We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good caribbean food”

Congri Cuban Restaurant
Ranked #27 of 65 Restaurants in Grayslake
Price range: US$3 - US$14
Cuisines: Caribbean, Cuban, Latin
Description: Congri, a taste of Cuba in the Northwest suburbs, is a family owned restaurant that offers a wide variety of traditional dishes. It offers homemade dishes in a family oriented environment.
Restaurant details
Description: Congri, a taste of Cuba in the Northwest suburbs, is a family owned restaurant that offers a wide variety of traditional dishes. It offers homemade dishes in a family oriented environment.
Hainesville, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“good caribbean food”
Reviewed 12 January 2014

Both my wife and I were born and raised in Puerto Rico, enjoying the taste of Caribbean food daily. We visited Congri and can say this feels just like home. The Ropa Vieja is very tasty, even a little bit sweet. I'm not a fan of Congri rice, but here it was very enjoyable. We also had the steak guantanamo, a thin slice of steak with a slight sweet flavor that comes from the onions. For appetizer we had croquetas and relleno de papa. The croquetas and relleno were just like I like them, a little on the crunchier side, with enough meat on the inside, but not where the meat overpowers the potato. Their cuban coffee (an espresso shot with a bit of sugar) was well made. The guava pastry was delicious and I'm planning to go back to get some freshly baked ones, as they bake them through the day, but by the time we got there, it was almost closing time.
The decor is simple and the restaurant is small, but the food is very authentic, and the staff/owners are very friendly.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Luis T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    8
    5
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
chicago, Il
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Ok, but nothing special”
Reviewed 26 December 2013

I tried out this restaurant with my family for lunch. We have been to many Cuban restaurants in the Tampa, FL area and always enjoyed the food so decided to give this place a try. The food was fine, but the servings were minimal compared to our other experiences. The Cuban sandwich was just a sandwich on a plate - no garnish, no side. It was certainly not enough for my adult son, although the size was okay for me.
Service was adequate- no hovering! However, they never refilled our water glasses or asked about our food once it was served. My mom had the pork sandwich and said it was bland. I had the ham and cheese sandwich and it was acceptable, but not really anything different than I could make at home on my griddle.
Don't rush out to visit this place, but don't be afraid to try it. Just don't set your sights too high!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ramekin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grayslake, Illinois
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Un Jibarrito living in Grayslake”
Reviewed 23 December 2013

I was born and raised in Santurce, Puerto Rico and living way out in the suburbs of Chicago, makes it very hard for me to find good (Comida Criolla). That good Caribbean food that my mother and my grandmother would make for me, when I was growing up.

That's why when I heard about "Congri" I came running! And let me tell you; from the very first bite I knew I had found the real deal! That lady (Isa) in that kitchen (Cosina con sabor!) she puts flavor in her food. I left the restaurant that afternoon with a big smile on my face and a sense of well being in my tummy, I guess that's where they get the term "Comfort Food"
Can't wait to come back and treat my family to some excellent Caribbean cuisine. :)

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Ruben M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Round Lake, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Missing Something....”
Reviewed 22 December 2013

First off, I have to say that I am from Miami (born and raised) and that I know a think or two about Cuban Food. I cook Cuban food at home, Arroz con Pollo, Rabo Enciendido, Ropa Vieja, etc. But sometimes I want to take a day off and eat Cuban. I was so excited when I saw the signs for this restaurant. I have to be honest, I made Lechon Asado for our Thanksgiving weekend dinner. And I didn't want to fry plantains or make congri, so went to the restaurant to buy them.

The portion of the congri was small for $3.00. I get more rice at Lewis Market for less. The rice was good not mind blowing. And we also ordered tostones, which were blah. My husband took one bite and refused to eat more. He lived in South Florida for 5 years and also knows good Cuban food. I also bought some of their pastelitos, it was delicious but I miss the flakiness of true pastelitos.

Overall, the food here is passable. But I wouldn't say go to Lulo's either. That's Cuban Fusion, not true Cuban food. I guess I have to continue cooking my own Cuban food.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank feistygirl_23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Round Lake Beach, Illinois
1 review
“very enjoyable”
Reviewed 15 December 2013

overall very pleased i like small restaurants because you get to taste home made food. Enjoyed meeting the owners wich they are very amigable and kind. i have told my friends and family to try it out.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rachelv87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Congri Cuban Restaurant also viewed

Grayslake, Lake County
Grayslake, Lake County
 
Grayslake, Lake County
Grayslake, Lake County
 

Been to Congri Cuban Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing