We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Six flags great america is simply one of the best theme parks I've ever been to.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Six Flags Great America

Six Flags Great America
Ranked #2 of 14 things to do in Gurnee
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: This amusement park, located halfway between Chicago and Milwaukee, has over 100 rides and attractions.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Six flags great america is simply one of the best theme parks I've ever been to.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2011

Overall six flags great america is a great theme park some rides such as: ragin bull, batman, superman, viper, v2, and american eagle are all great rides. Be prepared to wait in long lines because there are about 2-3 hour long lines on all major rides. If you want to cut time you can get the flash pass which is six flags' version of the fast pass they offer at other places. It can be a bit pricey which ranges from $30-60. Also you might want to bring a cooler and some sandwiches because the food in the park is really expensive and really doesn't taste that good. All in all after we left we were satisfied with the park.

Helpful?
2 Thank Shamal257
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,156 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    928
    620
    280
    142
    186
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tamworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
481 reviews
278 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 858 helpful votes
“Chose the day carefully and Charlie Sheen won't be the only person winning!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2011

Then you will love it. Go when not too hot, maybe even overcast, go on a weekday and arrive as the park opens. Also bring lunch in a cooler and leave in car as food and drink is very dear. You can do most rides in few hours, recommend Batman, Eagle, Raging Bull and Terminal Velocity. If have kids then next to every big ride is a kids ride. The carnival games are a rip off, best just go to one of the gift shops. Then go to car, get hand stamped and eat. Then Hurricane Harbour, plenty of water rides for all ages and if not just relax on a lounger. The dive bomb and wedgie water slides are seriously mental are better than any ride in the theme park. Go online and check out offers. Once the schools are back in the park is even quieter. Staff are mostly friendly and remember it also is quieter at night when all the tour buses have left. Basically if you avoid the theme park between 1 and 4 you're good; perfect hours for some water fun or sunbathing. Oh parking is a rip off though.

Helpful?
1 Thank Antony T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
midwest
Level Contributor
232 reviews
63 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
“Great fun but, very expensive!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2011

Definitely get the flash pass. We got the regular which worked very similar to the Disney World fast pass. It was well worth the money as last year I did not get it and spent many hours in line and riding few rides because of so much line time which was awful. With the regular flash pass you had 0-5 minute wait at your designated flash pass time. That being said the park is definitely very expensive which is why I only gave it 4 stars. We had a free ticket from reading to succeed at school and took advantage of on line website pricing offering a reduced read to succeed ticket for our other child and a buy one, get one free ticket for the 2 adults. All that along with parking and regular flash pass plus 5% off when using Discover Card came out to about $208 for a family of 4. Not a bad deal but, I had to research to get it. Otherwise I would have spent an arm and a leg. We are not at the point of going more than once a year but, if you do, the season pass with parking is a better deal. The food at the park is very expensive. However, they serve large portions so we found 1 meal really fed 2 especially since we did not want to be stuffed and riding the coasters. Even with 2 meals for 4 people at a shot I think I spent about $80-$100 on a family of 4. Since we only go once a year I did not mind the expense. The park was very clean and we found employees very friendly. We arrived about 9:45am and they were already letting people in which was great because the first couple hours were not crowded at all and did not even have to use the flash pass much till about lunch time. We went last Tuesday on a beautiful 78 degree day. It was perfect weather to ride water rides and not be cold but, not be overwhelmed by heat. could not have picked a better day to visit the park.

Visited June 2011
Helpful?
4 Thank midwest4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
artisticgal
Level Contributor
37 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Avoid this place unless you like waiting in long lines.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2011

Pros-
Cool rides

Cons-
Obscenley expensive food
Long lines
Overpriced for what you get
Waited an hour for the eagle
Got on a total of 3 rides in a 4 hour period due to the lines
Expensive parking.

Visited June 2011
Helpful?
7 Thank artisticgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Zurich, Illinois
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Good Rides, But Listen to ALL the complaints about prices”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2011

We have season passes for the second year in a row. (only two times I've ever bought them). If you go 4 times, even the season parking pass is worth it. And my family does enjoy the rides, which is why you go. HOWEVER, I will not be going again without a picnic basket in the car, and I have never bothered doing that in my life.

Every time we go we see families eating sandwiches out of their cars, and I admit to thinking they were being "cheap", or feeling bad that probably they couldn't afford to just stay in the park- until this week. Our first time this year, we finally understood, and feel that especially in this economy, GA is just gouging people with the most ridiculous food prices- $5.50 plus tax for a cup of Dippin Dots, $12 for a slice of pizza 'meal,' that you CANNOT get without fries. (Who eats fries and pizza together?) A milkshake was $9. So was a funnel cake with a scoop of soft serve on it. Are you kidding?! They try to sell family meals (say one pizza, 4 drinks, a pre-made salad and breadsticks) and want about $50 plus for that, or any other family meal. And we're not even talking about good tasting fast food. It's the quality of about what you could expect of junk food at a major ballpark, only 3 times the price. You could not eat anything healthy in this park no matter how hard you tried- the options are just not there. Literally, Disney World food is cheaper, and MUCH higher quality with many more options.
GA doesn't stop there- they nickel and dime you for absolutely everything. Daily parking for one car is$ 20. Lockers at the beginning of all the roller coasters aren't free. Tons of teen workers sounding desperate as they squawk at you to try out their carnival games (that cannot be won and are sometimes $3 per try). They have a couple of rides that are not included with your ticket- one is a bungee like thing that is a minimum of $35, and another, which would be popular if it weren't so much, is a high ropes course that's $8 each per turn. We've been elsewhere in the country where the entrance fee was less and a high ropes course was included , as many times as you want.
GA also has a weird fast pass system that is $25+ per person, but doesn't allow you to choose how you want to navigate your day. I'm a Disney person, and I'm used to free fast passes, even if only one at a time. Universal Orlando charges for the privilege of a set of free fast passes on almost all their rides, but they don't dictate where or when, either. Great America is trying to act like they're a destination, but once you get in the door, you can expect to spend hundreds more, for sure, just for the day, for a family of 4. And this is NOT a destination.

Take the advice to avoid the financial hit. IF you go, either plan on not caring what you eat, nor what that garbage will cost you, OR, be smart like those folks in the parking lot, plan on bringing coolers with a great picnic, and eat in your car. And prep your children that anything with prizes is NOT something you'll be spending your day doing.

Visited June 2011
Helpful?
14 Thank MaryEllen1999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Six Flags Great America also viewed

 
Gurnee, Lake County
 

Been to Six Flags Great America? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing