We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Thanksgiving Dinner” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cafe Lucci

Cafe Lucci
Reserve with OpenTable
Cafe Lucci is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #4 of 157 Restaurants in Glenview
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$31 - US$40
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Romantic, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Central Road
Glenview, Illinois
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Thanksgiving Dinner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2014 via mobile

I spent a wonderful Thanksgiving at this restaurant. It was great to have a choice of dinner for those that are not fond of turkey. Love the place for lunch?

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Barbara T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    100
    38
    12
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Glenview, Illinois
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Always Good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2014

Cafe Lucci is always consistently good. The service is wonderful and we love that we can ask for something not on the menu and they are happy to make it happen. Love the wine menu and the atmosphere.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank cagojet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IL
Level Contributor
186 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“over priced and pretentious”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2013

I only go here for business lunches when the other person arranges it. The food is WAY overpriced and not that great. The parking lot is tiny and hard to get out of. There are dozens of much better Italian restaurants around--pick one and stay away from here.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank orracle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
156 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Busy spot!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2013

We enjoyed our dining experience here, chosen because of previous reviews. Food was good, arrived quickly however, the plates were removed from the table just as quickly! We prefer that wait staff clear only when everyone in the party has completed their meal. We did notice there were other diners waiting for tables, but we had made a reservation. Octopus dish was one of the best we have eaten, and the pasta specials are their forte. Nice gesture was the complimentary dessert for our anniversary, to share!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank CanadiantravellerTO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
682 reviews
482 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
“Great food and wine; but, watch the bill for "up charges"”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2013

Over the years, we have generally had good experiences at Cafe Lucci. My wife and I made a reservation for her brother, sister-in-law and us to have dinner there one fine Saturday evening. The valet parking service was good, we were seated right away at a nice table. The food and drink were excellent as always in the past. Then came the bill! Our sister-in-law decided to treat; but found $40.00 in spurious bar charges added to our tab. My wife and I were terribly embarrassed by this obvious attempt to chisel us. Though the manager immediately reversed the fake charges and offered us complimentary post-prandials, the damage was done: we were chagrined for having recommended this spot. The whole experience was ruined. We will never return. To be fair, this may have been a legitimate error. However, in my 60 years of existence on this planet, I have never had a restaurant make an "error" in my favor: it is ALWAYS in favor of the house. This cannot be explained by chance alone. Rather, scurrilous managers think that they can take advantage of the inattentive diner who has had a libation or two (viz: the Thénardiers of "Les Miserables" fame). Restauranteurs need to understand that old saw, that "cheaters never prosper" in the long run (look what happened to M & M Thénardier).

  • Visited October 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Orso52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cafe Lucci also viewed

 

Been to Cafe Lucci? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing