We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The hot tub at skippers dream is full of bacteria.”
Review of Cedar Rock Cabins

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Goreville
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Cedar Rock Cabins
illinois
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The hot tub at skippers dream is full of bacteria.”
Reviewed 1 May 2014

Skippers dream itself is beautiful but not really in the deep woods. The other cabins are close by. The hot tub was full of bacteria. 2 of the 4 people got folliculitis from the hot tub not being properly treated. Also the top bedspread was dirty and smelled.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cantwaitmx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    7
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
12
8
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Marion, Illinois
1 review
Reviewed 20 November 2013

My husband and only leave about 20 minutes from the cabins, however, it felt like we were really away from it all. We have two boys and an in-law living with us, so just having the chance to have uninterrupted conversations was great. The cabin was clean, cozy, and we didn't want to leave. It was great fall weather that allowed us to enjoy the hot tub.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gfarner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shelbyville, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013

We wanted to go on a hiking weekend getaway. We found Ferne Clyffe State Park and from there, read about Cedar Rock Cabins. Our trip was booked solely on information found on the Internet, so I was hoping that it would be ok. Turned out that it was way better than ok. We spent 2 days hiking the trails at the park, and then returned to the cabin for meals and relaxing in the evening. The cabin was beautifully decorated and very clean. The kitchen had all the pots and pans, dishes and kitchen appliances that we needed during our stay. We stayed in Violet's Song and never saw the neighbors from the other cabin, which is within view, but yet a distance away. It was like we were in our own little world. We hated to pack up and leave, but have already agreed that we can always go back.

Room Tip: Violet's Song cabin is the farthest cabin away from the highway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NanaWheaton, Owner at Cedar Rock Cabins, responded to this review, 30 October 2013
Words can not express the warm and happy feeling that I get when I read a review like yours. It is our mission to make sure you are comfortable, safe and desire to return back to stay with us. I value your opinion and strive to make the cabins better each year. We're not perfect, we just try to make it a great experience so you will go home and tell everyone you know what a great time you had. Please....come back and see us anytime. HINT: Winter time in the hot tub is out of this world~! Thank you again for such kind words!
Cindy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Collinsville, Illinois, United States
1 review
Reviewed 8 August 2013

The Toler was fantastic. We stayed two nights and the place was perfect. From the first call to our reluctant departure we felt relaxed and at ease. It was close to a state park full of hiking trails, a lake, picnic spots, and play areas for the kids. Thanks for a wonderful time from all of us.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Michael K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Charles, Louisiana
Level 6 Contributor
260 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2013

What a nice property and much better than any of the local hotels. The cabins are quiet and spread out so you don't feel like your in one of those tourist trap type cabin. Cedar Rock Cabins would be a great base camp if you are doing the So. Illinois Wine Trail.

Room Tip: Bring Smores!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JMurray71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peoria, Illinois
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 10 May 2013

Just completed four nights in this beautiful cabin. It was very clean, and the well-stocked kitchen was a big plus. I always travel with my two dogs, so it was wonderful that I was able to have them there with me. We loved the screened-in porch. It was the perfect place to begin and end each day. The only negative was that the advertised internet connection was never available.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NanaWheaton, Owner at Cedar Rock Cabins, responded to this review, 13 May 2013
I am so sorry that the connection wasn't working. My internet "tech" guy said it must be on the provider's end, so I have reported it to the provider and they should be fixing it this week.
thank you for the heads up on it!
Cindy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 16 April 2013

We had such a lovely time here! We stayed the weekend my husband and I got married at Burden Falls. The first night my bridesmaids and I slept here and then my husband and I spent our wedding night here. It was wonderful relaxing in the hot tub that night after all the festivities. Such a beautiful place and we plan to spend most if not all of our anniversary's here!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Goreville
16.0 mi away
Drury Inn Marion
Drury Inn Marion
#1 of 15 in Marion
288 reviews
15.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Marion Hotel
15.7 mi away
Super 8 Marion
Super 8 Marion
#3 of 15 in Marion
614 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.5 mi away
Best Western Saluki Inn
Best Western Saluki Inn
#1 of 9 in Carbondale
417 reviews
16.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Marion
Comfort Inn Marion
#2 of 15 in Marion
348 reviews
16.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Marion
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cedar Rock Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cedar Rock Cabins

Property: Cedar Rock Cabins
Address: 6005 State Route 37 N, Goreville, IL 62939-3012
Region: United States > Illinois > Goreville
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Goreville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cedar Rock Cabins has expanded to include 1 two story 3 bedroom log home, 2 cabins and a cottage. Each cabin has 2 bedrooms, the master bedroom has a queen size memory foam mattress, the second bedroom will have either a queen size memory foam mattress or a set of log bunk beds with a twin on top and a full size on the bottom, fully furnished kitchen (just bring your food), living room, screened porch, satellite TV, Wifi, and a HOT TUB under the stars just to mention a few amenities. All three units have access to trails throughout the woods for hiking and a 1/4 miles blacktopped jogging drive way. Bicycle trails are within the same township. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing