We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Hotel, Terrible Service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Lombard Downers Grove
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Glen Ellyn
Reviewed 22 November 2013

My experience with the Crowne Plaza, Glen Ellyn staff was very disappointing. I planned to reserve my wedding block, after-hours event, and "bon voyage" breakfast here, but I had to cancel due to the unresponsive staff that I was working with. Planning a wedding is already stressful and that last thing you need is to have disorganization and chaos from your hotel - especially since they will be accommodating many of your guests!

To make a long story short, after months from trying to get my questions answered and obtain correct contracts for my event - I had to back out. I expressed my dissatisfaction on two occasions to the event manager I was working with. Nothing had been done to address the untimely responses or correct the mixed-answers I was receiving. It was an extremely disappointing situation. Finally, after waiting 3 week for an overdue contract I contacted this woman's manager. Again, nothing was done to correct the situation or even attempt to justify or excuse this unacceptable service we were receiving.

My advice: Be cautious if you are planning an event here.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Liz R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carl C, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Lombard Downers Grove, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2013

Dear LizR,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review and I am extremely sorry that you were having issues with the hotel. It was great speaking to you on the phone the other day and I was happy that I got the chance to meet you and your fiancé at the hotel. I hope everything was explained to your satisfaction by me and it is my hope that we can resolve the issues that you experienced and move forward with your plans. Our goal is 100% satisfaction and I am positive we can rectify all the issues you experienced. I have also had discussions with my staff to prevent issues like these in the future. I look forward to hearing from you soon and hope we can be part of making your special day the best!

Best wishes,

CarlC
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (272)
There are newer reviews for Crowne Plaza Lombard Downers Grove
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

137 - 143 of 272 reviews

Reviewed 17 November 2013

I stayed 2 nights at this hotel over the weekend (Fri-Sun). The room was very loud - I heard the noise from the busy street (Roosevelt Rd), other guests shutting their doors and flushing toilets. I was disappointed with the lack of complementary coffee in the lobby and the breakfast buffet not starting until 7 am on the weekend. It was a work related stay for me, and I had to leave the hotel before 7 am, looking for Starbucks. Will not stay there again.
The room was clean and the bed was comfy, but I did not get a good night sleep because of the noises.

Room Tip: My room was on 3rd floor and it was super loud from the street noises .
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SavyTraveler11234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carl C, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Lombard Downers Grove, responded to this reviewResponded 24 November 2013

Dear Savy Traveler 11234,

Thank you for taking time out of your day to provide feedback regarding your stay. I want to ensure you that I have brought up your concerns with my staff. Coffee is now offered complimentary in our lobby on the weekends and is available at 6:30 am. Also if you require coffee earlier the front desk will be more than happy to accommodate you. It is important to remedy issues that guests bring to our attention so we can provide the service you expect from a Crowne Plaza. We continue to refine our service and quality from guests comments such as yours to ensure customer satisfaction. We hope when your travels bring you back to our area you will choose us again to see how your comments have impacted the way we look at our service. If you would like to discuss your issues further please contact me at your convenience. My sincere apologies for your issues.

Wishing you and your family a happy holiday season!

CarlC
General manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2013

We recently stayed here for a hockey trip and the room was overall nice with a fair price. We did find areas that that needed to be vacuumed better since we found food from the last guests. The front desk staff was very slow and not overly polite. They offered a VERY overpriced breakfast buffet to the hockey team with barely any food choices. My wife and u ate in the restaurant and the food was good but wow did it take forever to get breakfast. The server lady at the buffet was crabby and looked like she hated her job. They had on site security and boy did they have an ego. We asked a question and boy you would have thought we asked him for money. Would I go back? No since there are so many other choices.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a King Sweet, it is worth the price.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Toddamy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carl C, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Lombard Downers Grove, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2013

Dear Toddamy,

I apologize for the issues you experienced at our hotel during your stay. The breakfast buffet was available in the restaurant however the hotel set up a separate buffet in one of our banquet rooms and this was communicated to the tournament director. The tournament director did contact us and make some changes to the breakfast buffet and we corrected this the very next day and changed the choices to the ones that were preferred by the group, we experienced no issues the following day with the buffet. The tournament director also set up a discounted rate for the breakfast buffet which was available for purchase at the front desk. I also phoned the security company to inform them of the issues you experienced with our security staff and they are being addressed. I have shared your review with my staff regarding their friendliness, it is my hope this will help them improve the guest experience. While I understand there are many choices out there for lodging it is my hope that you will return to our hotel to see that we truly value your survey and strive to correct issues that guests may have. Thank you for taking the time to fill out this survey.

Best regards,

CarlC
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2013

My stay at the hotel was a great experience, was there for friends wedding and the staff was terrific. They were extremely helpful and went way beyond any expectations to meet our needs and requests. Our room was exceptional and the best beds I have ever experienced in a hotel. Would highly recommend this place to everyone, especially if they are planning any kind of event.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Farmguy301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carl C, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Lombard Downers Grove, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2013

Dear Farmguy301,

Thank you very much fro the great comments regarding our staff. I am glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you soon when your travels bring you back to our area.

Best Regards,

CarlC
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2013

The room was huge and very tastefully decorated. The staff was very friendly and helpful providing some extra information on the general area. The bed was plush and provided a wonderful nights sleep. The hotel itself is beautiful on the inside. Room was clean and furnishings appeared nearly new.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dennis F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carl C, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Lombard Downers Grove, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2013

Hi Dennis,

Thanks for the wonderful review and I am glad that you were able to enjoy our hotel! Thanks for the staff helpfulness comments but this falls right in line with our recent accomplishment which is that we have just won the "Torchbearers Award" for customer service and quality from Intercontinental Hotels Group and we pride ourselves on customer service! It was a pleasure to read that you favored our bedding and furnishings.

I appreciate you choosing us for your lodging needs as I know there are many choices out there. As I stated we try our best to go above and beyond for guests and I am happy to post your review for the entire staff to see and let them know how there efforts pay off for the Crowne Plaza Lombard Downers Grove!

Best regards,

CarlC
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2013

Stayed here for the first time last nigh t and had a great experience. Staff was very pleasant and helpful. The room was very large and the bed was extra comfortable. The restaurant in the hotel was very convenient and the food was excellent. I will stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tklasinski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carl C, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Lombard Downers Grove, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2013

Dear tklasinski,

I appreciate your wonderful comments about our staff and the quality of our hotel. It is also nice to see that you enjoyed your dining experience in our restaurant Glen Prairie. The Glen Prairie restaurant was recognized as one of the top "20" places to eat by Chicago Magazine and we have also been spotlighted on our local television station WGN Chicago.

My best to you and your family,

CarlC
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2013

Very nice facility, The staff was very helpful. Due to the 24 hour cancellation policy ,inclement weather conditions and coming by train there had to be modifications to the reservation. There was a minor billing issue, but the staff was wonderful and took care of the issue. Exceptional staff, professional but yet not stuffy. The shuttle service is a very nice feature. Kathy was an excellent driver.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank skyhawk324
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carl C, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Lombard Downers Grove, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2013

Hi Skyhawk 324,

It is comforting to read that my staff was able to assist you favorably with your reservation concerns. I will also let the shuttle driver know of your great comment regarding her service.

Wishing you safe travels,

CarlC
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glen Ellyn
3.0 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Lombard
2.1 mi away
Doubletree Suites by Hilton Hotel & Conference Center Chicago / Downers Grove
2.0 mi away
Hyatt Place Chicago/Lombard
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Comfort Suites Lombard
Comfort Suites Lombard
#7 of 10 in Lombard
93 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Westin Lombard Yorktown Center
1.4 mi away
SureStay Plus Hotel Chicago Lombard
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Lombard Downers Grove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Lombard Downers Grove

Address: 1250 Roosevelt Rd, Glen Ellyn, IL 60137-6006
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > DuPage County > Glen Ellyn
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Glen Ellyn
Price Range: £81 - £139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Lombard Downers Grove 3.5*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Green hotel in Glen Ellyn Offers Service and Comfort Located just off I-355 and near Chicago, the newly renovated Crowne Plaza Lombard Downers Grove is the ideal hotel for both business and leisure travelers. With seven high-tech meeting rooms and convenient access to regional and Chicago's attractions, our hotel in Glen Ellyn is the Place to Meet. Just minutes from our Glen Ellyn hotel's location you'll find corporate headquarters, including McDonald's corporate offices, just three miles away. Sara Lee, Accenture and Aramark are each within five miles of our hotel in Glen Ellyn. You can leave the driving to us and use our complimentary shuttle to area companies and attractions within six miles. While lodging in our Glen Ellyn hotel leisure guests can easily visit area attractions that include the Morton Arboretum, Yorktown Center and Oakbrook Mall. You can fully relax in rooms that feature 32' LCD TVs, Roomlinx Entertainment and high-speed Internet access. Our Glen Ellyn hotel has made a commitment to the environment with recycling programs and low E glass windows. Our restaurant, Glen Prairie Fine Food & Drink, also supports sustainable farming practices by using natural ingredients. From the natural colors and textures to our environmentally friendly programs, the newly renovated Crowne Plaza Lombard Downers Grove hotel offers guests great accommodations with a commitment to living green. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Crowne Plaza Lombard Downers Grove reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Glen Ellyn Lombard Hotel Glen Ellyn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing