We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely Corner Cafe” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Blackberry Market

Blackberry Market
Ranked #3 of 92 Restaurants in Glen Ellyn
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$10
Cuisines: American, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Brunch, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: We are on the corner of Main St. and Hillside in downtown Glen Ellyn – across the street from St. Marks Episcopal Church and Giesche Shoes.
Bentonville, Arkansas
Level Contributor
69 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Lovely Corner Cafe”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014

We liked this place so much, we stopped in twice during our Chicago visit.

It was a quaint and homey cafe with tasty variety of breakfast pastries and lunch options. Lots of people in and out - a clear favorite in this neighborhood.

Latte was perfect. Teas were yummy. Scones and cupcakes were good too but the star of this place is definitely the CINNAMON ROLLS! It melts in your mouth and calls out your name! The cream cheese icing was rich and had a hint of salt to bring out the sweetness. It was the perfect buttery, spicy, sweet and salty combination.

Staff was very friendly.

I'd love to visit this place again!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    29
    6
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
DuPage County, Illinois
Level Contributor
124 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Kid and adult friendly neighborhood cafe”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2014

Our daughter's six year old twins took Papa and their 2 year old brother to one of their favorite places for muffins, cupcakes and other yummy stuff. The coffee was great and service by another gentleman in line behind me was also great. He brought my coffee to our table, this is a cafeteria style place, it's busy but great. Lot's of tables in this corner retail space, rustic interior, just a good neighborhood place.

If you find yourself in the western suburbs of Chicago, it's worth a few minutes to try Blackberry Market.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 633sailor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chicago
Level Contributor
115 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Sweet little cafe with homemade treats”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

Adorable cafe in downtown Glen Ellyn featuring lots of homemade treats for breakfast, lunch, and dinner. There biscuits, served with homemade jam will make you very happy. They also have a small selection of other sweets, including cinnamon rolls and gelato. Intelligentsia is the bean. They have lots of daily specials for take home meals and healthy, home cooked options such as sandwiches and salads to eat in their charming space. There is a seating outside, free wifi, and sweet gifts available up front. This is a very welcome addition to downtown Glen Ellyn.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank crazyplatter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
27 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“delicious and fresh food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

We have eaten here several times and love it. It is a super cute market that offers healthy and fresh options. We love their cinnamon rolls and we have also ordered salads and sandwiches. Highly recommend.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Shellybells7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, Tennessee, United States
Level Contributor
72 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Yummy breakfast choices in a casual atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2014

My son, who just graduated with his Master's Degree, spent many days at Blackberry Market and was anxious to take us there while we were in Wheaton for his graduation. He loves the casual atmosphere that served as his study hall and welcomed him to grab a coffee and stow away in a corner with his laptop. He is also a fan of their food, especially breakfast, and now we know why. My husband, other son and I joined him for breakfast one morning and all enjoyed our meals. The guys all had the Farmhouse Breakfast - two sandwiches made from fresh-made biscuits, bacon and eggs, served with a side of roasted potatoes. I had the steel-cut oats which are seasoned with brown sugar and cinnamon and topped with chopped pecans, as well as a side of mixed fruit. Everything was so fresh and tasty, and of course I had to try a bite of the biscuit, which was also delicious. Since this is a market, a coffee shop setting with a small menu, their options are limited, which is not necessarily a bad thing. Many of the daily salads and bakery items are displayed in cases, and we saw some of the cupcakes being decorated while we were eating, so it's obvious the food is fresh and "homemade." According to my son, they also have some outstanding gelato! My only complaint would be that because it is more of a casual setting, one section of the seating area lends itself to families who let their children roam freely and loudly through the tables. So if you want a tad more privacy, sit closer to the food cases/ordering area. Apparently there is also an outdoor patio but because of the weather we decided to stay indoors. The market area sells coffee, homemade jams and spreads, and some handmade items. Another charming aspect of Blackberry is that because my son was a frequent visitor there the servers got to know him and were happy to meet his family. The lady at the register was super friendly and we had a nice conversation with her while we decided what to order. Blackberry is a definite must-visit on your list if you're in the Glen Ellyn/Wheaton or surrounding area, or if you're visiting from out of town and want a non-chain food experience. P.S. - be sure to check out their website!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Julie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Blackberry Market also viewed

Glen Ellyn, DuPage County
Glen Ellyn, DuPage County
 
Glen Ellyn, DuPage County
Glen Ellyn, DuPage County
 
Glen Ellyn, DuPage County
Wheaton, DuPage County
 

Been to Blackberry Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing