We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Outstanding food and Great Wine.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cab's Wine Bar Bistro - CLOSED

Cab's Wine Bar Bistro
Price range: US$21 - US$30
Cuisines: American, French, International, Mediterranean, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Lombard, Illinois
Level Contributor
140 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Outstanding food and Great Wine.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2012

This is a great date place. Small restaurant and bar, but wonderful food. The wine selection is great and simi-reasonable in price.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Seancummings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

32 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    12
    1
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
kc
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Quietly Satisfying”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2012 via mobile

A perfect bistro for an anniversary dinner. Upscale food with an understated ambience. Good wine options and well prepared tilapia dish and a delicious seafood trio. Portions are just right. Service not perfect....it was a week night and the waitress disappeared several times...but if you are happiest wearing your nice jeans to a white tablecloth restaurant, this is the place for you.

Helpful?
Thank family5Kc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
50 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“A fancy little French place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2012

My wife and I like this little French restaurant right on Main Street. It will always be special to us, because I proposed to her over dessert 15 years ago, she accepted and we're still together.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank larrybodine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
46 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Not consistent”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2012 via mobile

3 times out of 5 this place is wonderful, but the food quality is not consistent. Staff and owner super nice, good ambiance. I do like the uniqueness of the menu.

Helpful?
Thank Tami T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glen Ellyn IL
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Casual Date Night in the Burbs - perfect!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2012

Hadn't been to Cab's in over a year, until 2 nights ago. What a delightful experience.
Great service, nice ambiance, cool music and overall vibe.
The weather was h-o-t so we wanted to eat light. I had The Cab's Special salad of avocado, sweet potatoes, mixed greens and roasted beets. De-lish!
My husband had an unusual preparation of calamari - and was equally impressed.
The wine list has always been - and continues to be vast and varied.
Just the date night we were looking for.
Thanks Cab's!

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Peg K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cab's Wine Bar Bistro also viewed

Glen Ellyn, DuPage County
Glen Ellyn, DuPage County
 
Glen Ellyn, DuPage County
Glen Ellyn, DuPage County
 
Glen Ellyn, DuPage County
Glen Ellyn, DuPage County
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing