We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Complete comfort!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Lombard Downers Grove
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Glen Ellyn
Certificate of Excellence
Glen Ellyn, Illinois
Level Contributor
333 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Complete comfort!”
Reviewed 3 January 2014

We were having work done on our home and needed to get out for two days, and we decided to stay here. What a great idea. The beds are excellent, the restaurant and bar was good, and the service was great from the front desk clerk to the hostess in the restaurant.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carl C, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Lombard Downers Grove, responded to this review, 7 February 2014
Dear Mike A,

I am happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and I will be sure to pass along your great comments regarding the staff. These are great comments to read and go hand in hand with our recent award for customer service which was voted on by guests like yourself.

Thanks again!

CarlC
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    129
    88
    23
    15
    13
See reviews for
79
32
20
115
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Claremore, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
402 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

Very clean rooms with an excellent shower. Good location with easy access to the interstates. Breakfast buffet could have been better for the price charged. For the money this is a very good hotel. We were on the third floor and it was very quiet. We had a room close to the elevator which was very convenient. The hotel is all non smoking which we really appreicated. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve74017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carl C, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Lombard Downers Grove, responded to this review, 7 February 2014
Dear steve 74017,

Thank you for the nice comments regarding our hotel! I have mentioned to the chef that you would like to see a change on the buffet and he is working to improve the breakfast buffet. Thank you very muchh for your feedback on this. We look forward to seeing you again when your travels bring you back to our area.

Best regards,

CarlC
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2013

This is the second time we have stayed at this hotel! It is such a great retro design (recent remodel), the pool is fantastic and it has a fabulous restaurant attached (Glen Prairie). The front desk staff is always friendly and professional. The lobby is very attractive. Coffee is available in the morning.The rooms have very comfortable beds and linens. Our room had a love seat with a hassock so two people could read or watch TV without having to be in bed. The windows open (a rarity in most hotels). There is a refrigerator, small coffee maker and a safe in the room. Everything is clean and immaculate. The bathroom has a magnifying make-up mirror. The shower was wonderful. Another plus is that the hotel supports recycling, giving you a brown paper bag to put your recyclables in. The pool is outstanding in design and size. It is gratefully not in the middle of a lobby. You can access without having to be on 'display'. It too is very clean and well kept as is the exercise room.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patricia E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carl C, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Lombard Downers Grove, responded to this review, 12 March 2014
Hi PE,

Happy to see that you returned to our hotel and continue to enjoy yourself! We obtain many comments regarding the location of our pool and how quiet it is because it is seperated from our rooms. I will be sure to let the housekeeping department know about how clean you mentioned their rooms are and I am sure they will be happy to hear this. If you ever need anything when you are staying with us please just pick up your room phone and call the front desk or you can call me at extension 1265.

Regards,

CarlC
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
central Illinois
Level Contributor
36 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2013

The service we received in this hotel was about the best we ever had. The front desk person was so friendly. She even checked on us and the kids while at the pool to see if there was anything she could help us with. Plus she helped us out with snacks. It wasn't just what she did, but her attitude was so great. We talked for a while about how good the service was, which we normally don't do.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hefty_illinois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carl C, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Lombard Downers Grove, responded to this review, 22 December 2013
Dear Hefty_illinois,

I am happy to hear that our service we provide to guests exceeded your expectations. We pride ourselves on our service and it is great to see that you have taken the time to recognize us! I will be sure to post your survey for the entire staff to see. I will also be sure to bring this to the attention to the front desk to show how much they impact a guests stay. We know there are many choices available for your lodging needs and we are happy you stay with us! It is important for us to make you feel at home while you are away from yours.

Best wishes to you and your family this holiday season!

Carl C
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta
Level Contributor
57 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2013

Nice trendy well decorated hotel.Lavish roomy lobby. Mary front desk personnel very helpful upon checking me in. I was given a king size bed on the 4th floor. Very quite hotel. Great firm bed. Restaurant served great breakfast and the staff was very attentive. The silver ware was very clean and shiny. The quantity was more than I could eat. It was a king size breakfast and was very reasonable. Stay at this hotel next till in the Glen Ellyn area. Plenty of parking and right of the I-355.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HondaAtlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carl C, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Lombard Downers Grove, responded to this review, 5 December 2013
Dear HondaAtlanta,

Thank you for recognizing Mary at the front desk she has been a great addition to our staff and is always willing to help. I am glad to see you enjoyed your stay and thank you very much for choosing us for your lodging needs. If you did not get the chance to enjoy our manager's reception please try to do so during your next stay. Our reception runs Monday-Thursday from 5:30 - 6:30 pm and we serve light appetizers, beer, soda and wine! Not to mention the great company of one of our managers!

Have a great holiday season!

CarlC
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 December 2013

We stayed here and had no problems. The rooms were clean and the hotel was quiet. Great pool and fitness center! We were a little concerned about the area of the city it is in because the city looks rundown when you get off I-355 but the hotel itself was great!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cfordboiler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carl C, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Lombard Downers Grove, responded to this review, 5 December 2013
Hi cfordboiler,

Thank you for the nice review! I wanted to address the area for you. There is actually many things to do around in the area and we have some very nice shopping malls, clubs, theaters all within 4 miles. Our shuttle can take you there free of charge and pick you up when you are finished. All you have to so is schedule the shuttle at the front desk when you check-in. So next time you visit us and you have the time visit the Oakbrook Shopping mall, Yorktown shopping mall or any of the many places within our area!

Happy holidays!

CarlC
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Forest Park, Washington
Level Contributor
83 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2013

Got this hotel through priceline, so we didn't pay anywhere near rack rate. It's a relatively new hotel, very convenient to the 355 tollway and Yorktown Mall, so lots of food and shopping options. The room was nicely decorated but was showing some wear and tear even though its new. We were there during the week and it was fairly quiet. Once the weekend came, the groups started to arrive and the hotel became noisy. Lots of late night door slams and conversations in the hallway. Free internet and easy parking a definite plus. The restaurant seemed to be busy, but we never made it there for a meal. We'll go back but will be careful about weekends and certainly won't pay rack rate.

Room Tip: Go for the 4th floor and ask for a room facing the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank theimerle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carl C, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Lombard Downers Grove, responded to this review, 5 December 2013
Dear theimerle,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel! I have informed the maintenance staff to check all the doors throughout the hotel to see if they can adjust the door swings so they will not slam shut. Next time you visit us please be sure to eat in our restaurant Glen Prairie. Glen Prairie has been recognized in Chicago Magazine and also on the television show "Chicago's Best". I am sure you will not be disappointed.

Best regards,

CarlC
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glen Ellyn
2.0 mi away
Hyatt Place Chicago/Lombard
3.0 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Lombard
1.8 mi away
The Westin Lombard Yorktown Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Doubletree Suites by Hilton Hotel & Conference Center Chicago / Downers Grove
2.2 mi away
Chicago Marriott Suites Downers Grove
1.3 mi away
Residence Inn Chicago Lombard
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Lombard Downers Grove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Lombard Downers Grove

Property: Crowne Plaza Lombard Downers Grove
Address: 1250 Roosevelt Rd, Glen Ellyn, IL 60137-6006
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > DuPage County > Glen Ellyn
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Glen Ellyn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Lombard Downers Grove 3.5*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Green hotel in Glen Ellyn Offers Service and Comfort Located just off I-355 and near Chicago, the newly renovated Crowne Plaza Lombard Downers Grove is the ideal hotel for both business and leisure travelers. With seven high-tech meeting rooms and convenient access to regional and Chicago's attractions, our hotel in Glen Ellyn is the Place to Meet. Just minutes from our Glen Ellyn hotel's location you'll find corporate headquarters, including McDonald's corporate offices, just three miles away. Sara Lee, Accenture and Aramark are each within five miles of our hotel in Glen Ellyn. You can leave the driving to us and use our complimentary shuttle to area companies and attractions within six miles. While lodging in our Glen Ellyn hotel leisure guests can easily visit area attractions that include the Morton Arboretum, Yorktown Center and Oakbrook Mall. You can fully relax in rooms that feature 32' LCD TVs, Roomlinx Entertainment and high-speed Internet access. Our Glen Ellyn hotel has made a commitment to the environment with recycling programs and low E glass windows. Our restaurant, Glen Prairie Fine Food & Drink, also supports sustainable farming practices by using natural ingredients. From the natural colors and textures to our environmentally friendly programs, the newly renovated Crowne Plaza Lombard Downers Grove hotel offers guests great accommodations with a commitment to living green. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crowne Plaza Lombard Downers Grove reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Glen Ellyn Lombard Hotel Glen Ellyn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing