We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“This place is excellent! ” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Waterleaf

Waterleaf
Reserve with OpenTable
Waterleaf is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #12 of 92 Restaurants in Glen Ellyn
Price range: US$31 - US$50
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Park
Naperville, IL 60563
Level Contributor
39 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“This place is excellent! ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014 via mobile

This was our second time visiting! The first time was on a Monday, which was a bit different because of the fixed menu and the COD students were preparing and serving. We loved our visit both times. The food was excellent. They also have a wonderful wine list. The atmosphere is quiet and the staff very friendly. We will definitely recommend and be back for a third time !

Helpful?
Thank JHughes50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    16
    6
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Naperville, Illinois
Level Contributor
118 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Great food but administratively challenged”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014

When we arrived at Waterleaf, they informed us that they did not have our reservation for four. Luckily I had save the confirmation email from Open Table and was able to convince the man at the door that we did have one. He acquiesced and showed us to a table. While we were waiting for the other couple were we dining with we saw them being escorted through the restaurant to a different section and table. Getting their attention, they told us that they were told that we had not arrived yet! Don't know what the problem was but it was pretty disconcerting to have high end restaurant mess up that way.

Our intro out of the way, the food was excellent. We all ordered from the price fixed menu and were very satisfied with the gnocchi, salads and soup for appetizers. We had four dinners of fish that were cooked to perfection and the desserts were the perfect ending to a great dinner. Our server was very good and had good explanations of all the menu items and saw that we were taken care of in a timely manner. We will be back and hope the reservations are not screwed up again.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank naper70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naperville, Illinois
Level Contributor
77 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great 3 Course Fixed Price Meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2014

We went with high expectations for great food and we were not disappointed. We looked at the specials and regular menu and were pleasantly surprised that all in our party had selected specials included in the 3 course fixed price menu. I had lobster salad with a very tasty dressing, veal short ribs, nicely herbed, and a chocolate pavlova which was light, nicely chocolatey, not too sweet. I don't usually get dessert, but I was glad I had gotten this one. There apparently was a performance at the MAC the night we were there, and when we told our server we were ready to order, he explained he needed to get coffee and a bill to a group that had to get to the MAC. We were fine with that as we appreciated the time to visit.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank colduser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lombard, Illinois
Level Contributor
88 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“The wonderful food matches a beautiful room & scenery”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2014

We've eaten at this restaurant several times and have NEVER been disappointed. The food is absolutely top notch and the service impeccable. On certain days you can sign up for meals which the college's culinary students prepare and serve and both the service and the price are great.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank dbfritz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Villa Park, Illinois
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“You will enjoy an excellent meal”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2014

The service was extremely friendly and the food was wonderful. We enjoyed the Pork Shoulder Ravioli, the Onion Soup, the Beef Short Ribs and the Porchetta. I would definitely recommend dining here.

I'd also recommend that, if you are a tax payer in DuPage county, you be aware that you are underwriting the cost of operating Hospitality Services at COD, which may be giving Waterleaf something of a financial advantage over other restaurants in the area. There are reports that, in 2012, the operation lost $576,000. In checking the financials for COD for 2013, overall Hospitality Services had expenditures of $1.2 Million with revenues of $660,000, so 2013 was also underwritten by the taxpayers.

I understand that the staffing on most nights is professional rather than student-led, which does beg the question as to whether this restaurant is functioning to the benefit of the students and tax payers. I'd really like to see more emphasis on students' education in a college-funded venue such as this. I'd have rated as 'excellent' if that were the case.

Note I'm commenting based on a Daily Herald article from last year, and a quick overview of the 2013 financials for COD, so if my facts are wrong I'd welcome being corrected.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Chicago_traveller41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Waterleaf also viewed

Glen Ellyn, DuPage County
Glen Ellyn, DuPage County
 
Wheaton, DuPage County
Wheaton, DuPage County
 

Been to Waterleaf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing