We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you want a quiet time, stay here at the Santa Barbara Plantation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Santa Barbara Beach & Golf Resort, Curacao
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Nieuwpoort
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Ontario
Level Contributor
87 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“If you want a quiet time, stay here at the Santa Barbara Plantation”
Reviewed 19 February 2012

Just returned from a week in Curacao. We selected the Hyatt because it is new and was reviewed very favourably on Trip Advisor. The start of the holiday did not go well as we were given the wrong room and had to change rooms the following day. Both rooms had the same furnishings it was that the new room had the desired Caribbean view. Rebecca at the front desk handled the situation very well. The beach is really different as it is situated along a manmade dock separating the water from various boats. Lounge chairs and beach service is excellent. Food at the Swim restaurant is excellent. The other restaurants were good as well but we preferred the Shor to the Medi. The staff cannot do enough for you but their systems drive you to drink at times. Reservations are a must or you did get turned away as we witnessed several times. We scratched our heads as empty tables became available within 5-10 minutes and guests could have been served. This could pose a problem for the first nighters just arriving from Canada (or other countries) tired and hungry. We were all inclusive and we did have to sign for everything-no band system here. The hotel communication was a bit confusing regarding the drinks and premium brands in terms of what was paid for and this could be sorted better for the future. Just make sure you know what is considered all inclusive at the time of ordering either food and/or drinks. The bar service at all the restaurants was tops. At times the large groups pose a challenge for the staff but they do carry it off very well. You meet staff from all around the world and I mean that-at least 20 different countries. The real dilema for this resort is that if you do golf and any water sports are extra. The hotel is isolated and transportation to other restaurants and into town during the evening/nightime hours adds up quickly. Take a cab or rent a car to see the island. The hotel grounds are lovely and having a balcony overlooking the sea was great. So, the bottom line is good accommodation, good food and very good service just not five star as we did not have a stocked mini bar and we were not given the little things to warrant the five star treatment.

Room Tip: If you can afford an unobstructed view then go for it. Really beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rebecca091
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,209 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,236
    655
    205
    85
    28
See reviews for
628
1,063
58
146
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (570)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2012

The best place to stay in Curacao.

As a travel agent, I have stayed at many upscale hotels and resorts in Caribbean. Hyatt Regency Curacao accomodations truly distinguish themselves from other oceanfront resorts. Once you experience Hyatt luxuriously appointed rooms with every modern amenity, I think you will agree that Hyatt is among the most extraordinary resorts in the Caribbean.

Their team are trained in the island tradition of service and hospitality (Thanks to Shahir at the front desk for his outstanding service).

You can lounge on a cabana so close to the ocean that you can hear the waves, while the ever-present pool and beach attendants stand ready with an inspired assortment of refreshing diversions. From your favorite cocktail to an ice-cold tropical fruit smoothie to a chilled tiramisu iced cream (many thanks to Marysol at Bella Italia, for her patience and excellent service), you need only raise a service flag - when you need service, Hyatt's team are there!
Shor restaurant offers an unique ocean view with a decadent upscale selection of the finest grilled seafoods culinary delights... Medi ocean front restaurant and its entertainment bands: you feel as if you’ve been transported to Mediterranean countries...Be ready to be dazzled! The average price for a dinner for 2 at Medi restaurant is about 70.00$ (roughly the same as other average restaurants in Punda, Curacao), which is very reasonable, considering it a luxury Hyatt oceanfront restaurant with daily entertainment bands.
(If you want to eat at a reasonable price, the grill King waterfront terrace at Punda is a good choice, nothing fancy, very casual, portions are generous. Do not eat at Cabana Restaurant in Kontiki Resort, unless you really want to be disappointed: the atmosphere is depressing, the servings are very tiny; we ordered a special menu of the day (steak) and we had a 2’’ x 1’’ piece of meat in our plate (and we are not exagerating!); same thing for the fish of the day, 2’’ x 1’’ size; is this a joke? We end up with an overpriced 90.00$ bill, (wine and deserts excluded) feeling very frustrated).
Back to Hyatt Regency: the hotel white sand beach is quite large but limited by a dock; compared to most of average beaches in Curacao, Hyatt hotel beach still ranks amongst one of the largest.

The plantation is extraordinary, the ground is gorgeous and spotless clean, service is impeccable and staff member ensures that your every desire is anticipated and fulfilled. To spend vacation at Hyatt Regency Curacao is pure relaxation, Heaven on earth…Hyatt Regency is, according to me, the best place to stay in Curacao.

Thank you for taking care of us during our stay. We will definitely recommend this hotel to our family, friends and other visitors. We think your team does an outstanding job and we sincerely wish you every continued success.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Quang H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HyattGuestRelations, guest relations associate at Santa Barbara Beach & Golf Resort, Curacao, responded to this review, 13 February 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. We're always delighted to hear about our hotel from the travel agent's perspective. We're thrilled you had a wonderful time during your stay. Our staff is dedicated to ensuring guests have the true Hyatt experience. We will be sure to pass your compliments on to Shahir and Marysol. We're glad you found Medi to your liking as this is one of our more popular restaurants. Your recommendation is our highest reward. We look forward to your next visit.

Chrissi R.- A Guest Relations Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guelph
Level Contributor
23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2012

I spent a week at this resort and all I can say was that my experience here was amazing. The grounds, the staff, the service, the food, everything was wonderful. The grounds are very beautiful and the beach is lovely; nice white sand, calm water. Sure it is not the typical rough caribbean beach, but I found it nice to be able to swim a distance without having to worry about the undertow. The hotel istelf is beautiful and immaculately clean. I stayed in a waterview king and the view of the beach was great. Cleaning staff did a very efficient job at cleaning the room daily- even getting rid of all the sand that always seems to stick to the floor.
The bed- wow- just like any other Hyatt! So comfortable.
The staff were all very courteous and prompt. Always adressed me by name, made sure I was taken care of. All staff were very friendly and are noticeablly working hard. Moon Sun at Swim was exceptional. Unlinke most resorts in the caribbean which seem to run on "island time", the service at the Hyatt was amazingly prompt! Some nights, the service in the restaruants was a little slow, but this was only because they were swamped. Totally reasonable!
The food in all of the restaurants was top notch.

The only somewhat negative things I can say are:
1. There is pretty much zero entertainment. I didn't mind because this was not what I was looking for. . There was one band that played at medi and they were not very good and shut down around 11. While I was there, companies that held their conferences there seemed to have very good entertainment which noise-wise competed with the regular entertainement at medi and regular guests were not allowed to attend.
2. The all inclusive plan is unclear. I booked the all inclusive package through Air Canada vacations and when I arrived, I received a letter explaining what is/not included. It essentially says that anything on a menu with prices beside it is not included in the AI plan. But, it turns out everything has prices on the menus and I had to ask everyone every time beore ordering to clarify. Especially because when you get your bill, it doesn't say if it is included in your plan or not and there is a line for tipping in addition to the 15% gratuity already on you bill. If you do choose this plan, pretty much everything is included except a few items at Shor (lobster, surf & turf and lamb) and the high end martinis or bottles of wine. In the end , I didn't get nabbed for any extra charges, so it wasn't a big deal.
Overall, I would describe my experience here as the perfect vacation and I would highly reccoment it to anyone looking to have a luxurious relaxing holiday.

Room Tip: I had room 1111 which was on the north west side of the hotel. I really liked the location because...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TSaleswoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HyattGuestRelations, guest relations associate at Santa Barbara Beach & Golf Resort, Curacao, responded to this review, 13 February 2012
Wow! Thank you for your kind words! We're thrilled to hear you had a wonderful time at our hotel. Our staff works hard to ensure all our guests have a wonderful Caribbean experience. We will be sure to pass your compliments on to our staff. We hope to welcome you back to Curacao again. Please feel free to contact us if you need any future assistance.

Chrissi R.- A Guest Relations Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2012

Outstanding hotel with very friendly staff, feels like home from the start. Very clean and beautiful gardens with lots of flowers, All restaurants were good but the Medi is our favourite. Our waiter Jerick makes you feel very welcome, food was excellent.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Edward G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Santa Barbara Beach & Golf Resort, Curacao, responded to this review, 13 February 2012
We appreciate you taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay at our property. I am thrilled that you found the property to be outstanding and the staff to be very friendly. Our goal is to make sure our guests have everything they need to have a memorable stay and to feel at home. It sounds like you enjoyed Medi. They offer terrific cuisine and amazing service. I will be sure to forward your comments to Jerick letting him know you found his service to be very attentive and welcoming. We look forward to welcoming you back to our property in the future!

Brock S. – A Guest Relations Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Apex
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2012

Outstanding property that was beautiful and clean. All staff were friendly and had great customer service skills. Room was lovely and serviced daily without complaints. We loved our balcony and ocean view was perfect! Food was excellent at all restaurants. Shor restaurant was very slow and our meal for 6 people took well over 3 hours. That is really our only complaint. My husband golfed and said it was great. We did rent a car for a day from the hotel and so glad we got to experience Curacao that way, would highly recommend doing that. Beware of lack of road signage and street names. We had a wonderful visit and the beaches in this area are the best we have ever seen in the Caribbean!

Room Tip: We stayed in room 1350 and the ocean views were great and it was quiet on that end.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sassyred68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HyattGuestRelations, guest relations associate at Santa Barbara Beach & Golf Resort, Curacao, responded to this review, 9 February 2012
We appreciate you taking the time to review our hotel. We're thrilled you and your husband had a wonderful time at our property. We're delighted you enjoyed our restaurants and the beautiful views our hotel has to offer. We hope to welcome you back to Hyatt soon.

Chrissi R.- A Guest Relations Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delaware
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2012

We chose Curacao as our honeymoon destination after hearing about its beautiful beaches/and ease of getting around. We ultimately decided on the hyatt based on its ranking as the top hotel on the island, and it wont dissapoint. But just as others have stated, we highly recommend renting a car if you plan to stay here! Just when you think you have arrived to the initial gate, the drive up to the hotel entrance is still probably 5 miles away just to give you an idea of its remote-ness.

LOBBY: The main lobby was extremely grand, and they welcome you with a great Curacao drink. Everyone spoke english so it was an ease to check in, checkout, and find anything you need.

POOL: The main pool is beautiful and has chairs directly in the water. The best thing to do is to wake up early and grab one of the free cabanas. It was so relaxing to have one of those bc it provides some shade, and with the breeze, allowed us to stay out all day without worrying about burning. This was extremely nice on those days where we wanted to be lazy and hang by the pool. The waiters / waitresses were always walking around so you will always have a cold drink in your hand. If you are looking for a nice snack while you're there, I highly recommend fish taco's & french fries which were both AMAZING. Make sure you ask for the hot peppers in a jar (i forget what they call it but its so tasty).

FOOD: We were here from 10/3/11-10/10/11 so it coincided with their restaurant week. It allowed us the opportunity to try all the restaurants on the resort at quite a discount (3 course meals)! I loved the SHOR restaurant (and I highly recommend geting the fresh oysters). They also offer Sushi every night after 5 in the lobby so thats another option. But if cost is a factor, you can always drive into town and try a variety of restaurants around the area.

SNORKELING/BEACH: The beach was well maintained but snorkeling on the resort was mediocre, unless you feel comfortable swimming across the little harbor there. If you do try snorkeling right off the beach, crumple up a piece of bread in your hand and you will have a ton of fish swim up to you (but usually not very colorful ones). It's a good alternative for little kids!

ENTERTAINMENT: The resort itself was very remote, and not a real party spot considering its a higher end hotel. They do bring in entertainment at night. We hung out at the hotel bar one evening and they had belly dancers, along with hookah.

But while you're in Curacao, I would expect everyone to at least visit the dolphin academy. You get to swim with the dolphins, and they record a video/take some photos available for purchase. They also offer a standing option for those that have little kids and/or uncomfortable treading water for long periods of time. My wife isnt the greatest swimmer so she chose that path and the dolphin came right up to her for pictures, etc. Both were well worth the cost!

Getting around the island is so easy, I felt like I knew my way around by the 3rd day bc its only a few main roads. We would drive into the main shopping district and would check out the really neat pontoon bridge. This is definitely where you want to buy all your souvenirs bc negotiating was much easier here than when the vendors came on site. Plus lots of the bars/restaurants have WIFI which was a nice way for us to catch up with all the folks back home.

And if you're feeling like partying, hit up Mambo beach. It has more of that atmosphere with lots of foreigners.

Overall, beautiful resort but is extremely remote (perfect honeymoon spot or a relaxing place to hang).

Room Tip: we were on the far end nearest the boat rental side. It was a little further away, but I liked how...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank jvmoney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Santa Barbara Beach & Golf Resort, Curacao, responded to this review, 9 February 2012
Thank you for going out of your way to write such a wonderful review about your experience at our resort. It sounds like you had such a great time at our resort. I am pleased that you found the service to be great. We want our guests to feel at home from the moment they arrive. I am glad you found the food to be delicious. We have several different outlets that offer fantastic cuisine. Another great feature that we have for our guests is the ability to rent a car on property. This allows those guests that want to explore the island a very quick and efficient way to get around. Your feedback is greatly appreciated. We hope to have the chance to welcome you back to our property sometime in the future!

Brock S. – A Guest Relations Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burlington, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 February 2012

My husband and I have travelled to most of the islands in the Caribbean and we have to say that the Hyatt was by far the nicest resort we have stayed at. The rooms were beautiful, the grounds were lovely, the food was great and the service was outstanding! We were able to relax in luxury...thus reluxation! Thanks to all at the Hyatt and especially Nicky at the beach and Ludy at the pool. We will be back!
(It is best to go all inclusive if you can...then no worries!)

Room Tip: I don't think there is a bad room in the house, not matter what floor you are on
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barb W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HyattGuestRelations, guest relations associate at Santa Barbara Beach & Golf Resort, Curacao, responded to this review, 8 February 2012
We're delighted you had a wonderful time at our hotel. It's great to hear you loved our rooms and service. We will be sure to pass on your compliments to Nicky and Ludy. We look forward to welcoming you back to Curacao.

Chrissi R.- A Guest Relations Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nieuwpoort
3.6 mi away
Van der Valk Kontiki Beach Resort
5.7 mi away
Scuba Lodge & Suites
Scuba Lodge & Suites
#2 of 32 in Willemstad
621 reviews
3.4 mi away
Lions Dive & Beach Resort Curacao
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.6 mi away
Floris Suite Hotel - Spa & Beach Club
10.2 mi away
Blue Bay Curacao
Blue Bay Curacao
#1 of 1 in Dorp Sint Michiel
432 reviews
6.5 mi away
Renaissance Curacao Resort & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Santa Barbara Beach & Golf Resort, Curacao? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santa Barbara Beach & Golf Resort, Curacao

Property: Santa Barbara Beach & Golf Resort, Curacao
Address: Santa Barbara Plantation | Porta Blancu, Nieuwpoort, Curacao (Formerly Hyatt Regency Curacao Golf Resort, Spa and Marina)
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Curacao > Nieuwpoort
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Nieuwpoort
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Santa Barbara Beach & Golf Resort, Curacao 4.5*
Number of rooms: 350
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Santa Barbara Beach & Golf Resort captures natural Caribbean charm and delivers it with an international elegance and sophistication. Just 35 miles from Aruba and served by a modern international airport, escape to paradise and embrace Curacao’s magical sea, sky and sun on 27 acres of rare natural preserve. At the same time, feel that every need is provided for, with exceptional service and refinement. Enjoy superior amenities like the Pete Dye designed golf course, a luxurious spa, resort pools with Caribbean views, an alluring white sand beach with a swimming lagoon, and sophisticated dining. Relax with the rare luxury of privacy on a secluded island within an island sequestered from the hustle and bustle of town center, and explore unlimited diving, snorkeling, boating and geo adventure right outside your door. Whether you are seeking an intimate retreat, or a lively and invigorating amenity-filled vacation, the resort creates a truly magnificent opportunity to experience the best of both worlds, and create your own. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Prestigia, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotel.de, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Santa Barbara Beach & Golf Resort, Curacao reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Curacao Golf Resort, Spa And Marina Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing