We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Lombard Downers Grove
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Glen Ellyn
Reviewed 21 February 2014

This hotel was very nice because the rooms were very clean, bathroom well designed & up-to-date with granite countertop & shower(not cramped), good quality beds & good sound insulation from outside traffic. Hotel staff very friendly, very helpful & accommodating. Allowed me to switch rooms without a hassle, due to faulty toilet. Only complaint is the light that comes into room at the top of the curtains at nighttime, from outside lights. It made it hard to sleep with the amount of light that came in from the top of the curtains throughout the night. The breakfast buffet is ok. I have had better & I have had worse. The eggs are reconstituted eggs, but great bacon. The quality of the baked goods could be better, but passable. Overall, though, I will probably stay here again, because of the overall quality and because they have a great shuttle service! The lady who drives the shuttle, Kathy, is very friendly, very helpful and very punctual. Couldn't ask for a better complimentary transportation service!

Room Tip: The rooms facing the pool probably are darker at nighttime, making it easier to sleep well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jean H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carl C, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Lombard Downers Grove, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2014

Dear JeanH,

What a great tip for future travelers concerning the light coming into the rooms! However there are drape clips on the drapes in which you would be able to fasten the drapes close to prevent light from entering the room and you can inquire with the front desk concerning the drape clips. I will be sure to let our chef know about your comments regarding the buffet. I know he takes great pride in his restaurant and will take actions to review and improve where necessary.

Thanks again for the tips!

CarlC
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (274)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

124 - 130 of 274 reviews

Reviewed 18 February 2014

The good - For the most part the rooms were clean, staff was nice, hotel was pretty quiet.

The bad - It's hard to just ignore the fact that there were someone else's clothes left behind on the floor of the room when I arrived. They appeared to have some type of reception in the lobby, but it was very small and takes place about three feet from the entrance door. and during busy traffic times, the street at the hotel is a nightmare - impossible to get in or out of if you're turning left and crossing lanes of traffic.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tc3399
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carl C, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Lombard Downers Grove, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2014

Dear tc3399,

I will be sure to let the housekeeping staff know of your comment regarding that the rooms are clean but I will also mention that you had found someones articles of clothing on the floor. All rooms are cleaned and reispected by the executive housekeeper and I will be sure to review their procedures regarding the inspections to prevent this in the future. In regards to the reception in the lobby near the entrance door this is our guest reception that we hold Monday-Thursday from 5:30 pm to 6:30 pm in which we serve light appetizers, beer, soda and wine to all our guests that attend. During your next stay be sure to visit us at our reception.

Regarding your comment of the difficulty of exiting the hotel your comment is the truth it is very difficult to cross traffic if not impossible however for your future stays instead of exiting on the South side of the building you can exit on the East side of the building and it is very easy to exit here. Then you have the convenience of the stop light at the corner of Finley and Roosevelt road which makes it easy to go left or right. This is where I exit and it is much safer during the rush hour. I hope this helps!!!

Thank you for reviewing our hotel!

Best regards,

CarlC
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2014

This hotel is excellent in every way. Very clean and very hospitable. The staff is awesome! There is a one hour happy hour with free alcoholic drinks during the week, which is much appreciated. I was able to meet the group and restaurant manager during this time. Beds were just OK. There was a refrigerator provided in my room, microwaves for lease, and plenty of light in the bathroom. They also have a gourmet restaurant, Glen Prairie, attached to the hotel which is worth eating every meal at. They have plenty of local brews. The breakfast buffet is OK. I stayed during winter storms and they promptly plowed the parking lots. I will definitely stay again!

Room Tip: I stayed on the back of the hotel which was quite nice. I'm sure every room is great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hippo5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carl C, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Lombard Downers Grove, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2014

Dear Hippo5,

Thanks for taking the time to review our hotel and I am glad you enjoyed your stay. The managers reception which is held weekly from 5:30 pm to 6:30 pm is a great way to meet our guests and I am glad you took advantage of this oppurtunity. I will pass on your comments to our restuarant staff on how much you enjoyed our award winning restaurant Glen Prairie.

Have a great day!

CarlC
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2014

We stayed here for one night. The non-stop winter storms had left my family feeling some major cabin fever. We wanted to treat the kids to an overnight with pool time. This hotel is superior in every way. The staff, especially Mary at the front desk, is very attentive to every need. I booked the room to include 2 adult breakfast at the restaurant located within the hotel. I highly recommend the hotel and the restaurant! You won't go wrong staying here. One bit of advise however, the website states that the superior 2 queen rooms have sleeper sofas. They do not. Mary kindly sent a roll away bed for us.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lovethesun522
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carl C, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Lombard Downers Grove, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2014

Dear luvthesun522,

This is the place when you have cabin fever! I am happy you could get away with your family and enjoy our great pool and facilty. Thank you very much for taking the time to review our hotel and we look forward to your return.

Regards,

CarlC

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2014

By far one of the best hotel experiences I've had. The entire staff is dedicated to providing service that over delivers. Jodie, at the front desk, will go above and beyond to make sure your stay is exceptional.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GoConfidently1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carl C, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Lombard Downers Grove, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2014

Dear GoConfidently1,

I appreciate you taking the time to mention Jodi by name. She receives many compliments regarding her service and she will be happy to hear that she was mentioned in a survey. It's great to read that you enjoyed your stay. When you return to our hotel make sure you check out our restaurant Glen Prairie, it is an award winning restaurant and you are sure to enjoy the selections.

Wishing you safe travels,

CarlC

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2014

A very nice property that has been nicely renovated. The best service, great rooms, comfy beds, and the restaurant was very pleasant too. I can't say enough about the front desk staff, and their effort to make sure everything was as it should be. Top Notch

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sailorjeff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carl C, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Lombard Downers Grove, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2014

Hi Sailorjeff,

Thanks for the great review and I will be sure to let the front desk know how happy you were with their service! The front desk is a great team and they really work together to ensure everyone is taken care of here at the Crowne Plaza Lombard Downers Grove.

Bet you can't wait for summer to get back on the water!

Thanks again,

CarlC

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2014

We needed to spend a cold and rainy weekend in the Glen Ellyn/Wheaton area for a family function and chose the Crowne Plaza for its central location. We were not disappointed with our choice.
The staff greeted us with smiles and a warm welcome. The check-in was smooth and our request for adjoining rooms was easily met.
The rooms were clean and (for the most part) comfortable. The mattresses were a bit firmer than we would have liked, but the bed was clean and fresh smelling, always a plus.
The bathroom was immaculate. We have stayed in more expensive/higher profile hotels where this was not the case. Its obvious that the Housekeeping staff take their jobs seriously and turn out an excellent room.
The hotel's restaurant leaves something to be desired. You can read about that in its own review.
We highly recommend this hotel, especially for families with children

Room Tip: Rooms facing the back end of the property are quieter (no road noise.)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank revrpb619
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carl C, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Lombard Downers Grove, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2014

Hi The rev619,

I am happy to read that you enjoyed your stay! It also is is a pleasure to see that you were happy with the cleanliness of your room. I want to thank you for mentioning the housekeeping department as so often they are forgotten about when they really work hard to provide everyone with a clean freash stay so you can enjoy our home while you are away from yours.

I will be sure to look for the review on the restaurant so please feel confident that I will address this with both the chef and the restaurant manager. We are an award winning restaurant and have been featured on WGN television and we were also rated as the top ten places to eat by Chicago Magazine so thank you for your feedback which will allow us to address the issue and correct.

Thanks again for taking the time to review us!

CarlC

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glen Ellyn
2.1 mi away
Doubletree Suites by Hilton Hotel & Conference Center Chicago / Downers Grove
2 mi away
Hyatt Place Chicago/Lombard
2.2 mi away
Chicago Marriott Suites Downers Grove
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Comfort Inn Downers Grove
Comfort Inn Downers Grove
#3 of 7 in Downers Grove
104 reviews
3 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Lombard
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Chicago Downers Grove
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Lombard Downers Grove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Lombard Downers Grove

Address: 1250 Roosevelt Rd, Glen Ellyn, IL 60137-6006
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > DuPage County > Glen Ellyn
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Glen Ellyn
Price Range: £73 - £122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Lombard Downers Grove 3.5*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Green hotel in Glen Ellyn Offers Service and Comfort Located just off I-355 and near Chicago, the newly renovated Crowne Plaza Lombard Downers Grove is the ideal hotel for both business and leisure travelers. With seven high-tech meeting rooms and convenient access to regional and Chicago's attractions, our hotel in Glen Ellyn is the Place to Meet. Just minutes from our Glen Ellyn hotel's location you'll find corporate headquarters, including McDonald's corporate offices, just three miles away. Sara Lee, Accenture and Aramark are each within five miles of our hotel in Glen Ellyn. You can leave the driving to us and use our complimentary shuttle to area companies and attractions within six miles. While lodging in our Glen Ellyn hotel leisure guests can easily visit area attractions that include the Morton Arboretum, Yorktown Center and Oakbrook Mall. You can fully relax in rooms that feature 32' LCD TVs, Roomlinx Entertainment and high-speed Internet access. Our Glen Ellyn hotel has made a commitment to the environment with recycling programs and low E glass windows. Our restaurant, Glen Prairie Fine Food & Drink, also supports sustainable farming practices by using natural ingredients. From the natural colors and textures to our environmentally friendly programs, the newly renovated Crowne Plaza Lombard Downers Grove hotel offers guests great accommodations with a commitment to living green. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crowne Plaza Lombard Downers Grove reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Glen Ellyn Lombard Hotel Glen Ellyn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing