everything was.

On departure noticed that they had a small band entertaining on the outside deck. A little bit of something for everyone.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank americal7071
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
261 reviews
145 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
“Great Service and Atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

Good wine, Tuna, atmosphere and service. We didn't like the Baby Back ribs; the sauce was not very good. Filet was ordered medium rare and arrived to table well done......no red or pink. It was sent back and new filet was medium but tasty.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank IllinoisKate1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed FoxFire Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to FoxFire Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing