We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really cool history!”

John Deere Historic Site
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Open March - December Monday - Saturday 9 a.m. - 5 p.m. and Sunday Noon - 4 p.m. Special group tours can be arranged during the winter months.
Reviewed 6 September 2017

This place is really nice. First of all it is free and doesn't take too much time to see everything. The black smith demo was awesome - the gentleman who did the demo was really knowledgeable. There is a short movie and the original site of his work shop which was unearthed in a painstaking dig has a building over it so you can see it and other artifacts that they dug up. The tour guide who takes you through the home was very informative. Definitely worth the trip.

Thank Nancy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danielle D, Guest Relations Manager at John Deere Historic Site, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2017

What a great review! Thanks for sharing your experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (81)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"blacksmith shop"
in 24 reviews
"short video"
in 4 reviews
"archaeological dig"
in 3 reviews
"well worth the effort"
in 2 reviews
"working blacksmith"
in 2 reviews
"answer questions"
in 3 reviews
"excavation site"
in 3 reviews
"history lesson"
in 2 reviews
"spend an afternoon"
in 2 reviews
"great place to visit"
in 2 reviews
"tour guide"
in 3 reviews
"plow"
in 11 reviews
"demonstration"
in 13 reviews
"dixon"
in 7 reviews
"revere"
in 40 reviews
"artifacts"
in 9 reviews
"farming"
in 4 reviews
Filter

19 - 23 of 82 reviews

Reviewed 29 August 2017

Luckily my husband had found this place on Trip Advisor before we went camping nearby. We love history and are big fans of John Deere. This place exceeded my expectations. We were greeted by a friendly tour guide as soon as we walked up. She took us right to the group who was touring the John Deere home. The tour is on a loop, so you won't miss anything. After the home, we went and saw the short video and architectural site where they dug up John's original blacksmith shop. They have lots of artifacts inside. Then headed over to the blacksmith shop which was awesome. I wish I remembered his name, but the gentleman over there was very entertaining for our 5 year old and it was really cool to see him work. We were here for a little over an hour. So glad the John Deere Company/Trust maintains this property and shares it with the public.

Thank OUGirl1125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danielle D, Guest Relations Manager at John Deere Historic Site, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2017

Thanks for sharing your experience! We're glad you enjoyed your visit and appreciate you taking the time to tell us about it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2017

My Wife and I stumbled across this site as we were heading back home, ironically to Moline IL where the Worldwide HQ for Deere & Company is. Anyways, this is a free site an tour to check out so, check it out. I was pretty impressed with the overall site, knowledge of the guides, and a must stop in the Blacksmith's shop. The Blacksmith will show you common tools used in the trade, and even performs a live presentation of metal working just how it was done over 200 years ago. Highly recommend stopping here as its a great place for adults and children.

Thank Brandon K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danielle D, Guest Relations Manager at John Deere Historic Site, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2017

Thanks for sharing. You touched on some of our favorite things about the John Deere Historic Site!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2017 via mobile

Absolutely loved everything about this visit... the blacksmith shop, the guides and feeling like talking with old friends... thank you from your Ohio friends for maki g our visit so very special. We even came home with hand crafted items. We will be back!

Thank Lori C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danielle D, Guest Relations Manager at John Deere Historic Site, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2017

Thanks for visiting. We hope you can make it back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 12 August 2017

Great place to venture back 180 years in time. Interesting to learn of John Deere the man and how the large American manufacturing company got its start. One gets to see the excavated site of his original blacksmith shop. Also get to see in another building blacksmiths working their craft the way John Deere would have done. Absolutely worth a visit. Make sure to see the video at the excavation site. And there is no entrance fee. I would have paid to get in.

Thank Cytraveler26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danielle D, Guest Relations Manager at John Deere Historic Site, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2017

Thanks for providing such great detail about your visit. We hope it helps encourage more fans to visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed John Deere Historic Site also viewed

 

Been to John Deere Historic Site? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing