We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Neighborhood joint that we all love”

Alfie's Inn Incorporated
Ranked #7 of 96 Restaurants in Glen Ellyn
Certificate of Excellence
Restaurant details
chicago
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Neighborhood joint that we all love”
Reviewed 15 March 2013

If you find yourself visiting the western burbs (huh?) this is a little place for items like burgers, ribs, tuna melts. Nothing fancy pants, folks. The inside is a bit dark per the knights/camelotish theme (there is an actual suit of armor!). You will see all ages here and expect a wait on weekend nights. There are TVs in the bar. Several beers on draft, including a sam adams seasonal.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank crazyplatter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    52
    23
    8
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“If you need to feel like the youngest person in the place...”
Reviewed 3 February 2013

Fried food, think 1970's style or a Meat and Three in the South, The 3 being over cooked barely green, starchy and iceberg lettuce with a creamy dressing. Ummm boy howdy nuthin says cement in the veins like that "home cookin". I go out for something I can not make at home, BUT it is always busy, so what do I know?

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Kay H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DuPage County, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good food, tired decor”
Reviewed 31 January 2013

We've been coming to Alfies since we moved to Glen Ellyn in 1994, and we have always enjoyed the food. Lately, I've been noticing that the owners need to invest in freshened chairs, booths, carpeting, etc. They could update the menu a bit, too -- though I certainly hope they keep the burgers that keep bringing us back!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Traveler345_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Average Burgers”
Reviewed 25 January 2013 via mobile

Saw this place on Chicago's Best. They recommended the burgers as being some of best around town. Turns out they are good but not extraordinary. The place was very busy on a Friday night. Kid friendly. I had the blue cheese burger and it arrived as ordered and satisfied my hunger. Will I return? Maybe.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SCT67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
indianapolis, in
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Best Ribs on the Planet”
Reviewed 25 January 2013

We have always loved going to this place to eat. We no longer live close, but whenever we are in the area, we make it a point to eat at Alfie's. Best fall-off-the-bone ribs you will ever find, plus lots of other great choices on the menu. The atmosphere is pub-like, but it is very family friendly. Try it once, and you'll keep going back!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Allen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Alfie's Inn Incorporated also viewed

Glen Ellyn, DuPage County
Glen Ellyn, DuPage County
 
Wheaton, DuPage County
Wheaton, DuPage County
 
Glen Ellyn, DuPage County
Glen Ellyn, DuPage County
 

Been to Alfie's Inn Incorporated? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing