We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Vacation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Santa Barbara Beach & Golf Resort, Curacao
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Nieuwpoort
Certificate of Excellence
Dallas, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Beautiful Vacation”
Reviewed 4 February 2013

Just returned from staying at the Santa Barbara Beach & Golf Resort in Curacao with friends. Very nice resort!! We had a junior suite, which is basically two adjoining rooms. One is a regular king room, the other has a fold out couch. Perfect for travelling with kids or friends and you don't want to share a room! We ate breakfast at the Medi each day (included with our room). Good food, plenty of selection. We loved eating gelato each night at Bella Italia. Prices were good on the resort - reminded me of the prices at a Cheesecake Factory in Dallas. The beach is quiet - not much for wave sound, but peaceful for swimming and laying on the beach. It's a beautiful resort and I'm definitely glad we stayed there rather than in town. Yes, it's a bit of a drive into town but worth it for the peace and quiet!

Room Tip: Junior Suites are great if traveling with family or friends!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BethAnn2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elyse E, Public Relations Manager at Santa Barbara Beach & Golf Resort, Curacao, responded to this review, 15 February 2013
Dear BethAnn2011,

We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Santa Barbara Beach & Golf Resort. Thank you for taking the time to post a review to TripAdvisor and we will be sure to pass on your compliments to MEDI and Bella Italia.

We hope you will return to Curacao in the future so we can welcome you back to the resort in the stunning Santa Barbara Plantation.

Warm regards,
Elyse Eisen
Public Relations Account Executive
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,247 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,256
    667
    210
    86
    28
See reviews for
647
1,074
60
147
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (578)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Needham, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2013

Our family visited the Santa Barbara Plantation in Curacao over Christmas, 2013, and had a great experience. The property is beautiful, extremely well maintained, and the staff incredibly friendly and helpful. The food at the resort restaurants was very good, but one of the best food option was the small Italian cafe close to the pools. The best on-property restaurant was Shor, which was absolutely terrific. The tennis facilities were excellent, though the warm weather and steady breezes make it more challenging on some days than others. The golf course was manicured and had beautiful southern views of the Caribbean Sea. There were also great local restaurants as well as a the very pretty town of Williamstad to visit, very close to the resort. The concierge was not tremendously informed, as others have noted, and we had several issues with reservations at local restaurants in which the communication between the concierge and the restaurant seemed to be seriously flawed. Nonetheless, when we would double check our reservations on the day of our dinner out, we were able to correct these problems. One disappointment was that the beach, while well maintained, is actually on a small waterway entrance to the Spanish Waters bay, and not on the Caribbean itself. While the waters were very calm (protected by a large floating dock), it made for a less picturesque beach experience.
All in all, we would be delighted to return to the resort.

Room Tip: Ask to stay close to the pools and beach (not close to the Shor restaurant).
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fsr02492
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elyse E, Public Relations Manager at Santa Barbara Beach & Golf Resort, Curacao, responded to this review, 28 January 2013
Dear fsr02492,

Thank you for your compliments on the resort and service experience. I also appreciate your candid feedback on the inconvenience you had faced during your stay.

Rest assured I will bring this up to our concierge team's attention to ensure the comfort of our guests' experience.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Santa Barbara Beach & Golf Resort, Curacao again soon.

Warm regards,
Elyse Eisen
Public Relations Account Executive
Report response as inappropriate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2013

Stayed here in December 2011 for a wedding. Hotel was new and had no complaints about the service. Very friendly staff and the choice of restaurant in the hotel are very good. Also the beach of the hotel is very nice and clean. You can also do some snorkeling out on the ocean but beware of boats entering and exiting the channel. There is also a golf course there that we did not use since none of us knew how to golf. One thing for sure is that it looked very cool to be able to wark the course. I strongly suggest staying here if you like the peace and quietness of an island. Only downside is that it is a long drive from town....

Room Tip: Suggest staying on a groundfloor so you can enjoy your patio beter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank caracasbaai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elyse E, Public Relations Manager at Santa Barbara Beach & Golf Resort, Curacao, responded to this review, 28 January 2013
Dear caracasbaai,

It is always most encouraging to know that we made a guest's stay a memorable one, so thank you for your compliments which I will share with our team.

We're happy to hear you were able to experience the resort's many amenities and we look forward to welcoming you home in the near future.

Warm regards,
Elyse Eisen
Public Relations Account Executive
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Germany
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2013

We spent 5 nights in January at thisnresort, after having spent 6 nights on another part of the Island. The hotel is absolutely beautiful and it is an area with beautiful views on the sea. This applies to all parts of it. We had rented a car so there was no issue for us to be outside of town. We would not have wanted to stay in Willemstad anyway as we were looking for a quiet relaxing place. We had only good experience with service and while the food in Medi was average it was very good at Shor. The staff is extraordinarliy friendly and helpful. The only more negative experience we had was that they had a dj on the beach and the music was so loud that we left the beach. Unfortunately, the pool was not an option as there are only very few places in the shade and also very noisy and as our room faced the beach the room also had the same noise level. Like living above a night club. Generally this hotel seems very kid friendly and there are a lot of families with kids. This is per se not a problem but if you are a couple with no kids seeking some quiet relaxing days, it would have been nice to have some spots where it is quiet.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dr_Shite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elyse E, Public Relations Manager at Santa Barbara Beach & Golf Resort, Curacao, responded to this review, 15 February 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review Santa Barbara Beach & Golf Resort. Your comments and recommendations are vital to our constant goal of customer satisfaction. We are thrilled to hear that the staff was friendly and the food was to your liking and will pass on your compliments to the team.

We apologize if your experience on the beach did not meet your expectations and we will be sure to pass on your comments to the events team.

Thank you again for your time and kind words and we look forward to welcoming you back to the resort again soon.

Warm regards,
Elyse Eisen
Public Relations Account Executive
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2013

I stayed at this luxury hotel complex for a couple of nights whilst working on a new drilling rig close by. From checking in to getting the bus back to the airport the experience was excellent. The sea view rooms are large and airy, the choice of restaurants is good but expensive, ok if your on expenses. The beach area is clean and the water full of life. The golf course looks good but you would need a buggy takes about 10 minutes just get from the hotel to the complex entrance.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GengusKarn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elyse E, Public Relations Manager at Santa Barbara Beach & Golf Resort, Curacao, responded to this review, 4 February 2013
Dear GengusKarn,

Thank you for your compliments on our resort and service experience. We also appreciate your candid feedback that is sure to assist future guests of the Santa Barbara Beach & Golf Resort.

It is always most encouraging to know that we made a guest's stay a memorable one, so thank you for your compliments which I will share with our team.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to our resort again soon.

Warm regards,
Elyse Eisen
Public Relations Account Executive
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northville, Michigan, United States
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2013

The hotel is beautiful. Check in was easy, but I wish they offered information about the resort at check in, when you have a pen and paper handy. Concierge was probably the biggest disappointment. Perhaps they don't offer information because there is nothing to offer... There were no activities going on, even for kids....

The servers at the restaurants were very gracious and the food was the best I've had during a Caribbean vacation. (Paulene and shernette at Medi were amazing!) If you plan on dining outside of the resort, keep in mind you have to drive 20 minutes to Get ANYWHERE because it take 10 minutes just to leave the hotel grounds. Meals can get expensive as the menu is pricey... ($3.00 for a bottled water and the cheapest bottle of wine is north of $40.00.) normally this wouldn't be an issue for me, but you cant leave the hotel unless you drive 30 minutes to dine elsewhere. The beach is nice and perfect for small children The waters are more calm (clear water and no rocks) on this beach versus the others in Curacao and the beach is private.

This hotel is beautiful and the nicest on the island. I checked out the Marriott while exploring the island and it's not nearly as nice as this hotel.

Few tips: rent a car with GPS! It will be the best $$$ you spend on this vacation! We used JUST DRIVE CURACAO and they were affordable and reliable. They were waiting for us at the airport with a full tank of gas and ready for us to be on our way. Much more
affordable than the big name car rental companies, but they only take cash.

Bring bug repellant are the mosquitoes are rampant everywhere on the island.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Mira Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elyse E, Public Relations Manager at Santa Barbara Beach & Golf Resort, Curacao, responded to this review, 28 January 2013
Dear Mira Z,

First we would like to thank you for taking the time to write your review of Santa Barbara Beach & Golf Resort. We are thrilled to hear you were happy with your stay and appreciate your feedback on the few inconveniences you experienced.

Regarding your experience with the concierge, the resort does offer a wide variety of activities for both adults and children so we will be sure to pass on your comments to the concierge team to avoid this situation in the future.

Thank you again for your time and kind words, the culinary team will be thrilled to hear your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Warm regards,
Elyse Eisen
Public Relations Account Executive
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Curacao
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2013

The resort is very beautiful and the rooms are nice. The bed is very comfortable and we had a free upgrade to a partial ocean view room which was great. Overall the check in was ok. The trainee at the front desk was very friendly but did not give any further information besides the room number. The concierge was nice but was not much of a help. I asked her to change my reservation of Eric's ATV tour for the next day and this was never done.
The breakfast buffet in the Medi restaurant is amazing !!!! lots of variety. Overall I had great and relaxed stay at Santa Barbara Beach Resort

Room Tip: Ask for an upgrade at check in to an Ocean View room
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Christine P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elyse E, Public Relations Manager at Santa Barbara Beach & Golf Resort, Curacao, responded to this review, 31 January 2013
Dear Christine P,

Thank you for taking the time to submit your review. We are so pleased that you were happy with your overall experience and we will pass on your comments to the MEDI staff. They will be thrilled to hear you found breakfast to be "amazing". We will also look into your comments regarding your experience with the concierge and apologize for the inconvenience.

We want to thank you for choosing Santa Barbara Beach & Golf Resort and look forward to welcoming you home again soon.

Warm regards,
Elyse Eisen
Public Relations Account Executive
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nieuwpoort
3.6 mi away
Van der Valk Kontiki Beach Resort
5.7 mi away
Scuba Lodge & Suites
Scuba Lodge & Suites
#2 of 32 in Willemstad
630 reviews
3.4 mi away
Lions Dive & Beach Resort Curacao
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.6 mi away
Floris Suite Hotel - Spa & Beach Club
10.2 mi away
Blue Bay Curacao Golf & Beach Resort
Blue Bay Curacao Golf & Beach Re...
#1 of 1 in Dorp Sint Michiel
434 reviews
6.5 mi away
Renaissance Curacao Resort & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Santa Barbara Beach & Golf Resort, Curacao? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santa Barbara Beach & Golf Resort, Curacao

Property: Santa Barbara Beach & Golf Resort, Curacao
Address: Santa Barbara Plantation | Porta Blancu, Nieuwpoort, Curacao (Formerly Hyatt Regency Curacao Golf Resort, Spa and Marina)
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Curacao > Nieuwpoort
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Nieuwpoort
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Santa Barbara Beach & Golf Resort, Curacao 4.5*
Number of rooms: 350
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Santa Barbara Beach & Golf Resort captures natural Caribbean charm and delivers it with an international elegance and sophistication. Just 35 miles from Aruba and served by a modern international airport, escape to paradise and embrace Curacao’s magical sea, sky and sun on 27 acres of rare natural preserve. At the same time, feel that every need is provided for, with exceptional service and refinement. Enjoy superior amenities like the Pete Dye designed golf course, a luxurious spa, resort pools with Caribbean views, an alluring white sand beach with a swimming lagoon, and sophisticated dining. Relax with the rare luxury of privacy on a secluded island within an island sequestered from the hustle and bustle of town center, and explore unlimited diving, snorkeling, boating and geo adventure right outside your door. Whether you are seeking an intimate retreat, or a lively and invigorating amenity-filled vacation, the resort creates a truly magnificent opportunity to experience the best of both worlds, and create your own. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Prestigia, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Agoda, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Santa Barbara Beach & Golf Resort, Curacao reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Curacao Golf Resort, Spa And Marina Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing